We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Charmouth .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seadown Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Charming Charmouth .”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Good site for visiting West Dorset ,East Devon -Lyme Regis ,Bridport ,Beer (love that name ) , West Bay and Sidmouth all within half an hour or so's drive .Literary bods will appreciate the John Fowles ,Jane Austen local connections and Thomas Hardy's cottage and townhouse are a short drive away too .

Good for dogs about a half mile of level well cropped grass for strolling and running about along the riverbank within the camp and then your straight on to the beach . The cliff walks are a bit curtailed by the crumbling coast line causing diversions of the coastal path but the landslides throw up the fossils that are part of the attraction of this bit of coast , just don't sit too near the cliffs if you want a beach day .

The caravan was the usual modern standard which is to say good ,no central heating so later in the year I would imagine the bedrooms would be cold and the ignition on the gas fire was kaput (if in doubt I usually stick an electric fanheater in the car which sorts this out ).

Charmouth itself is uncommercialised a couple of very nice pubs , a cafe , post office ,small traditional shops such as bakers and butchers and all the better for it , good place to retire to no doubt .

All in all very good mark off because of the heating issue and the welcome on booking in which could best be described as efficent rather than friendly .

Room Tip: All the caravans seemed about the same standard .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pontylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    46
    13
    4
    8
See reviews for
81
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in the holiday park this April during a very cold Easter. We had booked in advance and even though the weather was very cold we thought we'd be fine in a caravan. We booked for 4 nights and we were 3 adults and 2 children in a two bedroomed caravan. The caravan had a gas fire and no other form of heating. It was fine during the day but we were so cold at night we even had to wear hats! Even the two adults who slept in the lounge with the gas fire on all night were freezing and wore hats too! There was no other form of heating and the caravan seems to have no insulation at all. When we asked in the reception for extra blankets we were told there weren't any.
In the end we cut our stay short and returned a day early. when we told the reception staff why we were leaving early they just shrugged. Not so great customer service!
The camp site is clean, the caravan well appointed and clean and the camp site is a two minute walk to the beach and Charmouth is a lovely little place. It is also in a fantastic position to explore the area.
I would like to visit again but only when the weather is warmer!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Just back from a mid week break and what a fantastic place sea down is. The static caravan was clean and well appointed. Site is dog friendly and is just a short walk to the coast. Would recommend this site to all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beaumont1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This has been our 2nd stay and we absolutely love it. Grat for the kids and camping wise the pitches are nice and flat albeit a little tight between pitches. Facilities are very clean and well looked after. Access to the beach in 5 minutes and a lovely little town with all the facilities you need. A visit to the bakery a must.

We will be back next year for sure.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have beem three times and had a different van each time. All excellent.
Brilliant location. Always clean
We love the walk to the beach which is on the World Heritage Site Jurassic Coast.
No need to take car as has direct access.
Lovely and quiet
Excellent for dogs.
The village is excellent.

Room Tip: You can book by Hoseasons and also direct with Seadown . If you want to discuss location of your car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Have just returned from a weeks stay in a Dorset Horizon caravan (201). Initially apprehensive about booking a dog-friendly caravan without heating, the hoseasons staff reassured me, even contacted the site to ensure that any dog hair would be cleaned away as my daughter has allergies. After a long drive, we quickly checked in and found our caravan easily. The caravan was surprisingly lovely - had not expected that due to it being pet friendly and one of the lower grade units. We requested a Hoover as there were a few dog hairs on carpet and immediately someone arrived to thoroughly clean away any remaining dog hair with apologies. Couldn't fault the staff and quality of service at all.

The site has a beautiful setting with easy access to a shingle beach and fossil hunting for children.
Very quiet on a night . A short stroll into Charmouth will provide lots of food choices: pizza, pasta, or the old bank cafe for cream tea etc.

It was our first time in Dorset and well worth the long journey to a site which is good value and a fantastic base for exploring all that Dorset has to offer. We will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely quiet park, surrounded by great scenery and walks, and minutes from the beach. It isn't a great beach (stony) and there are others within easy reach, but does the job to fill a couple of hours with the kids. And there are ducks and swans to feed on the way.

The park is beautifully kept, well mown, good roads and nice gardens. It is peaceful and friendly.

Service was good, we were able to check in early. Caravan was the cleanest I have stayed in and had lots of useful storage.

This was our first time in Dorset so we had a fabulous experience due to the location, and this was topped off by a great caravan in a lovely park.

We booked a year in advance and got the week (in summer school hols) for £290. BARGAIN.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClanAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
0.2 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
5.2 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
6.3 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seadown Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seadown Holiday Park

Property: Seadown Holiday Park
Address: Bridge Road, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Seadown Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seadown Holiday Park Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing