We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local pub”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was very basic and not the best for the price but you can take the dog in which is very helpful

Thank bampirhondda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here as a group of 8 plus dog and were very pleased with the food, service and value for money that the food and drink represented. The waiting staff and the landlady were great and we were made to feel most welcome. Definitely worth a visit!

Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakCharmouth, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you it was lovely to meet you all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a warm welcome and the beer was very good. We were lucky to get a table in the dining room as it gets busy. The food was delicious. My fish and chips were the best I have ever had. The ambience was warm and friendly and the land lady talked to all the diners. The staff were friendly quick and efficient. A very pleasant place to dine out if in charmouth. Book to avoid disappointment unless you go early as we did.


Thank JudgeMental49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakCharmouth, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying at the Wood Farm Caravan park and decided to walk down the hill to The Royal Oak. We hadn't booked and hoped they could provide an evening meal. We were lucky to get a table ( Thursday night) so do be sure to book in advance. First thing thing we noticed was the friendly warm atmosphere. Turned out the lady we were talking to was the landlady who was truly charming. We tasted the beers and they were all in tip top condition. Clearly someone is bothering to keep the lines crystal clear. The beer was as good as any we can get from local CAMRA pubs and this pub should be in The Good Beer Guide.
Then the food came. My meal was good but Jan's was astounding. If we've ever tasted fish and chips as good as this then we can't remember when. Utterly fabulously fresh fish, real chips too. If you're ever near this pub then do book in. You won't regret it. Thank you to all at The Royal Oak.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janandal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last week we had our first holiday in Charmouth. We didn't know the area but we wanted a nice meal for Saturday night. We noticed the Royal oak was only a stones throw from our cottage so i booked a table. On our arrival, we had a very friendly greeting from the young lady behind the bar. Then shown to our table with drinks. The pub was very busy with diners which is always a good sign. We both ordered food off the spacials board. I had a Ribeye steak, my Good lady had Pork strogganoff,it was nothing fancy but all cooked very well and tasty. Well worth a visit.

Thank ant192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOakCharmouth, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for youregistering kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Charmouth, Bridport
Charmouth, Bridport
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing