We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful hotel, delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fernhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Having just read the previous reviewer's comment about the pool I would just like to say that, unlike this guest, we did not have a problem with either pool or car park being too busy and we were there when the hotel was fully booked, during school holidays. Either in the morning or late afternoon there were never more than two other families in there and they were guests of the hotel and my son and husband enjoyed a beautiful relaxing swim in lovely clean warm water.
As other guests have commented, it is a lovely elegant hotel but for me the best bit was the very delicious food. We had a DBB package for one of our nights and it was superb value - I strongly recommend this. A fabulous choice of breakfast menu too - the usual full English of course but also 'kipper and perfectly poached egg', 'smoked salmon and scrambled eggs' and omlettes with choice of fillings. Wow, just my type of breakfast.
The other great thing about the hotel was the obliging and attentive staff. I made two requests that were attended to straight away - one being that I had an allergy to some beautiful flowers in vases on the staircase alcoves and they were immediately replaced by the owners with a low allergen arrangement just for my benefit. That was very much appreciated. Thank you Rob and Jo!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMSpalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    69
    13
    10
    1
See reviews for
51
137
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

This is a beautiful location and the staff are very friendly. There is lots of attention to detail - everything is modern and clean as the new owners have only been there for five years or so.
However, having chosen this hotel based on the ratio of 11 bedrooms to 1 outdoor swimming pool, we were shocked to discover that the adjoining 46 holiday cottages and flats also have contractual permanent access to the pool as they contribute to its upkeep. This meant that instead of the relaxed calm lazing by the pool afternoons we had envisaged, we were dive bombed and splashed by screaming noisy families who would leave towels on the pool deck chairs and then disappear. Given that only 20 people are allowed in the pool at once, we almost found ourselves unable even to swim in the pool. We were also unable to park in the hotel car park for the same reasons.
Whilst we could justify £195 for the room based on the website information, the experience itself was very different and I think it is very sneaky not to flag this up so the public are aware in advance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Having just come back from 3 very happy nights here with my son ( a lively 7 yr old!) I thought I should post.
We arrived muddy after a day fossil hunting and were made very welcome.. Coffee and cake by the pool was very much appreciated and delicious. Our room whilst small was comfortable and clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was a laid back friendly affair with great choices and some good healthy options ( which I mostly ignored.. I was on holiday !!)

All the team were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to provide us with info about the area and advice for places to visit and eat.

Will happily return again - thank you

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Away for a short break with octogenarian mother. On arrival Guy made us very welcome and showed us around the hotel and then produced complimentary tea and cake (welcome and delicious) which we ate in the snug, overlooking the pool! The twin room was most comfortable, with a seating area, space to move around, and lots of drawer and hanging space. Breakfasts were lovely, lots of choice and set us up for the day. We had dinner four of the five nights and again, choice and quality were excellent. All the staff were friendly and cheerful, even though one or two were dealing with the possibility of their homes being flooded because of the local deluge on the Saturday!! (As the hotel is on an elevated position, we were safe and everyone did their utmost to keep us informed of life outside!!). There's plenty of parking, and one or two outdoor seating areas for some al fresco enjoyment. The heated outdoor pool was a bonus. I can't comment on the spa facilities, as did not use them. The bar is the perfect place to enjoy that pre- (and post-!) dinner drink. Mother struggled a little with the stairs (we needed the twin room, which is up two flights), but she took her time and was fine. A charming hotel, with lovely staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed for two nights and were initially met by a charming young lady (who explained she had just started at the hotel) at reception who was really helpful & polite....a real credit to great training!

The courtesy tea and cake on arrival was also really welcome after having quite a long journey.

Our room was far better than we expected, beautifully decorated and very clean. That night we really enjoyed a la carte dinner & after a great nights sleep had a really good breakfast before going out to enjoy the lovely Dorset coast. Great location, Great staff....Great Hotel! We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

First rate accommodation and friendly staff ensured a very pleasant stay in this elegant hotel close to Lyme Regis and lovely local beaches.
Would highly recommend and worth a trip just to dine at the superb hotel restaurant .will return soon

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The bed at Fernhill was the best we'd ever had on holiday! Our room was well decorated and looked out over the pool. Unfortunately this was shut which was not indicated on the info on the internet. There was a small bowl of fresh fruit, cookies and mixed teas and coffees in the room (4). As this hotel is eco friendly there are some things you have to get used to like line dried towels not fluffy drier ones and a depleated hot water supply to the very noisy spa bath! However the breakfast service was quick and when we needed an early start on leaving they obliged. The restaurant was a good average with fish being the best choice. On balance Fernhill is comfortable, cosy but sometimes lacks the finesse and cossetting that a hotel of this price range brings. There is a fine balance between eco friendly and cutting costs just for the sake of it. Diligence needs to be taken when replenishing teas and coffees, bathroom supplies and checking all information is available regarding facilities on the website. Check if you have a disability before booking. We enjoyed our weekend break at Fernhill but feel the price is high for the facilities available.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank florenceemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
4.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
7.3 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Property: Fernhill Hotel
Address: | Fern Hill, nr Lyme Regis, Charmouth, Bridport DT66BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful West Dorset small hotel conveniently located between Lyme Regis and Charmouth. The perfect base to explore West Country with stunning views of rolling Dorset Countryside, and 15 minutes walk to the beach. Ample free parking and its location on the Jurassic Coastal path & bus routes make it is easy to leave the car behind while exploring the area. AA 3 star and GTBS Gold award for Green Tourism show Fernhill's commitment to providing outstanding service, with a local seasonal focus whilst minimising impact on the environment. With 36 acres of woodland, ponds and meadows, a la Carte and Bar & Grill Dining, outdoor heated Pool (May-Oct), and Holistic Therapies there are many ways to relax at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing