We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fernhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel in the Studio suite on the top floor. We could not fault any of our stay. Complementary cake and tea upon arrival. We had bed/breakfast/evening meal. Again excellent food and service. Very friendly and nothing too much trouble. Very convenient for Charmouth beach or Lyme Regis, with a bus stop just outside the grounds. Our short break was just what we wanted. Thanks

Room Tip: We never saw the other rooms but are sure they were just as good a standard as our studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derbyshire17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    71
    15
    10
    1
See reviews for
52
145
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Highly recommended for any vist to the Jurassic coast of Dorset. A friendly greeting with complimentary tea and cakes. Lovely room overlooking the woodland well appointed and very comfortable.
The breakfast is good and freshly cooked to order and the restaurant has a good choice of well prepared dishes together with a bistro menu if you fancy something less formal.
The owner Rob is present most of the time, but when he is not, you are equally well looked after by the super staff.
Lovely gardens and pool area and a very attractive and welcoming bar

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Had a mid-week break with my mum. Ate at the hotel both nights as the service and food was so good! Bed was wonderfully comfortable, and the room we had was quiet.

Wifi service excellent.

The staff were very helpful, arranging spa treatments for both of us at very late notice.

Lovely stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Service and attention to detail were excellent, and the staff couldn't be faulted. There is a bus stop outside to take you either direction along the coast. We had a basic room which was comfortable with everything we needed, but had they been available, it might have been wiser to upgrade to a better room. Dinner B & B deal was excellent value.

Room Tip: Better room overlooking swimming pool would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Good location, half-way between Charmouth & Lyme Regis. Rooms good, food excellent, staff helpful, and for an outdoor pool in England....very good!

The attached woodlands & lakes caused alot of picture taking & walking!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisionScope T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Having just read the previous reviewer's comment about the pool I would just like to say that, unlike this guest, we did not have a problem with either pool or car park being too busy and we were there when the hotel was fully booked, during school holidays. Either in the morning or late afternoon there were never more than two other families in there and they were guests of the hotel and my son and husband enjoyed a beautiful relaxing swim in lovely clean warm water.
As other guests have commented, it is a lovely elegant hotel but for me the best bit was the very delicious food. We had a DBB package for one of our nights and it was superb value - I strongly recommend this. A fabulous choice of breakfast menu too - the usual full English of course but also 'kipper and perfectly poached egg', 'smoked salmon and scrambled eggs' and omlettes with choice of fillings. Wow, just my type of breakfast.
The other great thing about the hotel was the obliging and attentive staff. I made two requests that were attended to straight away - one being that I had an allergy to some beautiful flowers in vases on the staircase alcoves and they were immediately replaced by the owners with a low allergen arrangement just for my benefit. That was very much appreciated. Thank you Rob and Jo!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMSpalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This is a beautiful location and the staff are very friendly. There is lots of attention to detail - everything is modern and clean as the new owners have only been there for five years or so.
However, having chosen this hotel based on the ratio of 11 bedrooms to 1 outdoor swimming pool, we were shocked to discover that the adjoining 46 holiday cottages and flats also have contractual permanent access to the pool as they contribute to its upkeep. This meant that instead of the relaxed calm lazing by the pool afternoons we had envisaged, we were dive bombed and splashed by screaming noisy families who would leave towels on the pool deck chairs and then disappear. Given that only 20 people are allowed in the pool at once, we almost found ourselves unable even to swim in the pool. We were also unable to park in the hotel car park for the same reasons.
Whilst we could justify £195 for the room based on the website information, the experience itself was very different and I think it is very sneaky not to flag this up so the public are aware in advance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
4.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
344 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
429 reviews
7.3 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
775 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
143 reviews
6.2 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Property: Fernhill Hotel
Address: | Fern Hill, nr Lyme Regis, Charmouth, Bridport DT66BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful West Dorset small hotel conveniently located between Lyme Regis and Charmouth. The perfect base to explore West Country with stunning views of rolling Dorset Countryside, and 15 minutes walk to the beach. Ample free parking and its location on the Jurassic Coastal path & bus routes make it is easy to leave the car behind while exploring the area. AA 3 star and GTBS Gold award for Green Tourism show Fernhill's commitment to providing outstanding service, with a local seasonal focus whilst minimising impact on the environment. With 36 acres of woodland, ponds and meadows, a la Carte and Bar & Grill Dining, outdoor heated Pool (May-Oct), and Holistic Therapies there are many ways to relax at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing