We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend for our family weekend - can we come back please :) !”
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fernhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having just returned from a family weekend in Dorset I felt compelled to write a review on this fab hotel.

We were a family group of 7 adults and 2 children occupying 4 rooms for a 2 night stay and could not have picked a better place to stay.

This is a lovely, welcoming hotel with everything you need – very nice rooms, a relaxing bar, cosy and comfortable snug, breakfast room and restaurant. The outdoor pool was a real bonus with ample seating and loungers dotted around, its heated too which meant we were all able to jump in one afternoon in the rain!

The rooms were very well appointed, spacious, nicely decorated and scrupulously clean. We were in rooms 2, 5, 7 and 9 and we all commented how nice our rooms were. White Company toiletries, large fluffy white towels and bathrobes were all appreciated. Our room (room 2) was large enough to comfortably accommodate an extra bed for our 6 year old and a travel cot for our 2 year old and both children loved the spa bath!

Breakfast was lovely with a selection of cereals and croissants followed by a delicious cooked breakfast (cooked to order so nice and fresh). We also ate in the restaurant one evening and all 9 thoroughly enjoyed their 3 course meal.

The owners and staff were welcoming, thoughtful and contributed to what turned out to be a fantastic weekend and I would have no hesitation recommending or returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: views over the pool and garden are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waggers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Went for the weekend. Weather was excellent and we very much enjoyed the outdoor pool. They could do with some better chairs/ sunloungers and the surrounding greenery means leaves and bugs end up in pool (and a baby newt!). That said the outdoor pool area is lovely.

Didn't spend much time in bar/ lounge. We had a drink one evening and a dog of another customer kept bothering my daughter and the host made quite an insulting comment about Bradford (we are from Yorkshire). We were going to dine at the restaurant but too limited a choice for vegetarians.

The room was nice but too hot and we couldn't get it cool despite having a ceiling fan. Beds comfortable, good facilities but could do with a fridge. Woken up in the morning by the traffic noise from the nearby A road.

Bathroom is modern, lovely bath and good quality shower gel/ shampoo/ soaps. However, could have done with more attention on the cleaning- stain on bathrobe, stains on wall. The net curtain in bathroom needs replacing as do the curtains.

What was unforgivable was the piece of metal served up in my scrambled eggs. Whilst apologetic, the owners gave very little on this. Another guest overheard my complaint and told me later he had a cut in his mouth after breakfast and was concerned he had metal in his food. Even is I accept this was not the hotel's fault but a suppliers, I feel they handled my complaint badly and in a very defensive manner.

Even without this incident I still feel the hotel is over-priced and I would not return. The staff are generally helpful and the hotel has a nice relaxed atmosphere. However, location is not great. Need to drive to the beach- Charmouth is lovely (highly recommended), noise from main road and the above problems.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NaomiAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Came her twice during our stay and on both occasions had lovely food. Service was very good too. Restaurant was lovely too and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The wine list was very good and the attention to detail from the well trained staff has to be commended.Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelorMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Family run hotel near Lyme Regis on a hillside with good views over the surrounding countryside. We stayed for one night. Nice clean room, comfortable bed. Small shower room. Hotel has a nice bar with a patio area outside where customers can sit. There is also another public sitting room. We stayed during some very hot weather and the outside swimming pool was very welcome. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We eat dinner in the restaurant. My wife enjoyed her sea bass. However, I was disappointed with my sole. It was rather dry and I suspect had been frozen and then heated. The duchesse potato was just a whirl of rather dry mashed potato and the vegetables the usual mixture of boiled veggies. My starter of moules had a very nice creamy sauce and the hot fresh strawberries with a sabayon and mint sugar sauce desert was interesting. Breakfast was excellent .

A good family holiday hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bantai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband stayed at the Fernhill Hotel for four nights and I joined him for the last 2 of those nights. It is a small, 10-roomed hotel on the outskirts of Charmouth, which is a couple of miles away from the hustle and bustle of Lyme Regis. The town is accessible by bus (one an hour, every 2 hours on a Sunday) for those not wishing to brave the narrow streets or struggle for a parking space.
Our room (9), especially the bathroom, felt quite small - my husband found it very hard to shave over the sink. I'm not sure if other rooms in the hotel are larger. However, it was clean and reasonably comfortable. The ceiling fan was a distinct advantage in the recent heatwave. It was also nice to have a kettle and biscuits.
Breakfast was nice - all the usual items. I especially liked the yoghurt, spiced dried fruit in syrup and dorset cereals. Also, top marks for offering a wide selection of very nice fruit infusions for those of us who don't drink caffeine. There was only one person on breakfast duty and she got rushed off her feet when everyone showed up in the dining room at the same time (or so it seemed).
My husband had a meal in the restaurant on his first night and was not that impressed. His fish starter was served on a bed of rhubarb and ginger, which he felt over-whelmed the fish and was too tart. Part of his main course seemed to have been reheated (being dry and rubbery). On that basis, he would have given a rating of 3 out of 5. However, overall, I felt it was a reasonable place to stay and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Number 9 is quite small, especially the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker064_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Fernhill Hotel rather last minute in the July heatwave. We selected it due to its location and the fact there is an outdoor pool. It is run by a couple who take great care in ensuring that guests are provided with friendly, and personal service, and evidently love what they do. It feels like you are staying in a grand country home, the hotel is in great condition with a variety of lounging areas including a small bar with a terrace for those sunny days. The pool is small but perfect for a dip to cool down and enough space to swim a few lengths by way of exercise. It provided a great spot for late afternoon sunbathing following arrival, and the hotel kindly lends towels.
We were offered tea and cake on arrival, and the hotel were happy to serve to us poolside so we didn't waste the afternoon sun! The home baked biscuits in the rooms are also a nice touch.
The rooms are well equipped and the beds very soft and comfy. The bathroom is very nice and modern.
Breakfast is great, lots of choice and cooked to order.
We ate at the restaurant one evening for dinner and the food was generally nice. The hotel did seem to have a fair quotient of older guests particularly dining in the restaurant, and as a young newly wed couple we may have had a better time down in one of the village pubs! But it was nice and easy to eat there after a long trip to get there. The next night they kindly booked us in at Hix Lyme Regis, which we walked to in around 40 minutes on a lovely evening and enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinglondoner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My wife and I and our three boys (twins 11 and 7) went to London for a week and then "escaped" via train to this incredible spot on England's "Jurassic Coast." The chance for our kids to hunt for dinosaur fossils on the beach is what drew us here, but The Fernhill Hotel is what will bring us back. It's a very unique and lovely spot, with the owners Jo and Rob, completely focused on the comfort of their guests. The rooms are very clean, the sitting/dining areas of the hotel are warm and comfortable and you truly feel "at home" during your stay.
There is a heated pool as well as several "mini-golf" holes on site that kept our kids very entertained, despite the rural location. And the made to order croissants at breakfast were the best we've ever had. Truly hidden jewel, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
4.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
443 reviews
7.3 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
153 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
846 reviews
6.2 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Address: | Fern Hill, nr Lyme Regis, Charmouth, Bridport DT66BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Price Range: £132 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful West Dorset small hotel conveniently located between Lyme Regis and Charmouth. The perfect base to explore West Country with stunning views of rolling Dorset Countryside, and 15 minutes walk to the beach. Ample free parking and its location on the Jurassic Coastal path & bus routes make it is easy to leave the car behind while exploring the area. AA 3 star and GTBS Gold award for Green Tourism show Fernhill's commitment to providing outstanding service, with a local seasonal focus whilst minimising impact on the environment. With 36 acres of woodland, ponds and meadows, a la Carte and Bar & Grill Dining, outdoor heated Pool (May-Oct), and Holistic Therapies there are many ways to relax at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing