We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fernhill Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mariners Hotel(Lyme Regis)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerrington House(Axminster)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Inn(Chardstock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Greyhound(Bridport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
157
78
17
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
157
78
17
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathceiling fanlyme regishomemade biscuitswhite company toiletrieson arrivalapple cakelovely hotelcountry housemain restaurantfruit bowlfree tea and cakeheated poolbed was very comfortablepublic roomsstayed for two nightsbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our Family of four stayed for two nights in room 10. We were made to feel very welcome, fresh milk brought up to the top of the hotel for tea. The cooked breakfast was excellent, you could tell it was cooked to order and piping hot. The scrambled egg was perfect, always a good indicator! Although we had not planned to we ate in the hotel both evenings. Again the food was lovely and much more reasonable priced that in some of the restaurants in Lyme Regis. Wished we had booked for a third night and would recommend it to anyone with children.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Last minute break in August. Lots to do locally for family. Hotel was clean and friendly. Lovely breakfast - we did not eat there at any other times. Children liked the pool and small paddling pool for our youngest. Large spacious top floor family room was better than a room at the front of the hotel we had for the first night as some road noise.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed 4 nights in early August - lovely weather! Partner had booked a supposedly superior room in the original part of the building overlooking the pool. I think it was No. 1.
Although clean, the room was ridiculously small for 2 people and their bags. It was not a comfortable experience, especially in hot weather and a weighty duvet.
The tiny en-suite shower 'room' had been a corner of the bedroom presumably, hence the inadequacy of both. It featured a rather insecure folding door which afforded little privacy and the extractor did not work! When asked, the management said it only operated at certain times (?) Hence much use made of spacious 'public' loo downstairs!
Full English breakfast was good, but the waiting staff seemed to struggle and were not encouraging to those who wished to be served on the terrace, immediately outside, and those tables were not laid in preparation. Strange. We did, however, have breakfast outside in the sunshine.
We dined in one evening in the restaurant - as the only occupants which was a bit off-putting. We were most disappointed by our meal which was also over - priced. I had far better sea-bass at seafront hostelry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 505loneranger505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at Fernhill Hotel in Room 10 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was nicely appointed and the beds comfortable. It did smell and feel a bit damp to start with but the helpful staff bought in a couple of heaters and that sorted it out. The staff were very obliging and helpful, and are a real asset to the property. The dinner was beautiful, as were the breakfasts, and the staff did not hesitate to make adjustments to the meals for our children. There was a pool there, and mini golf, but unfortunately the weather meant we didn't get to utilise them. The location is great too - not far from Charmouth beach, and about 10 minutes drive to Lyme Regis town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJCJTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I plus our Son & Daughter in Law stayed for one night on a fleeting visit to the Jurassic Coast. The hotel is conveniently located on high ground between Lyme Regis and Charmouth with lovely views of the countryside from the front garden.
We were made most welcome and located in decent sized, clean and comfortable en-suite double rooms each immaculately presented and with quality accessories. As has been said before the ceiling fan in the room is a great addition and would provide relief in hot weather.
Our breakfast was delicious and individually prepared.
We were given fossil hunting advice and loaned geology hammers for our fossicking trip down the road to Charmouth.
We would certainly stay here again.
Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzTraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews