We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at an affordable price”
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fernhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Sadly we only had one night at this lovely hotel, driven by it many times and always wanted to stay so could hardly refuse when secret escapes had it on their website.
We couldn't fault our stay, great staff, delicious food and lovely room, we look forward to returning again soon. 5/5!

Room Tip: We had room seven, no view or bath but very clean and tastefully decorated plus modern bathroom, bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for a few nights one weekend and had a very pleasant stay. The owners are very nice and welcoming and provide a very good breakfast and afternoon tea with homemade cake. The rooms are well proportioned, tidy and clean. Car park is spacious and the communal areas are comfy. Great location with lyme regis a short drive and Charmouth a short walk. Only thing that slightly spoilt the visit was a meal in the evening one night; a nice starter, then a steak not cooked to order, finally a terrible bread and butter pudding which was burned and should never have left the kitchen. Eat the breakfast and afternoon tea, but if you want an evening meal, go out.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MattB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We took a detour on our way home & found this fabulous Hotel quite by chance , what a gem ! We had a lovely welcome from Jo & were immediately offered refreshments on arrival . We had a room on the top floor which was a bit of a trek , but it had a large comfy bed with lovely linen , biscuits & toiletries . Dinner was superb , a good choice of meals beautifully cooked , and excellent service . We decided to have our coffee in the bar & once again we were made to feel very welcome . Breakfast the following morning was excellent with plenty of choice , and freshly cooked . All in all a high standard of service and highly recommended , so much so that we have booked another visit for February .

Room Tip: We were very comfortable in our standard room but I believe the Superior rooms are just that - super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Spent a quiet three days here at the end of last year (no doubt the summer is busier) and the staff couldn’t have been friendlier. The à la carte restaurant is not overpriced if you take the dinner+B&B option when booking. The food is locally sourced and organic (where possible), carefully cooked and presented and generous in quantity. Some interesting wines include a fruity white from 40 miles away in Exeter! Breakfast, although simple, is worth looking forward to and includes local kippers if you wish. Some rooms have fine views over the green hillsides, Golden Cap and the sea, so check on booking. Might be best to avoid nights when there is a large wedding party staying, as the peace and quiet may not be as pleasant as we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views can be requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TallTraveller274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were there with our grandson to visit the Jurassic Coast. This is a charming hotel, lovely large rooms and very good food and staff. It was a little hard to find as there were two streets with the same name. We had a great dinner as well as a lovely breakfast there. Karen did not go to the coast with us as the winds were about 50 mph..no kidding...so she settled down on a couch in their Snuggy Room and read a book!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Booked at last minute based on website descriptions - we pulled up and were not sure whether to stay as the building looked rather run down. Deposit paid so we went in, having read positive reviews. Yes, staff friendly but it stopped there. All a bit dated and strange mix of furnishings & decor - dining room quite traditional and smart but bar area had 70's style conservatory furniture and was unwelcoming. We went to empty dining room and were asked to go to the bar first to look at menu - ruse to buy extra drinks? Also, we had our 5 year old so wanted early eve dinner, not to hang out in the soulless bar. Dining room was an elegant room but, again, strange mix - no tablecloths and ketchup put on table but trying so hard to be formal. Literature promised excellent, local homecooked food but our meal was disappointing - overcooked pork on ratatouille, no healthy kids options and a very average steak. Pudding menu was un-inspired so we left it. Bedroom looked nice on website but it was cramped and the bathroom was dated. Also stated pool open October but it was closed over. All of the above would be acceptable for a much cheaper hotel but our "spa" room with a £200 price tag (including kids bed) was nothing of the sort - we left feeling ripped off and disappointed. You can get a lot better for £200 and better, cheaper meals elsewhere.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank J0J043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our Family of four stayed for two nights in room 10. We were made to feel very welcome, fresh milk brought up to the top of the hotel for tea. The cooked breakfast was excellent, you could tell it was cooked to order and piping hot. The scrambled egg was perfect, always a good indicator! Although we had not planned to we ate in the hotel both evenings. Again the food was lovely and much more reasonable priced that in some of the restaurants in Lyme Regis. Wished we had booked for a third night and would recommend it to anyone with children.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
1.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
445 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
888 reviews
4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
523 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
153 reviews
6.2 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Address: | Fern Hill, nr Lyme Regis, Charmouth, Bridport DT66BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Price Range: £120 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful West Dorset small hotel conveniently located between Lyme Regis and Charmouth. The perfect base to explore West Country with stunning views of rolling Dorset Countryside, and 15 minutes walk to the beach. Ample free parking and its location on the Jurassic Coastal path & bus routes make it is easy to leave the car behind while exploring the area. AA 3 star and GTBS Gold award for Green Tourism show Fernhill's commitment to providing outstanding service, with a local seasonal focus whilst minimising impact on the environment. With 36 acres of woodland, ponds and meadows, a la Carte and Bar & Grill Dining, outdoor heated Pool (May-Oct), and Holistic Therapies there are many ways to relax at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing