We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant”
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fernhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Whilst holidaying in a cottage at Fernhill Heights (between Lyme Regis and Charmouth), we ate at the Fernhill Hotel. The cottage was in the grounds of the hotel so we could walk; the bar area of the hotel was both welcoming and comfortable. The manager (Rob) and staff were friendly and informative. The meal in the restaurant was fantastic; a simple a la carte menu with local produce well cooked. A real gem of a place for a quiet drink, snack or dinner.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in the hotel, but it all looked very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VickiYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    72
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
54
148
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A nice hotel. Our room was great, no view though which would have been nice considering the area. A good selection of toiletries on offer.
Exceptionally friendly staff except for the lady running the breakfast service - the breakfast was very good - small and limited buffet but an extensive cooked breakfast menu.
A very well stocked bar and nice area for relaxing with a book or drink.
Dinner was ok - excellent value, good service.
All in all a very nice time was had - recommended.

Room Tip: Room 9 was very nice although it did not have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmbieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here while touring Lyme Regis. Comfortable room with on suite. Spotlessly clean. Top level toiletries in the bath. Full English breakfast was delicious. Too cold for swimming pool but it looked great.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank marymorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights, dinner bed and breakfast in the middle of May.

The hotel has elegant public rooms, a swimming pool and ample car parking. The hotel is surrounded by woods and enjoys fine views over the surrounding countryside. Dinner was adquate and we enjoyed breakfast in a sunny room overlooking the pool. The staff were efficient and friendly.

Unfortunately, we can only give an average overall rating as our room, (no. 1) in the original house, did not live up to the description of 'Superior double'. It was clear that the original room had been altered to include a bathroom.

The result was that the room was very cramped with insufficient space for luggage or even to sit in comfort. There was hardly any space on the narrow dressing table for toiletries. The access to the window was blocked by a round table and 2 chairs which we had to pull back to be able to open the window or close the curtains.

The bathroom was the smallest we had ever encountered. Entry was over the step by a folding door which was awkward to operate. Two more steps, slippery when wet, led to the shower. It proved impossible to dry oneself and clothe oneself inside and we had to step into the bedroom after showering.

Looking back through Tripadvisor reviews, we found a report dated 28 October 2013 by '505loneranger505' which exactly mirrors our experience.

We do not know about other rooms in the hotel but we feel that room number 1 should not be offered as 'superior double room'. It could perhaps be altered for use for a single person, with a single bed and more functional furniture. It should be possible to enlarge the bathroom slightly, remove the unnecessary and possibly dangerous setps, and to fit it with a proper door.

We would recommend Fernhill for its position, public rooms and service. However, we would strongly advise that prospective guests make full enquiries about the size and amenities of the room before booking.

Room Tip: See the review!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

On a weekend break, the weather was awful, so never got to relax in the sun next to the pool, but it looked great.From the minute we arrived we felt comfortable in this hotel. Room was big and nicely furnished. we ate 2 nights in the restaurant, the food was excellent. Pre dinner drinks in the bar were relaxed. Special mention for the breakfast. Yes it was typical English breakfast choice, but the quality of the produce and presentation was exceptional. We will definitely return to this hotel, when hopefully the sun will shine.

Room Tip: We probably didn,t have the best room, but room 9 was very good. Big and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I recently stayed for 3 nights over the Easter weekend with my husband and eight year old daughter at this very welcoming hotel. The room was very comfortable and clean with plenty of room to accommodate an extra child's bed. The food was really very tasty and there were nice touches, like complimentary afternoon tea with home made apple cake on the day of arrival, hundreds of DVDs to choose from if you are staying in at night, and on Easter Sunday we were given home made chocolates. Reception was very helpful with information on places to visit (rain or shine). All in all, the service was very personal and welcoming and we left feeling very chilled and well fed. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughesy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel in error! We are going to Scotland and picked the wrong Fernhill Hotel. The booking was made and deposit paid. Once I realised the mistake, I contacted the Fernhill Hotel and received a very polite email back from Jo. She dealt with the cancellation and went above and beyond to return my deposit. She did all this and I wasn't even a guest! 10/10 for customer service, it has made us plan a future trip to Dorset! Thanks Jo

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
4.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
349 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
434 reviews
7.3 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
147 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Property: Fernhill Hotel
Address: | Fern Hill, nr Lyme Regis, Charmouth, Bridport DT66BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful West Dorset small hotel conveniently located between Lyme Regis and Charmouth. The perfect base to explore West Country with stunning views of rolling Dorset Countryside, and 15 minutes walk to the beach. Ample free parking and its location on the Jurassic Coastal path & bus routes make it is easy to leave the car behind while exploring the area. AA 3 star and GTBS Gold award for Green Tourism show Fernhill's commitment to providing outstanding service, with a local seasonal focus whilst minimising impact on the environment. With 36 acres of woodland, ponds and meadows, a la Carte and Bar & Grill Dining, outdoor heated Pool (May-Oct), and Holistic Therapies there are many ways to relax at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing