We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely day out”

Charmouth Heritage Coast Centre
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Centre provides information on fossils, fossil hunting and the local coastal and marine wildlife. Facilities at the centre include interactive computers, hands on displays, marine tanks and a video microscope, all of which can help you to discover more about our stretch of the coastline. You will always find a helpful warden or volunteer who can help you identify your fossil finds. The Centre also has disabled access. Our Jurassic Theatre shows a short film on 'The Jurassic Coast and Finding fossils at Charmouth' (adults £1, children 50p). We also have a shop stocked with books for all levels, including some of our own publications, toys and souvenirs. Throughout the year we run guided fossil hunting walks and rockpooling walks along the local coastline. The Centre also has an extensive education programme. For information about the activities we have to offer to school groups please see our Primary Schools and Secondary Schools sections.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely day out”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Heritage centre very informative for a novice fossil hunter. Although undergoing refurbishment due to storm damage, the exhibition was still available with knowledgeable staff on hand to offer advice and safety tips. Basic but reasonably priced café facilities and toilets also available.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    149
    27
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A worthwhile visit”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We found the heritage displays at the centre extremely interesting and wished we could have spent more time there...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mad about Dinosaurs”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I love this place and well worth a visit if you love dinosaurs, fossils and getting your mind filled with anything 200 million years old.

On a serious note, Charmouth is the place to be if you want to get soaking wet, your wellingtons stuck in mud and something prehistoric to show off to your friends and family when you get home.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dino_Bakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great fossil hunt”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Having researched we picked Charmouth tour for fossil hunting. The 30 minute talk was informative and then we were walked down to the beach. The two guides to helped us discover fossil, amonites etc. My 9 year old was completely captivated and after the hour and half was up we were free to spend the rest of the afternoon on the beach looking for fossils. There were toilets and a cafe, food was basic and a bit pricey for what it was, but it did mean we could stay for longer on our hunt. Our dog seemed to enjoy herself too!

Good value, very interesting and a lovely day out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lettermacaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A unique day on the beach”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Charmouth is a great place to spend a different type of day on the beach. Great mixture of rock pools, spectacular walks and of course fossil hunting. Beach car park a very reasonable £2.50 for the day. Heritage centre has everything you need - very good despite being in the midst of refurbishment. Staff informative helpful and enthusiastic - good with young and old. Great walk along the beach to lyme Regis at low tide but be warned diverted walk back over cliffs (diverted due to landslides) takes you quite a way inland and can be very muddy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charmouth Heritage Coast Centre also viewed

 
Charmouth, Bridport
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Been to Charmouth Heritage Coast Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing