We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating centre for fossilers”

Charmouth Heritage Coast Centre
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Centre provides information on fossils, fossil hunting and the local coastal and marine wildlife. Facilities at the centre include interactive computers, hands on displays, marine tanks and a video microscope, all of which can help you to discover more about our stretch of the coastline. You will always find a helpful warden or volunteer who can help you identify your fossil finds. The Centre also has disabled access. Our Jurassic Theatre shows a short film on 'The Jurassic Coast and Finding fossils at Charmouth' (adults £1, children 50p). We also have a shop stocked with books for all levels, including some of our own publications, toys and souvenirs. Throughout the year we run guided fossil hunting walks and rockpooling walks along the local coastline. The Centre also has an extensive education programme. For information about the activities we have to offer to school groups please see our Primary Schools and Secondary Schools sections.
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fascinating centre for fossilers”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Booked for the fossil talk and guided fossil hunt. Very friendly and knowledgeable guide. Good fossils on display. Downstairs cafe and fossil shop worth a look. Use the grassy car park next to the centre, its much cheaper. Dont expect fossils on the beach to leap out at you, you have to look carefully. A good morning or afternoon out for couples and families.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    146
    27
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kids Will Love It”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Most kids love dinosaurs and if they are in year three at school probably learning about Mary Anning - my eight year old knows more about her than I ever did. Could have something to do with her being born in Lyme Regis so relatively local.
I would recommend not only going fossil hunting but book on one of the guided walks with the rangers. Not expensive and worth every penny. A presentation in the centre is followed by a good 90 mins with them on the beach (you can stay afterwards its up to you). They take you to a spot where you will find some fossils and they are on hand to ask questions and crack open any rocks you think may contain fossils. I found this more satisfying than just bashing the hell out of every rock in site - which a lot of people were doing. The rangers know what to look for!
Had lunch in the centre cafe, fresh sandwiches or wide choice of hot food and drinks. Worth a visit. Easily spend the whole day looking for that elusive find - it does get a bit addictive. Booking during school holidays is essential

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ant_Woodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon england
Level Contributor
230 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Visit Centre then go fossil hunting”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have been numerous times and always found a few fossils, staff in centre are always happy to take a look at what you have found and identify for you.
Be sensible don't climb up on the cliffs, it can bury you in an instance in a rock slide with no warning.
All you really need is a sharp pair of eyes and a bit of luck, when you have found one then you know what to look for.
Go on a fossil walk with a guide pre-bookable, to insure success they are very good and worth the money.
take note of tide times and keep an eye on the sea so it doesn;t cut of your return route,
For what it is the cafe we found is great.
Can be a bit of a hike on the beach so visit the centre loo's before you leave.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mozziefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fossil hunting tour”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked on the fossil hunting tour via the Charmouth Heritage Centre. There was an informative 20 minute talk in the centre to start off with explaining what fossils are to be found on the beach, what they look like and how to try and spot one. There's a five minute comfort break before you head out onto the beach. We had two guides with us on the beach who were very approachable and not condescending when you presented with them with something you thought was a fossil but wasn't! Fairly sure we wouldn't have found any fossils had we set out on our own so was well worth the cost of the tour as we came home with quite a few fossils

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely day out”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Heritage centre very informative for a novice fossil hunter. Although undergoing refurbishment due to storm damage, the exhibition was still available with knowledgeable staff on hand to offer advice and safety tips. Basic but reasonably priced café facilities and toilets also available.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charmouth Heritage Coast Centre also viewed

 
Charmouth, Bridport
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Been to Charmouth Heritage Coast Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing