We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find”
Review of Castleman

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chettle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castleman
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chettle
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, Berkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real find”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The Castleman is, quite simply, unique. In a country where you either have to suffer the tartan-slippers B&B or the "you don't look like our sort of customer" hotel, the Castleman falls perfectly between the two. It has a wonderful atmosphere, relaxed and homely, yet offers the kind of food and service you'd expect from a 5-star hotel. The rooms are huge and airy, with lovely touches such as Victorian baths (proper power showers as well, however!) and what in our room could only be described as a commode - more like a throne, really! The building is an eclectic mix of architectural styles, including some wonderful carved woodwork rescued from a London house a couple of centuries ago. Everything about the Castleman is relaxing, and we would imagine it's particularly nice in the winter when the fires are lit in the lounge. Chettle is a really quiet location, perfectly placed for walkers and cyclists, and you can walkor bike for miles without seeing another soul or vehicle. All in all, a real find.

Room Tip: No point - all the rooms are worth staying in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Writehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    30
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
45
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We ate here on an arranged lunch for our car club and had an excellent lunch for over 30 people. The food was excellent, as was the service - would highly recommend for the food!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDCGertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We had dinner, B&B here to celebrate my husband's birthday, having read a review by An Inspector Calls in the Mail.
We consider the Castleman a real find and will definitely return. It is somewhat shabby and has seen better days but charm and class ooze out of the place and you can forgive a few tatty edges as part of its overall character. Our huge room had a 4-poster bed and a super bathroom, all overlooking the lovely grounds and neighbouring fields.
Dinner was sumptious, beautifully presented and delicious, as was breakfast the following morning.
The great thing is that this hotel is affordable, which is why we will certainly return for any excuse!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CafnJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widecombe in the Moor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

For us it was a Hotel we would go back to
The bathroom was perfect, plenty Hot Water, decent sized Bath, shower which worked
The Windows opened
The Bed was of good size and very comfortable
The Room had plenty of Space, comfy chairs and Mirrors
The Hotel had fresh flowers everywhere
The breakfast was local and Good
Lastly the staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farmerhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Barbara and her team pulled out all the stops to ensure my 60th Birthday Dinner went without a hitch. My Guests enjoyed every mouthful.

Don't miss this excellent Hotel and Restaurant if you are in the area, its a real find.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

This hotel is set in a tiny village set in the beautiful countryside of North Dorset. It is peaceful and relaxing with rooms given over to numeous comfortable armchairs and sofas - perfect places to sit back with one of the numerous books from the shelves or enjoy a post dinner digestive. The rooms are spacious and well furnished. We didn't eat there in the evening although the restaurant seemed extremely popular and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were brilliant.

If you are looking for a Hilton type experience you won't find it here but if you want an authentic hotel run by genuine people give this place a shot.

Wish they'd take dogs as would love to come down here as a family with the mutt and explore the surronding countryside.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattyw70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

It was recently my great pleasure to celebrate my 50th birthday along with my family at The Castleman Hotel, somewhere I had long wanted to visit. I can only report that the day was an utter delight from start to finish and my hopes of a lovely afternoon of good food, great company and some lovely wine were far exceeded. This was due (apart from the presence of my wonderful family) to the excellent care and hospitality we were shown from the moment we arrived until we finally departed. We had a range of ages from 10 to 92 at the dinner table and everyone agreed the menu had a lovely selection on it and some great choices were made! The meals were outstanding and enjoyed by everyone and the deserts were a triumph!
However, the service and 'nothing was too much trouble' attitude of the staff made the day an outstanding memory for everyone, a total gem of a place with the most wonderful staff in every area; I cannot speak highly enough of them. After dinner we were served coffee and tea in the grounds, they had even set a seat in the shade in case the heat was too uncomfortable for my father - how very kind and thoughtful and jsut one of many kindnesses that made a special day 'extra special.'

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank like2eathere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chettle
0.0 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plumber Manor
Plumber Manor
#2 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Museum Inn
The Museum Inn
#1 of 3 in Farnham
232 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Castleman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleman

Property: Castleman
Address: Chettle DT11 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Chettle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chettle
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Castleman Hotel Chettle
Castleman Chettle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing