We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional splendor ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castleman

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chettle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castleman
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chettle
Stoke Newington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional splendor ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

It goes to say that a hotel that has been around for 17 years and never felt the need to advertise must be doing something right ! Our stay was very relaxed and the staff were charming and extremely helpful The food is to be believed with a great wine cellar - Breakfast was delicious. This is a place of yesteryear charm. Go enjoy - we did

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmssj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    30
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
43
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Il start by saying this is a stunning listed building, its obviously very old and a lovely English structure. The door frames are small and inside are coats of arms - It feels like King Arther is about to appear from one of the rooms, go outside and start Jousting!

However sadly the ceiling was full of rats, big loud ones. No, it wasnt the people in the room above us creaking and scratching and running about - nor their dog - as there was no room above us...........we left before sleeping there with a full refund. The people are nice though and they acknowledged there was a problem, its obviously happened before and been dealt with as they looked most upset about it.... It may well have now been resolved...

I have added one photo to this review, taken of our room when we first got there. Spot the Orb!

Room Tip: I have still given good overall ratings as it is beautiful and the rats have been sorted, then it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Ate here last week, had not been for a while but it was still as I remembered. Very welcoming staff who seem to have been there for ever, but it's good to see faces you remember.Our meal was superb, a very creamy chicken liver parfait and to follow pigeon with smoked bacon for me my partner had a twice baked souffle and rack of local lamb. Both main courses were cooked as we requested and came with two dishes of fresh cooked vegetables, we shared a dessert of summer pudding with cream which was sublime. They have an equally good wine list at sensible prices to match the food, in all a very good evening

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholadorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We have been to Castlemans on many occasions for a meal but recently went and stayed overnight. The service at the hotel is great, everyone is pleasant and friendly. The room we had was large with a four poster bed and a big en suite. We went again last night for a meal with friends and the food was amazing - their peppered fillet steak just melts in the mouth and the desserts are fantastic. You need to book but this is definitely a special place to go.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cullen652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

This place is a real gem and never ails to impress. We stayed here for a night and had a meal for a special occasion and it lived up to our expectations in every way possible. From The greeting when we arrived to when we checked out the staff were perfect throughout. The food was excellent (our evening mail was Devine, and breakfast was superb) the wine was great and the accommodation was very good. This place is a bit quirky, you won't find all of the fancy bells and whistles you might expect from a decent hotel, but never the less it's excellent. You'll need to book in plenty of time just to get a table. Try it, you'll love it!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andreww4rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Arriving at five to seven we asked if we could come in, --"only if you've booked" said the grumpy receptionist, "You can have a drink in the lounge". The lounge is like a store for old furniture, overstuffed chesterfields with greasy arms covered with pastle coloured cushions; no understanding of design or atmosphere. The dining room is nicely decorated with comfortable seats and a view over the gardens to the fields. The food was excellent, venison as rare as it should be with a beautiful rostie, veg cooked just right with plenty of crunch. All four of us could not fault the food but why the grumpy attitude from the receptionist who now turned up as the waiter? Had we committed a social faux pas I wonder, or was she just having a bad day. Things like this shouldn't put one off but they do; there was no welcome, no enquiry about the meal no thanks, no engagement with us. We might try again but will try and check who is on duty first!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

This restaurant provides a superb service. No jeans, jackets for men and an air of confident respectability. A packed restaurant is calm and run by a couple of personable young ladies. The two men proviide drinks in an understated but confident manner. The chef/s provide technically good yet simple dishes presnted with flair. The tastes are impeccably blended. This is a one-off and long may it thrive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorsetgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chettle
0.0 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Museum Inn
The Museum Inn
#1 of 3 in Farnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleman

Property: Castleman
Address: Chettle DT11 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Chettle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chettle
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Castleman Hotel Chettle
Castleman Chettle, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing