We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and charming B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chideock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Warren House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Chideock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing and charming B&B”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We knew Warren House was on a very busy main road from Bridport to Lyme Regis, but this charming 17th Century cottage, though right beside the road, was a relaxing and peaceful place with a very pretty garden behind the house. This led from the small private car park through to the house. Our room was excellently appointed with a spacious en-suite bathroom (bath & shower) and although it overlooked the main road, the efficient double glazing kept out most of the traffic noise. The proprietors were extremely friendly and helpful and were anxious to make sure we had everything we needed, including advice on where to eat .The breakfasts were superb with an excellent range of freshly cooked dishes. We were able to return from a busy day out and relax in the very pleasant, welcoming atmosphere. It was one of the nicest places we've stayed and we shall certainly consider booking there again.

Room Tip: Ours was excellent; assume others were too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMoore43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E, Owner at Warren House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We really do appreciate your comments and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
204
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Bed and breakfast at Warren House has to be tried to be appreciated, everything that we encountered was second to none. From the moment that we arrived, to the minute we left, we felt that every effort was made to make sure that it was home from home but without the washing up, ironing, dusting etc. We were greeted by Jane who made us feel welcome to the Warren with a smile, this was followed by a pot of tea and lemon cake delivered to our room. Within minutes we felt as though we had known Jane for years, but we hope to know her and Laurie for years to come. The room was spacious and well equipped, we even had a bed which we were told “had a memory”, we were both so envious as ours fails at times, but we can say the bed was very comfortable. The room was well stocked with coffee, tea, hot chocolate, sugar, milk and biscuits, there was no scrimping which makes a pleasant change. Towels were very good and changed upon request, hand soap etc were also well stocked. We were not bothered by any road noise from the main A35 route into Devon as the room had secondary double glazing. That’s enough on the bed side of B & B, now to the breakfast side, being a healthy eater I can vouch that the breakfast was truly scrumptious (oh no I feel a song coming on, enough of Mary Poppins), there was plenty of everything served, along with cereals, fruit juice, fruit salad, yoghurt and various breads which could be toasted to your liking. There was also a comprehensive choice of jams and marmalades which were home made locally, we purchased 3 different jars to fetch home with us, not only for the delicious jam but for the fact that we have promised to recycle the jars by returning them to Warren House. We liked all the little touches throughout Warren House, and appreciated that time had been taken to make up an information board which itemised where the various breakfast products had been purchased. The garden was well tended and stocked and there was a seating area for relaxing with a book, bottle of wine etc. As for the location, there are 2 local public houses selling good quality drink and food along with a further public house approx ¾ mile stroll away. The scenery close by is stunning, Devon is on the doorstep and if you feel like catching public transport there is a bus which runs up and down the coast road. There are plenty of shopping centres close by should you require retail therapy, there are vintage/retro shops (some people may say junk shops) in Bridport which is on the doorstep, there is also Dorchester, Yeovil, Weymouth or Exeter should you wish to drive for just under an hour. There are plenty of attractions close by which Jane or Laurie would give you recommendations on should you require them, or you could look at the numerous leaflets provided. We hope that we have done justice to Warren House and the special couple who provide the bed and breakfast under its thatched roof, but don’t just take my word for it read the rest of the reviews, but please consider that we intend to return so leave some room in the Warren for the two happy bunnies. Thank you Jane and Laurie for the excellent service provided.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E, Owner at Warren House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We like happy bunnies!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. Laurie and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to you both returning in the near future to refill your jam pots!! Thanks again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

this was a lovely place to stay, fantastic breakfast (one of which was vegetarian), really helpful advice and the room was large and delightful. We will definitely be staying there again when we visit West Dorset.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E, Owner at Warren House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review for us. Laurie and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. And we love the 'Quintessential English' comment! It was great having you stay and we hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We recently stayed for 3 nights in Golden Cap room. we had been concerned about traffic noise but this was not a problem even with a window open. Jane and Laurie are wonderful hosts and took an amazing amount of trouble to look up places to go for us and give us maps! Jane also gave us excellent directions about the very pleasant walk to the sea. The breakfasts were excellent too- lots of choice but not too overwhelming like some B&Bs.

we understand hat J&L have only been running this B&B for a couple of years but they have decorated he whole place beautifully. And s others have said, the rooms are extra large- bigger than most hotel rooms! Ditto the bathrooms. It is obviously difficult with pluming in an old house but we did find the shower which is over the bath, rather feeble (by Australian standards anyway) . It was not a "power shower" as in some UK houses but certainly the water was hot and that was the main thing!
We would certainly stay again if in the area- just to catch up with Laurie and Jane.

Room Tip: Didn't try the other rooms but in the Golden Gap room - which is on the side of the house- we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MreMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E, Owner at Warren House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Than you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Laurie and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and the vegetarian breakfast!! We hope to see you again one day. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Jane and Laurie are lovely people who make you feel at home and cook an awesome breakfast! My room was lovely with some nice touches, sewing kit, shoe kit, make up pads etc. Tea and coffee making facilities and bottled water too. Very well located with 2 pubs serving food nearby and one on the beach 15 minute walk away. Ideally placed for exploring the Jurassic coastline and did I mention the wonderful garden?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E, Owner at Warren House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Warren House B&B. Laurie and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Nice and friendly b&b, we were made to feel very welcome. The rooms are larger than average and very comfortable. Within easy reach of West bay/Bridport & Lyme Regis. Awesome coast line, great for walking & swimming & golfing. Both pubs in village serve great food & drink within easy walking distance. 1 week was just not long enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in Thorncombe Beacon room @ 75/night/room and it was plenty big enough for 2 case, golf ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E, Owner at Warren House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. Laurie and I are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and exploring the area around. Hopefully we'll see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Location is well placed, 20 minute walk to beach, coast paths, 2 pubs serving food, tea shop and on a bus route, if like us, you walk to Charmouth & find yourself too tired to walk back over Golden Cap! Room was well furnished, tea, coffee & cake on arrival, plus the sensible decision to check breakfast orders the night before. Jane is a natural hostess, warm, friendly & hospitable. Laurie had fixed the door latch we had problems with, within hours. Excellent breakfast, freshly cooked & local. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E, Owner at Warren House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Laurie and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Warren House and hope to see you again one day. Thank you for stripping the bed..what a treat!! Thanks again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chideock
2.9 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
756 reviews
3.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
484 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
142 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
237 reviews
8.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warren House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warren House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Warren House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Main Street | Bridport, Chideock, Bridport DT6 6JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Chideock
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Warren House Bed and Breakfast', is a thatched, grade II listed Dorset Bed and Breakfast full of interesting features. We are situated in the picturesque Dorset village of Chideock which is near the coast at Seatown and close to Bridport, Charmouth and Lyme Regis. We offer traditional Dorset Bed & Breakfast Accommodation.The village of Chideock features a local shop, two pubs 'The George Inn' and 'The Clock House Inn' Warren House Bed and Breakfast is less than a mile's walk from the stunning World Heritage Jurassic coastline, and the quaint hamlet of Seatown. Seatown offers stunning views of 'The Golden Cap', the highest land point on the South Coast. Discover the beautiful pebble beach and a traditional smuggler's pub 'The Anchor Inn'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warren House Bed And Breakfast Chideock, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing