We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable staff and over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Cap Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Great facilities but for gbp32 per night for a family tent you would expect a b&b. Nice site but weather was terrible. I paid up front for two nights but had to leave when the tent was blown away on the 1st night. I was then told a refund was not possible. Gbp64 for 1 nights camping was a little steep and there are better sites for far less!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

This campsite is in a brilliant location - ideal for anyone wanting a relaxed holiday or a chance to explore the beautiful coastline. After one night of hell-ish English weather we wimped out of camping in our tent and asked to stay in a static caravan instead. Staff were really helpful and the caravan itself was amazing ! The only way to have improved our visit would be to have some DVDs/board games available to loan as when it was raining there wasn't much to do.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

After an AWFUL summer (when our motorhome barely left the drive), the unexpected, amazing weather of the weekend of 1st October proved to be a lure that we couldn't resist, and we headed off to Dorset at short notice. Found 'Golden Cap' online - at a pitch price that was as keen as staying in a field at some small Caravan club CL's! The astonishing weather makes it difficult to be TOO objective, but it was clear that the site was well maintained, and the management seemed to have a laid-back attitude, which we like. The touring pitches are cute, with a pleasing informality and some good views over the wonderful countryside. If you like walking, this is 'hiker-heaven', with some beautiful (albeit demanding) treks over the cliffs and hills, and the coast path is just yards from the site. The site is adjacent to a really cute pub - the ANCHOR INN, which seems to offer pretty good food, though it is a tad expensive. Overall we really liked the site and will definitely be back. It's worth noting that the owners (West Devon Leisure Holidays - www.wdlh.co.uk) have other sites nearby. We also visited their HIGHLANDS END site atop the cliffs at Eype and that also looks excellent, with panoramic sea views. If you like fossil hunting or fishing the beach is great - but don't expect to make sand castles as it comprises steep shingle, which is a bit hard on bare feet, and it might not be the best choice for toddlers.

Room Tip: The touring pitches at the entrance to the site are a bit expensive, but have wonderful sea views ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CM666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My partner and I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the golden cap holiday park.
Its a little gem, just a stones throw from the shingle beach which is brilliant for collecting fossils. The shop is very well stocked and reasonably priced for a site shop, and the nearest pub a mear 2 mins walk away.The staff on site all seemed very friendly and very helpful.
We stayed in a premier plus caravan which we thought was absolutely fantastic.It had everything we needed and we had great views of the hills and the sea.
We went for a quiet relaxing holiday and that's certainly what we got.
Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank guzzoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Having been to Golden Cap on many occasions over the last 5 years & having enjoyed it. We now find that the management in all their wisdom have introduced a daily charge of £3.20 per day for each dog.

This is totally outrageous & extortionate.

I would advise all pet owners to give this campsite a very wide berth from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank I-Ziggy-Zumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandsEnd, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

We are very surprised to see this comment – we have charged for dogs for over 25 years and the price has risen very slowly to the current £3.20 per night. This price is very competitive when you look at similar parks and we have set up dog bins etc to help owners and the environment. I can assure you that our park is dog friendly and although they are banned on the beach (not our rule!) there are many excellent coastal and inland walks around the park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We have been visiting Golden Cap Holiday park for a number of years now (usually 2-3 times a year) and I can honestly say it just gets better and better. Our latest visit was last week and we were lucky enough to stay in one of the new Premier Plus caravans. These are without doubt the smartest caravans I have ever seen and nicely laid out with designated parking areas and lovely balcony/deck area (you even get your own gate-a bonus if you have young children i would imagine)
The site was as beautifully maintained as ever and the staff friendly and professional -greeting us like old friends. I would never hesitate to recommend this site - except for selfish reasons of keeping this gem a secret!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CovKid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We visited Golden Cap between 8th and 13th May and this was our first visit - we were very impressed. On arrival our welcome was warm and they were expecting us. We had booked on line a grass pitch for our tent with electric hook up for £17 per night incl 2 adults. As it was early in the season we were invited to choose any one of about 30 pitches. I must state that nearly all grass pitches with hook ups are on a gentle slope but it did not affect us - it may if you have more free standing equipment. The pitches are quite large and most are segregated by posts/fences/bushes etc. The toilet blocks were great, approx 6 showers (with seperate enclosed changing area)which were free, clean, good water temp adjustment and good pressure. The icing on the cake was piped radio into these blocks - a great way to wake up in the morning. The on site shop was small but well stocked, reasonably priced and very friendly staff. The pub on the beach (The Anchor) was very popular, small on the inside and the meals looked good. For a great pub meal go to The George in Chideock which is run by ex-River Cottage staff. To get to Chideock walk along the bridle path running alongside the caravans in the back right corner of the site as viewed from the sea front. Turn right at the house with the two concrete foxes and follow the path into the village - takes about 10 minutes from the site to the village. Bridport is a nice well stocked market town (park behind Waitrose), West Bay is ok but a little down market in our opinion. Lyme Regis is a great (quaint) sea side town with a sandy beach, nice shops, great pubs and a good crazy golf on top of the promenade. Beer is a lovely little seaside fishing village and is only about a 30 minute drive - combine the day with Seaton and/or Sidmouth.
This is a great camping site, probably one of the best we have stayed in for a relaxed holiday but be aware dogs are allowed and we were a litle dissappointed by some of the owners NOT clearing up the mess but this is not a fault of the site.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DMFTEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chideock
1.7 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
2.8 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
515 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
256 reviews
1.9 mi away
Highlands End Holiday Park
3.2 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#4 of 5 in Charmouth
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Cap Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Cap Holiday Park

Address: Sea Hill Lane | DT6 6JX, Chideock, Bridport DT6 6JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Chideock
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Chideock
Price Range: £17 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Cap Holiday Park has a range of accommodation from touring and tent pitches to lodges, hire caravans and camping pods as well as holiday homes for sale ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Golden Cap Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Cap Holiday Park Hotel Chideock
Golden Cap Holiday Park Chideock, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing