We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chideock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Cap Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a wonderful week at Golden Cap,we stayed in a Premier Plus Caravan ,newer models than the Premier.The site is lovely,staff were all friendly and helpful,The site is quiet ,well maintained in an idyllic location,the Pub is a short stroll from the Site and has beautiful views towards Golden Cap.On site shop is adequate but it would be nice to be able to buy Local fresh produce,there is a Farm Shop on the road to Lyme Regis if you venture off the site,which we didn't want to do because it was such a lovely place to be.
There is a very good Pub in the village of Chideock( which is a short stroll from the site on the Bridle path)food was fantastic ,live music ,very friendly
We fell in love with this place and we will most definitely return

Room Tip: Always go for the Premier Plus Vans
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiji002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for your very nice review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Golden Cap Holiday Park and we do feel very fortunate to be located along the beautiful Jurassic Coast. We hope you will be able to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    72
    28
    13
    4
See reviews for
133
94
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed at the campsite for one night in July and had a fantastic time. We had a large pitch in the Big Berries field with exquisite views over the beach. The facilities were excellent and we particularly enjoyed the music being piped in to the shower block - what a way to start the day (this was amusing even to a snob like me)! The campsite had an extremely well stocked shop, including alcoholic drinks, teas and coffees and a selection of cakes, including fresh croissants. There is a pub serving good food and providing evening entertaining - John de Barra was rocking.
All in all 10 out of 10 - it ticks all the right boxes!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyTurbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for your review, it does sound like you enjoyed yourself and even fitted in a performance by John de Barra. Big Berries is a great camping field and being located on the hill side you do have the spectacular views. We are very proud of our wash room facilities and shop and do try to stock many locally made produce. Thank you again for your excellent comments and we hope you will all be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just back from golden cap holiday park enjoyed our week there staff very friendly nice little park and well positioned for visiting lyme regis , charmouth etc. pebble beach and steep sloping not suitable for small children.
Shop site is quite expensive but there is a morrisons a short drive away in bridport also chinese takeaway if thats your fancy,fish and chip van visits park on a saturday but gets very busy fish nice chips not so good.
there are three pubs in the area the anchor, the george and the clock tower, ate at the george and the anchor food nice but not a lot of choice on menu,s at either, clock tower was not our cup of tea.
The fishing lake was quite nice and there are some big carp in there as I could see them basking in the sun but wasnt able to tempt them to the hook only fished for a couple of hours as I had left some kit back home, ideal for kids as there was a lot of small roach that were all to eager to jump on the hook punched bread worked well.
site is sloping but most hard standings are terraced and level with electric water and drainage on pitch which sure beats the water hogs.
shower blocks were a bit dated but adequate and clean water temp good although they did have them anoying push button showers some of which bearly lasted 5 seconds before needing pushing again needed a third arm in small of your back to rinse off, also showers had mops and squeeges available all day so you could clean your cubicle thought this was an excellent idea as theres nothing more annoying than having a shower in someone elses filth or on a wet floor.
Now on to the reason I would not return to this site, the road to the site,I arrived as insructed after 15.00 on the saturday as soon as you get into lane it is very narrow I had about 8 cars coming in other direction, it is also quite steep, the cars had to reverse back to passing points which are not wide enough yes I did get through without any scrapes but it was not pleasant and van was right against side of lane, did manage at a later point to put a faint scrape down side of car.
If you are visiting I suggest when you leave you exit with your caravan down the bridle path that goes through the cottages its not as steep and has a lot less bends in it we left this way and didnt meet a single car, there is also another route down the farmers lane at the back of the private statics in field 6 this is on open route with no danger of scraping van but staff told me this is a big no no as the farmer dont like it and will give you a roasting if he catches you " get orf my land" solution more passing points and wider ones big enough for caravans to pass or negotiate terms with the farmer to use his lovely wide lane.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kengglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate the informative detail you have given for other readers. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Golden Cap Holiday Park and that you experienced the local area, for such a small village Chideock does have a lot to offer.

We appreciate our onsite shop is more expensive than Waitrose and Morrisons but unfortunately as a seasonal shop we cannot compete with national supermarkets, it is worth keeping in mind that Waitrose will deliver large orders to the holiday park and the holiday park shop is a convenience store.

We have noted your comments about the shower buttons and have forwarded this to the maintenance department to take a look. The showers are set to a timer in order for us to fall in line with our environmental policy but they can misbehave from time to time.

With regard to the access lane, I am afraid there is not a lot we can do, it is a public highway and we do assist the Council by cutting the hedges along the road and have organised staggered arrival and departure times to try and spread the amount of traffic using the lane.

The concrete road along Mill Lane is an alternative exit, but it can create problems with the local community, who sadly on occasions do not always see the benefits of tourism. With regard to the private access across the fields the farmer does not give you a 'roasting' if he catches you, but the track which is unsuitable for normal traffic has limited use which includes HGV deliveries. The landowner will not negotiate an exit route for tourers and this is in addition to the difficult highway implications which would arise where the track joins the main road.

Therefore, we do try our best to ensure that each customers experience is a positive one and that the journey to and from the holiday park is as easy as possible. However being located along the well protected World Heritage Site does come with access limitations, which we have to respect and hope that our visitors will appreciate and enjoy when here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The park is quiet and well kept. If you want a simple and peaceful holiday with lovely walks then Golden Cap is the place for you. Catch mackerel from the beach, a drink sat on the cliff at the Anchor pub, or a cream tea at Downhouse Farm following a strenuous walk along the cliffs.
However, having been down here for nearly 14 years I have to advise that certain (not all) staff are at best officious and at worst, down right rude. The concept of customer service is clearly an alien concept to some, (especially the overbearing management style of James and the Cox family - sometimes they make you feel like you're back at school! Sadly this has put off at least 2 families known to us who were even considering purchasing a home at the park, but who have since gone elsewhere, as will we in future.....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We welcome your comments about the park being quiet and well kept, but as readers will appreciate we find it difficult to understand your comments about customer service and management style in the absence of specific concerns. We can find no record of any problems which may relate to your review.

We manage the park to the best of our ability which we have done for the last 35 years with a high level of repeat business and caravan owners who have owned a holiday home on the park for many years – some families over 25 years. The independent feedback results for July received this morning show us scoring 98% for customer service against a national average across all participating parks of 96%.

We realise that we cannot please everyone all the time and there will be people who do not like our park for various reasons and find others which suit their preferences and needs. However, it would be nice to know what you found so overbearing which made you place your comments on the review.

We are not sure whether we are pleased or disappointed that we come across like school teachers, but we are comforted by the thought that a well-managed school is normally enjoyed by the majority of its pupils.

If after being a regular visitor for 14 years you have reached the conclusion that Year 14 is the time to leave and our park no longer suits your requirements, we have valued your custom and hope that you will find an alternative suitable park that allows you to continue enjoying future breaks in Dorset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Lovely camp site with friendly staff. We only stayed one night but wished it could be more. Clean, quiet and friendly site, the showers are kept very tidy and good selection in the shop.The beach is five minutes walk and also very clean.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay although it was very short. We hope you will be able to visit again soon and please remember we also have another 3 holiday parks that also welcome camping and touring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A lovely camp site in a stunning location. Approach lanes are a bit narrow for caravans but still lots managed to get through, fine as long as you don't meet anyone coming the other way. Showers clean and free with spacious cubicles some having toilet, washbasin and shower all in one.
The pub was very close, a short stroll away, bit expensive as you would expect for the location (right on the beach) but food very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonklkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for your comments about Golden Cap Holiday Park, we are very proud of our location and are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate that the lane to the holiday park can sometimes be awkward but it is a public highway, we do assist the council by cutting the hedges along the road and have organised staggered arrival and departure times to try and spread the amount of traffic using the lane. It is nice to read that you have rated the holiday park as 5 star and quoted 'Excellent in all respects' we hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

The pitch for our tent was on a slope but it was ok, the showers are free, clean & hot the shop was well stocked if a little expensive . The pub is about 5 minutes walk away as was the beach , this campsite is as close to perfection I have ever found

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonmartin75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your very kind review, i am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Golden Cap Holiday Park and i hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chideock
2.8 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
495 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
781 reviews
8.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
429 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
166 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Cap Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Cap Holiday Park

Property: Golden Cap Holiday Park
Address: Sea Hill Lane | DT6 6JX, Chideock, Bridport DT6 6JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Chideock
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Chideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Cap Holiday Park has a range of accommodation from touring and tent pitches to lodges, hire caravans and camping pods as well as holiday homes for sale ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Cap Holiday Park Hotel Chideock
Golden Cap Holiday Park Chideock, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing