We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bostin place and the pods are great too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Cap Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Cap Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Bostin place and the pods are great too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Visited here again since our last visit in 2013. Still a great kept place, excellent clean toilets with heating, lawns and roadways spotless with the shop well stocked for essential needs. A large supermarket in Bridport suitable for MOTORHOME parking if you need to super stock up. The pebble beech took a bit of a knock during the winter storms but is now back to normal, the local pub "Anchor" 100yards away is still being refurbished but should be soon finished where you can get a meal and refreshments.. We had a Motorhome pitch but my daughter travelled down for a few days and booked a Pod. The site has 3. A double bed and 2 singles in each, fantastic views from them and lovely and cosy at night, Recommended if you do not want to lug tents about. Good place, polite staff, well kept site."Bostin" will be back later in the year.

Room Tip: Carpark near beach if you arrive early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 532Oliver10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your very good review, we are very pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your stay at Golden Cap Holiday Park and that you were able to comment on both our camping pods and motor home facilities this gives our customers a great incite to the holiday park. The Anchor Inn which is opposite the holiday park, is only due to be closed until mid-May but there are other pubs with restaurant facilities a very short distance from the holiday park. We wish you and your family all the best and look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    63
    26
    13
    2
See reviews for
126
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Last minute change of plans for a family break saw us checking into this beautiful holiday park. The 2 bed caravan was huge and spacious and perfect for a family of 4. It really was the best accommodation of its type I have ever stayed in. The site is beautifully located with breath taking views and amazing walks. The pub is closed till May but with just a short drive to many other pubs this was not too disappointing. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The site had no onsite entertainment so for us this was perfect as we hate the amusement arcades and tacky discos you would find at other holiday parks. This really is peace, tranquility, and perfect for families who want to spend quality time together.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheets - hiring them is really expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marisae123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to read that you and your family have enjoyed your stay at Golden Cap Holiday Park and that you liked the accommodation so much. It is always a pleasure to read when families have made memories and had quality time together at one of our holiday parks. We hope you will be able to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We've stayed at this site a few times now and are never disappointed. The campsite shop is well stocked and the toilets and showers are always clean.

The best thing about this site is its location. A few metres to the beach and to the Anchor pub.

Room Tip: We've found that you need to book ahead in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveCamping99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, General Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stays at Golden Cap Holiday Park and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have returned from another stay at Golden Cap. We love this site: the close proximity of the beach, cliffs and nearby Bridport, Beer and Lyme Regis. The walk over to the Downhouse cafe is a must, this year we did it twice. - with a 9 and 12 year old and stiff gales!

We stayed in a 3 bed caravan - a few tiny niggles. The caravan wasn't especially clean-dead flies and panty liner under a bed! It would be nice to have some sharp knives. Also a draining rack would be good. Apart from that, all was lovely.

The staff are very welcoming and helpful, especially the maintenance man on his buggy who helped us a lot with our misbehaving boiler.

We all love the peace and quiet of this site and are saddened that a swimming pool and restaurant are planned, nevertheless, we will be looking forward to returning next year

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bewster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you and your family have enjoyed another stay at Golden Cap Holiday Park. I was concerned about your comments of caravan cleanliness and this has already been discussed with the team responsible for housekeeping. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed in a premier plus 2 bed caravan on this site. The double bedroom was very spacious with a wardrobe and en suite toilet and sink, the other bedroom had two skinny beds suitable for 'thin people'. The shower room was fine and the shower itself was reasonable for a caravan site. The lounge area was comfortable and had a TV which just about worked, and a fire for cool evenings. Central Heating was very efficient and warmed up the place quickly. The kitchen area was fine, there were plenty of plates, bowls etc. The cutlery was a little sparse so I would suggest if your planning on entertaining, bring some more. We took everything with us, T towels, bedding (pillows and duvets were provided). Bath mats, towels etc. if you want to sit in the sun, bring some chairs as the sun deck was mostly in the shade in our caravan. Don't expect good mobile signal, I had to go up the hill for that, the internet was just about ok, and had to be purchased and used via the shop. The beach was pebbly and very picturesque, and the view from the top of the hill was beautiful and worth the climb up. We went out of season so it was less expensive, but if your planning a holiday with young kids, it would be perfect if you love exploring the beaches. I would definitely go back in the summer. shop open each day selling essentials, Fish and chip van on Saturday nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reikiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, you have been very informative and we will look into adding more cutleries to the caravan holiday homes. We are glad that you made the most of the surrounding area; it is truly stunning standing at the top of the cliff and looking out over the Jurassic coast. We do have low, mid and high season rates and it is always worth checking out the special offers on our website. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Camped here in August with our 3 children and another family.

Lovely quiet site. Well maintained. The shower block was well maintained and always quiet.

Staff in the shop were ok would have been nice if they had not been eating whilst on duty, however the gentleman who whisked around the site on his buggy was great, very friendly and very helpful and could not do enough to help and advise which we appreciated.

The beach is on the doorstep and lovely is was wonderful to be so near the beach, and able to pop down whenever you felt like it with the children.

Disappointing fishing in the Lake but lots of people were very successful catching mackerel on the beach so we suggest taking sea rods instead.

Lovely site well worth a visit we would like to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestyCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you made the most of your stay and enjoyed some beach fishing, the fishing lake does have a good supply of fish but I guess they can be a little shy at times. It’s nice to read that a member of staff was so helpful and that they went the extra mile for you and that overall you thought Golden Cap Holiday Park was a lovely site. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton Fitzwarren, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

A jolly good place, always very friendly as usual, generally quite peaceful with great views & walks. stayed with our camper & grandson who had a great time too. kids play area not too good, not a lot there & in the wrong place we think....hidden away a bit... ...the shop is always well stocked. & the fish and chip van called at site on the very windy Saturday evening, which we all enjoyed & were well stuffed !, as was too wet & wild to walk to the pub ! most facilities were good ,could not have asked for more. & the groundsmen are also very helpful. ideal base for walking & photography.... we will there again very soon in mid season...............Malcolm

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you and your grandson enjoyed your holiday at Golden Cap Holiday Park. The children’s play area we prefer to be in that area so that children can be as noisy as they like whilst having fun and not interfering with other campers without children. We are glad that you liked the convenience shop and that you made the most of the Saturday night Fish n Chips. We look forward to welcoming you back to the holiday park soon and also please remember we also have Highlands End Holiday Park which is a short drive from Golden Cap, along the Jurassic Coastline which has 2 children’s play areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chideock
1.7 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.9 mi away
Highlands End Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Cap Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Cap Holiday Park

Property: Golden Cap Holiday Park
Address: Sea Hill Lane | DT6 6JX, Chideock, Bridport DT6 6JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Chideock
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Chideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Cap Holiday Park has a range of accommodation from touring and tent pitches to lodges, hire caravans and camping pods as well as holiday homes for sale ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Golden Cap Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Cap Holiday Park Hotel Chideock
Golden Cap Holiday Park Chideock, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing