We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Cap Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We are a family of 4 with 2 young children ( age 3 and 6) and we came for a very short break of 2 nights in a pod. What a wonderful caravan site, not only are the views breathtaking the site is clean and the staff are wonderful. The site is large but you wouldn't know it as you are not on top of each other, if you don't get a sea view you will enjoy breathtaking views of the countryside. The kids loved it too, and there is a little park (i believe 2 parks but we only went to the park situated near the pod) If your kids like the great outdoors then this is the site for you, not a stick of candy floss in sight and no busy overcrowded kids clubs with trashy entertainment and over priced bar!! (heaven!) The pod was comfortable, and matched the description on the web site, basically a wooden tent with electricity and lights, again the kids loved the adventure. Many thanks for such a lovely break, we have booked to return in August and i am sure we will be back for many years to come

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review, i am very pleased to read how much you and your family enjoyed your stay at Highlands End and made good use of our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    64
    26
    13
    2
See reviews for
127
81
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

A last minute booking, we stayed for 1 night, the site was clean and tidy. The showers were clean but the block was a little tired.
Dog friendly site.
The site is reached by a single track - luckily we did not meet any other vehicles!
The pebble beach is only a short distance from the site, the views of the Golden Cap are amazing. Great pub on the beach too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The_hammonds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are very proud of our location along the Jurassic Coast and believe that we have one of the best coastal views in the area, especially when you’re stood up on top of Golden Cap. We look forward to welcoming you back next time and hope you will be able to stay a bit longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Having just got back home after staying at golden cap I would like to write a short review. Having risked live and limb towing a caravan down the very narrow lane,which needs the hedgerow cutting badly, we found the site and its views superb.However the fishing lake requires attention ie restocking,also a good walk away from the touring site. The path down should be open to cars.Pleased to say it will not stop us visiting the site again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, the hedgerow is soon to be cut by our maintenance team and we are currently reviewing the sock levels in the fishing lake. We are very pleased that you reviewed us as a ‘Very good site’ and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was my first experience of a caravan holiday since being a child. This lived up to everything my husband said it would. We have a lovely caravan with a fantastic view of hills and the sea. The site was very quiet and just what we wanted. Everything was to a high standard and the staff in the shop were very pleasant and welcoming. They were always willing to help whenever you were unsure.

We had a couple of items in the caravan that had broken and the maintence people were there promptly and fixed it.

The caravan was well supplied and bed comfortable. One of two nights it was a bit chilly and the heating was very effective.

I discovered that I was able to use to swimming pool at the siter campsite for a small charge. This was lovely and maintained to a very high standard

The Anchor pub near the site had been closed and opened on our last night. It was very busy and the band playing were very good. We did not try the food but we were told that it was good.

Would really recommend for anyone wanting a quiet and peaceful week with lots of walks.

Room Tip: The caravans set up into the hill slightly offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdouglas1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for recommending us to others. We are very proud of our Golden Cap Holiday Park and I am pleased to read that you also ventured to the sister park (Highlands End) to use the leisure facilities. I hope you will be able to visit again soon and do keep an eye on our special offers on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed at golden Cap holiday Park many times over the last seven years and have always had a wonderful time but I am sorry to say that we are starting to see a lowering of standards on the site. All was relatively well in the week until people started to arrive on the campsite in readiness for the weekend, unfortunately there were large groups of people whose tents and gazebos and large cars quickly took over the central camping area with no adherence to the ruling on the proximity and safety of tents in case of fire. According to WDLHs own guid there should be a 3 metre gap between tents sited- there was barely 3 inches between some especially with the gazebos housing large barbecues and grills it was of real concern and so lucky that nothing untoward happened I was surprised that no member of staff ventured down to ensure that tents etc were sited correctly. the external plots of the camping area also seemed to have more tourers and motorhomes squeezed on than normal and whilst I appreciate that bank holidays are good times to make a profit surely rather than making this small camping area
overfull some could have been directed to Highlands end which is much larger.
the shower blocks etc were left in a dreadful state, no fault of staff who were no doubt doing their best, but as a result of too many people using facilities and who were clearly unaware of the normal courtesies that apply like mopping the shower area out when you have used it and picking up any litter you have left. the arrival of a 'grill van' outside the shower block was also odd - gave the area the look of a fairground camp! unfortunately for the first time ever we were rather pleased to be leaving and doubt that another camping venture will be undertaken at this campsite - especially if there is a bank holiday!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CovKid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for your comments. You are correct that a 3 meter gap should be between tents and that gazebos are not allowed. The issue has been discussed with the staff and will be monitored. The catering van has been introduced only for busy weekends, as we thought it would be a nice touch for some campers wanting a bacon roll and cup of tea in the morning. It would be a shame to lose your custom after visiting the holiday park for the last 7 years. We do hope you will return and also please remember that we also have a quaint holiday park called Graston Copse in Burton Bradstock, which is near to the coast and great for campers looking for a very peaceful holiday park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This place is magic, peace and quiet, beautiful views, clean and tidy park. If you like kiss me quick hats and slot machines this not for you. Walking is a must over every hill there is another great view. the Anchor re opens shortly which everyone is looking forward to.... cannot wait

Room Tip: all the caravans are of a very good standard, doggy ones are slightly cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HazelDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your very nice review, we are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have taken advantage of the 2,000 acres of National Trust Land that surrounds the holiday park, along with the stunning Jurassic coastline. The Anchor Inn which is opposite the holiday park is closed until mid-May but there are the other local pubs with restaurants in the village. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Visited here again since our last visit in 2013. Still a great kept place, excellent clean toilets with heating, lawns and roadways spotless with the shop well stocked for essential needs. A large supermarket in Bridport suitable for MOTORHOME parking if you need to super stock up. The pebble beech took a bit of a knock during the winter storms but is now back to normal, the local pub "Anchor" 100yards away is still being refurbished but should be soon finished where you can get a meal and refreshments.. We had a Motorhome pitch but my daughter travelled down for a few days and booked a Pod. The site has 3. A double bed and 2 singles in each, fantastic views from them and lovely and cosy at night, Recommended if you do not want to lug tents about. Good place, polite staff, well kept site."Bostin" will be back later in the year.

Room Tip: Carpark near beach if you arrive early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 532Oliver10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDLH, Manager at Golden Cap Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your very good review, we are very pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your stay at Golden Cap Holiday Park and that you were able to comment on both our camping pods and motor home facilities this gives our customers a great incite to the holiday park. The Anchor Inn which is opposite the holiday park, is only due to be closed until mid-May but there are other pubs with restaurant facilities a very short distance from the holiday park. We wish you and your family all the best and look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chideock
1.7 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
2.8 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.0 mi away
Highlands End Holiday Park
3.2 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#2 of 5 in Charmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Cap Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Cap Holiday Park

Property: Golden Cap Holiday Park
Address: Sea Hill Lane | DT6 6JX, Chideock, Bridport DT6 6JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Chideock
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Chideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Cap Holiday Park has a range of accommodation from touring and tent pitches to lodges, hire caravans and camping pods as well as holiday homes for sale ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Golden Cap Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Cap Holiday Park Hotel Chideock
Golden Cap Holiday Park Chideock, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing