We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rejuvenating Short Break”
other travellers have booked this property
Main living area looking toward the hills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main living area looking toward the hills
View from bedroom looking to ensuite bathroom - Tack Room Bedroom one - double bed ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Main living area looking toward the hills
View from bedroom looking to ensuite bathroom - Tack Room
Bedroom one - double bed ensuite
Main living area having climbed up the oak staircase
Dining area in open plan living area
Main living area looking toward kitchen area
For those who have to work whilst on holiday! Wifi available.
Bedroom two - double bed ensuite
Approaching Stable Cottage with Tack Room in foreground (door open)
Lots of local ales and ciders from the three pubs in the village - from 2 to 10 minute walk
Tack Room - separate dwelling, sleeps two and rented as part of Stable Cottage if party of six
Tack Room - ensuite bathroom
Tack Room view from bedroom to ensuite bathroom
Approach to Stable Cottage and Tack Room
Peek of the upstairs via the oak banisters!
Front of Stable Cottage
Entrance to Stable Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chideock, Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
RichardP2...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rejuvenating Short Break”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stable Cottage is wonderfully warm and comfortable. It has been cleverly converted to a high standard and the first-floor living area gives a feeling of seclusion even though it is near to the centre of the village. It is a short stroll to all of the facilities in the village and we found the local pubs friendly and welcoming. We particularly enjoyed being able to walk straight from the cottage onto the beautiful coastal paths.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Dear Richard,

Thank you so much for your review. It was pleasure to have you visit the area and I will be sure to feedback your comments to the local pubs too.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

All the best,

Carroll and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlamill...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in stunning area”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommended. Very comfortable cottage, decorated to feel like a lovely home with everything you need for your stay. The beds and sofa were really comfortable, the kitchen had the basics that are often missing from self catering properties and the cottage was quiet and warm. It felt like a relaxing, welcoming and happy place to spend a weekend exploring Dorset especially if you love walking.

The location was fantastic - a 15 min walk to the stunning coast, a host of great pubs to eat at and the view of the hills out of the lounge window was perfect. The Jurassic Coast is beautiful and there is a lot to explore within a short drive or a hike. There's no garden but so much countryside to explore to keep you busy as well as local beaches including the sandy beach at Lyme Regis.

Our visit was very well organised and we were delighted to have a little welcome package of chocolate, flowers and milk. The local shop is a 5 min walk away to stock up on food and we ate out at The Anchor, The George and The Bull and enjoyed all three meals.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your feedback - we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to share this beautiful county with you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thanks again for your review and for choosing Stable Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such comprehensive feedback Yvonne - we really appreciate it. We are thrilled you had a good time and that you managed to visit so many places (and pubs) on your visit.

Thank you for booking Stable Cottage - we would be pleased to welcome you back.

All the best,

Carroll and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helen O
Threlkeld, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for two couples”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed over Christmas and the house is perfect for two couples as there are two double beds, both en-suite. The open-plan sitting-room/kitchen worked well for us, and the owners provided lots of Christmassy stuff like tree, crackers, biscuits and a bottle. Kitchen had everything needed and whole house very clean.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased you had a good time and that the kitchen was sufficiently equipped for you. Hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thanks again - and happy new year.

Carroll and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Local area.
Liked least: Moldy beds.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Dec 2016
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your comments which we are investigating and where appropriate we will action the changes required of the sofa and beds. Unfortunately we cannot do anything regarding outside space given we live and work on site - I will check our details though as I thought this was clear - we appreciate it doesn't suit everyone and particularly guests with young children staying for nearly two weeks. We will be sure to stress this in future listings to avoid others bring disappointed in the future.

While there is little I can do regarding the mould and damp smells due to your stay being some five months ago, we will alert the cleaning company of this.

Thank you again for your comments as it helps keep us informed of changes required and therefore to improve.

Regards,

Mr & Mrs Lloyd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrw R
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Had a great time in the cottage. Awesome location 10 mins walk from beach and cliff walks. We were really lucky with weather too. The accom is well supplied and very comfortable. We have a 1 year old, we moved the sofa to block the stairs and brought our own baby chair.
Will return

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Dear Andrew,

We are so pleased the weather was kind to you and that you had a good time. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. All the best,

Carroll
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangaunt...
Pontypool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great base for exploring surrounding area”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Cottage has wonderful views from upstairs open plan living area. It's easily within walking distance of lovely Seatown and excellent Anchor Inn. On a fine day would recommend walking up to Golden Cap with 360 deg panoramas. Close to main routes but very quiet, the cottage provides a good base for exploring surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquillity.
Liked least: A minor thing, but not easy to turn (smallish) car around in gravel drive.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time in a county we adore so much; so many people charge through to get to Devon and Cornwall that they often miss a real gem! Thank you again and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing