We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“''Lovely Place, Lovely people.''”
Review of Hell Barn Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chideock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hell Barn Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“''Lovely Place, Lovely people.''”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and i stayed at Hell Barn for a two week holiday. Located just off the A35, it was an ideal place to explore the dorset countryside with our dog, Ruby. The Barn was perfect for us, lovely and quiet yet not too far from Chideock or Sea Town where there is a good beach and pub to refresh after the walk. We couldn't have found a better place. There was plenty of space, great garden for the dog to roam in. Shige and Diana were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We ate some of Shige's Japanese food on one of the evenings and this is a must, it was delicious. The local pubs also do good food and would say that the George Inn is well worth a visit.
All in all a great place to stay and looking forward to going back some day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

If you want a truly special stay, away from the hustle and bustle of urban life, then Hell Barn Cottages is the perfect place. The accommodation is just beautiful, sympathetic to the rolling Dorset hills and beautifully furnished. Hosts Diana and Shige really pull out all the stops to make your stay comfortable, and are really easy to communicate with prior to your visit, which made us feel very reassured. The gardens are so tranquil and beautifully kept, it was a real treat to have breakfast outside with just the sounds of nature around. We came away refreshed and relaxed, having had a fantastic stay. Can't recommend this place highly enough, and will come back many times again, I am sure.

Room Tip: Stayed in the studio apartment, perfect for couples who want a quiet cosy break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location of Hell Barn Cottages is idyllic. They’re at the end of a quiet country lane in the heart of the beautiful countryside in this part of Dorset. The thatched farmhouse is delightful and the cottages have been restored to a high standard. The large visitors’ garden is wonderful.
The cottages are well equipped, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had a warm welcome from Shige and Diana and, on one evening, had an authentic Japanese meal cooked by Shige and delivered to our cottage. The food was delightful and we thoroughly recommend trying it.
Hell Barn Cottages provide perfect peace and tranquillity in a lovely location and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at Hell Barn for 5 nights, what a great find. Plenty of room and facilities, everything you could want for self catering. The location is ideal for exploring the Jurassic Coast. Shige and Diana are wonderful, Shige prepared an awesome authentic Japanese meal for us that was brought to us in our cottage - what a great experience. We will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Myself & my partner stayed in the Studio Cottage for 3 nights last week - it was so lovely!
The studio was the perfect size for us, couldn't fault it at all! Diana was really friendly & helpful.
Already looking forward to booking the Studio again! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantwit Major
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in Hell Barns for the first week of September and must say it was a most enjoyable experience. The cottage was in a beautiful location and Shige and Diana were excellent hosts. We stayed in Jasmin Cottage and it provided everything we needed. It is able to sleep 6 in two bedrooms but we only used the comfortable master bedroom. All the cottages at Hell Barns have use of a lovely garden where you can sit and relax and has a barn with games etc for the children. We did not take advantage of Shige's Japanese meals but one of our neighbours did and they said the food was wonderful. There is plenty to do in the area including some great walking and many fantastic watering holes in the local villages. We can highly recommend the cottages and hope to return sometime soon. DM

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daimo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner and family stayed here in febuary 2013 and can honestly say we felt very comfortable and at home,had everything we needed,owners kindly welcomed us and even offered to get food supplies throughly enjoyable stay thank you very much hope to stay with you again :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chideock
2.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
756 reviews
3.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
484 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
163 reviews
5.8 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
36 reviews
1.7 mi away
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Morcombelake
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hell Barn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hell Barn Cottages

Property: Hell Barn Cottages
Address: Hell Farmhouse Hell Lane, Chideock, Bridport DT6 6LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Chideock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Chideock
Hotel Class:3 star — Hell Barn Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hell Barn cottages are 5 self catering cottages situated in quiet and beautiful countryside in North Chideock. It is easy access to the main road (A35), which leads to various local attractions. There is a large communal garden, games room and outside play area. Japanese food is our speciality if you would like to try it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hell Barn Cottages Chideock, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing