We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable, great location.”
Review of Norden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norden House
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very comfortable, great location.”
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We have stayed here twice this year. The rooms and beds are very comfortable and clean, with kettle, tea, coffee and buscuits, as well as TV wi-fi. The hosts and staff are very helpful and always made sure we had everything we needed. Full English breakfast is offered as well as cereals and juice. Lunch and evening meals are available in the restaurant and the quality of the food can only be described as excellent - you will not be hungry! The location is outstanding, situated in a rural area with Corfe Castle only a mile away. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and look forward to staying there again. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merseaman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    22
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Great spot about 5 minutes drive from Corfe Castle or 15 mins walk but I was horrified with the wake-up call at 5am from the cockerels, peacocks and other birds both mornings. The menagerie was about 15 metres from our window in room 5 at the front of the house.The constant noise carried on preventing further sleeping, which pretty much ruins a trip away for me. I bought earplugs the second evening after asking to be moved rooms to no avail. The owner was not particularly sympathatic, simply saying "well, it is a working farm", but just to warn anyone else who a)may be pregnant and needing to sleep or b)may just enjoy sleeping past dawn on their days off - don't go here! the campsite would be quieter and has great views, facilities, and is a fraction of the price! The owner did acknowledge the need for the b&b to offer earplugs as standard, but at £75 per sleepless night it was extremeley disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidimcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weald of kent
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Our second visit to Norden House. A beautiful house in lovely surroundings. So nice to be able to relax in room, shower, then walk downstairs to the dining room and enjoy excellent food and wine. A place where you will find a very friendly and warm welcome and we would recommend it, nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fender1WealdOfKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My husband and I stayed in this B&B in December 2010 for 4 nights. The hosts are very welcoming and warm. They always made sure if we need anything. The room was very clean and cosy. Comfortable beds, kettle, different kinds of tea and biscuits. We also were able to sit in the lounge and watch TV if we wanted to. The restaurant offers full breakfast with additional cereal and juice. The host would always offer tea or coffee, brown or white bread. In the evening, it was possible to enjoy the restaurant's food. The food quality was excellent. The B&B location is outstanding. It is situated in a rural area. Corfe Castle is situated nearby. Overall, we were happy with our stay and would definitely recommend anyone to visit Norden House.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We were directed to this hotel by Wareham Tourist Information, who said the only room available was a double room for disabled people, on the ground floor overlooking the garden. When we were shown the room it did not overlook the garden and was directly opposite the kitchen the doors of which were open to the rest of the hotel. The room itself reminded us of a hospital ward and would have been an insult to a disabled person, the decor was outdated and different from the other rooms and very claustrophobic with a view of the car park.
We were then shown two rooms and accepted a twin room which was adequate although a little outdated. We then went out for the evening and when we returned (around 11.30pm) there was an overpowering smell of burnt cooking oil, which pervaded the hallway, the upstairs landing and our bedroom. We tried to sleep with this but had burning eyes and throats despite having our window wide open and putting blankets around the bottom of the door, and keeping the fan in the bathroom on. When this became too bad to sleep we tried to alert the management by ringing the bell in the hall, but got no response. To try and alleviate matters we opened the front door on a very cold night.
The next day when we informed the proprietor, she stated that they did sometimes get fat smells downstairs in the hallway because it was "a busy working kitchen" but she denied it could have reached our room even though the room opened directly onto the first floor landing above the hallway. Clearly there are environmental health issues in this hotel as we had seen with our own eyes when we arrived that the chef was in the kitchen with the doors wide open to the rest of the hotel.
We were offered no compensation and very little sympathy.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeybeanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We decided to stay for one more night than planned on our first trip to Dorset and were fortunate to choose Norden B&B from a brochure. Our host was very helpful, and our room large, clean and had great views of the countryside. There is a large garden with seating. Only 15 mins walk away from Corfe Castle on clearly marked paths. Breakfast was great as was the evening meal. We decided on the October deal - £15 for a 3 course dinner with coffee and they are licensed.
The food was excellent and just what was needed after a long day
There is an ajoining campsite and a working farm. I was worried about the hens ect waking me in the morning but I need not have worried the double glazing works and I had a great night's sleep. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NordenHouse, Manager at Norden House, responded to this review, 20 November 2010
Thank you very much for your positive review, really happy that you enjoyed Norden house and look forward to seeing you again, Many thanks form all of us at Norden House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This is lovely guest house, the staff were so accommodating, warming milk for our young daughter whatever the hour. Breakfast was lovely (you will not need lunch after it) and a great location, just ten minutes from the famous Studland beach and you can walk to Corfe Castle which is stunning and we all loved Monkey World too. Highly recommend this we will be returning next year. We drove ten minutes to Wareham for our evening meals for great pub grub too. Perfect base and lovely to return to after a long day.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Corfe Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norden House

Property: Norden House
Address: Norden House On the A351, 1 Mile From Corfe Castle | Norden Farm, Wareham, Corfe Castle BH20 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Corfe Castle
Hotel Class:4 star — Norden House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norden House is a Georgian Farm House newly refurbished into a beautiful self-catering letting house to comfortably sleep fourteen, and set within its own grounds overlooking the ruins of Corfe Castle in Dorset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Norden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norden House Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing