We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally situated for many attractions in the area.”
Review of Norden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norden House
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is an ideal place for grandparents to stay while their family are on the campsite. It is very well situated for all the lovely attractions in the area. There is a good bus service and the train is only 5 mins walk away.
Norden House is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are excellent. A good start for the day.
Our room was very comfortable, only complaint was the television.....no digital or free view in the area yet. We only wanted to see the news when we came in.....
We were well looked after by a very pleasant owner.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyB135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Norden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

Four of us stayed at the house for a short break and it was excellent. Paul and Giselle made us immediately welcome and answered initial questions. We had rooms 4 and 5. Both were very comfortable with good beds and masses of towels. Food was fresh, well cooked and presented. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Being on a working farm added interest and did not disturb our sleep at all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldHand49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Norden House is a B&B on a working farm which also has a campsite, caravan park and garden centre. Five days a week (Tuesday to Saturday) the restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. A great boon to residents, campers and others. The food is excellent, as is the breakfast provided for residents, which includes fruit salad and yoghurts as well as the usual cereal and fruit juice. The full English breakfast consists of 7 individual items. You may have the lot or choose! The room was bright and well furnished with plenty of storage and clean and comfortable. Three sizes of towels provided! As it's a working farm there was a dawn chorus of cockeral, peacocks and pigeons but that didn't prove a problem as we were able to doze off again until breakfast which was available up to 9.30am. and to us the sounds only added to the ambience of the place. The house is well placed for all the tourist sites in Dorset and is a short walk away from the terminus of the Swanage railway, which also provides park and ride facilities. We found everyone very friendly and helpful and would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pengelly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We have stayed here twice this year. The rooms and beds are very comfortable and clean, with kettle, tea, coffee and buscuits, as well as TV wi-fi. The hosts and staff are very helpful and always made sure we had everything we needed. Full English breakfast is offered as well as cereals and juice. Lunch and evening meals are available in the restaurant and the quality of the food can only be described as excellent - you will not be hungry! The location is outstanding, situated in a rural area with Corfe Castle only a mile away. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and look forward to staying there again. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merseaman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Great spot about 5 minutes drive from Corfe Castle or 15 mins walk but I was horrified with the wake-up call at 5am from the cockerels, peacocks and other birds both mornings. The menagerie was about 15 metres from our window in room 5 at the front of the house.The constant noise carried on preventing further sleeping, which pretty much ruins a trip away for me. I bought earplugs the second evening after asking to be moved rooms to no avail. The owner was not particularly sympathatic, simply saying "well, it is a working farm", but just to warn anyone else who a)may be pregnant and needing to sleep or b)may just enjoy sleeping past dawn on their days off - don't go here! the campsite would be quieter and has great views, facilities, and is a fraction of the price! The owner did acknowledge the need for the b&b to offer earplugs as standard, but at £75 per sleepless night it was extremeley disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heidimcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Our second visit to Norden House. A beautiful house in lovely surroundings. So nice to be able to relax in room, shower, then walk downstairs to the dining room and enjoy excellent food and wine. A place where you will find a very friendly and warm welcome and we would recommend it, nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fender1WealdOfKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My husband and I stayed in this B&B in December 2010 for 4 nights. The hosts are very welcoming and warm. They always made sure if we need anything. The room was very clean and cosy. Comfortable beds, kettle, different kinds of tea and biscuits. We also were able to sit in the lounge and watch TV if we wanted to. The restaurant offers full breakfast with additional cereal and juice. The host would always offer tea or coffee, brown or white bread. In the evening, it was possible to enjoy the restaurant's food. The food quality was excellent. The B&B location is outstanding. It is situated in a rural area. Corfe Castle is situated nearby. Overall, we were happy with our stay and would definitely recommend anyone to visit Norden House.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.0 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
950 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodyhyde Campsite
Woodyhyde Campsite
#3 of 4 in Corfe Castle
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Scott Arms
The Scott Arms
#7 of 10 in Corfe Castle
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Corfe Castle
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norden House

Address: Norden House On the A351, 1 Mile From Corfe Castle | Norden Farm, Wareham, Corfe Castle BH20 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Corfe Castle
Hotel Class:4 star — Norden House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norden House is a Georgian Farm House newly refurbished into a beautiful self-catering letting house to comfortably sleep fourteen, and set within its own grounds overlooking the ruins of Corfe Castle in Dorset. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norden House Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing