We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of Norden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norden House
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had a lovely stay at Norden House, the food was good, especially the breakfast, and the room was clean and comfortable and nicely furnished.

We visited Corfe Castle which you can see from the gardens.

The house is gracious, being a Georgian farmhouse.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

we have just come back from Norden Farm campsite ...great place even in the rain , we telephone ahead to check pitch availability and were told it was a bit flooded and to call the next morning .Great pitch available , we arrived it was very wet but a nice guy showed us to our pitch , well all it did was rain rain rain ( A months worth in 2 days with major flooding in the area) but we made the most of it .
We took our Spaniel with us and she was extremely muddy after her walk but they had a pooch parlour fantastic a dedicated wet room with warm shower to wash her off .All the staff seemed friendly and they had a great farm shop very well stocked fabulous free range eggs and great stock of caravan/camping spares also lots of animals to look at and great showers and toilet facilities
Would I recommend Norden Farm absolutley and we will go back soon and hopefully it will be dry

Room Tip: take wellies if wet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Just had two weeks at Norden Farm, the third time we have been there. The facilities on the campsite are excellent but sometimes abused by the campers themselves! The toilet and shower blocks are always very clean. There are several fields to choose from but as mentions by another contributor, Donkey Field is the most sheltered.

Norden House is run by the same family and is a guest house and restaurant, they do breakfasts for damp campers as well as their own guests and we went there for Sunday lunch. The welcome was excellent and the service from the owner and the waitress was wonderful. The food was perfectly cooked and well presented. I would recommend both the campsite and house to anyone planning a visit to the Corfe Castle area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKA_Wiccan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here last week and you get what you pay for. On the site, it states it's a working farm so of course there'll be farm animals making noise. Make the most of it! The petting zoo was great (but don't visit it in flip flops!). The animals made for an entertaining week stay.

Onto Norden House... Wow. The good was amazing and the staff were absolutely lovely. Make sure you try the Joe's Cider. Absolutely delicious. Their lasagne is pretty tasty too.

Room Tip: Donkey Field is very sheltered and near the lovely curly haired piggies! Saw a wild deer in this fie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retroriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We have just spent a wonderful four days at Norden House with the family, it was wonderful, rooms were comfortable and well serviced, breakfast was great, we didn't need lunch !!!!, dinner was very good, smallish menu but it was all fresh food and the daily specials were a good choice.Staff were friendly and helpful. Home from home. Well situated for Corfe Castle, Kimmeridge,Swanage and Wareham..loved it and will definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

A gorgeous setting just outside Corfe Castle. A 15 - 20 minute walk (in flip flops) to the town, quicker if you wore proper shoes! The walk is through wooded areas - so if you wanted to walk in the dark you would need a good torch!

We didn't feel the need to go out in the evenings - the food was amazing, huge portions and tasted just like a proper home cooked meal.

There is so much choice on the menu it was truely amazing.

The bedrooms were a little outdated - but to be honest this just added to the character of the building. I have seen some negative comments on here about the cockerels - yes they did wake us in the morning, but what do you expect from the country side?!?!? The cockerels and peacocks added to the character of the whole place.

We were visiting the area for family reasons and Giselle made us all feel incredibly welcome and there was nothing which was too much trouble.

Breakfast was just as big, with so much choice again.

We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house are quieter - room 3 had beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nookand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We have just return from a stay at Norden House. Cannot fault the whole experience.

The Manager was so helpful and friendly - made us feel as if we were coming home. All meals,were freshly made and delicious, including much locally sourced produce from the farm where the B & B was located. The rooms were comfortable and clean with wonderful views of the surrounding area.

The location is picturesque, and perfect for all types of travellers; ideal for trips to nearby Corfe Castle as well as Monkey World and the tank museum.

We will definitely recommend this accomodation and will return.

Room Tip: All rooms had lovely views, especially room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.0 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
965 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodyhyde Campsite
Woodyhyde Campsite
#3 of 4 in Corfe Castle
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Scott Arms
The Scott Arms
#9 of 10 in Corfe Castle
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Corfe Castle
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norden House

Address: Norden House On the A351, 1 Mile From Corfe Castle | Norden Farm, Wareham, Corfe Castle BH20 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Corfe Castle
Hotel Class:4 star — Norden House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norden House is a Georgian Farm House newly refurbished into a beautiful self-catering letting house to comfortably sleep fourteen, and set within its own grounds overlooking the ruins of Corfe Castle in Dorset. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norden House Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing