We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay and food in the most beautiful of settings!”
Review of Norden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norden House
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay and food in the most beautiful of settings!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have booked to have my wedding at Norden House due to the exquisite surroundings, at the base of Corfe Castle. So myself and my fiancé booked ourselves in for a night B&B to see what it was like and were not disappointed. On arrival Matt the gentleman who runs Norden House was very happy to show us to our room and help with our luggage, offered us with refreshments and enquired whether we wanted to eat in the restaurant that evening. We decided this would be our easy option as wanted a nice relaxing trip but it turned out to be amazing. The food was reasonably priced but worthy of some of the posh hotels I have stayed in. We were then offered some drinks outside in the gardens looking at Corfe Castle and these were brought out to us, wine was in an ice bucket which you very rarely get these days. I must say that I had one of the best nights sleep due to Norden House being in such a peaceful destination. And awoke in the morning with the sounds of the resident peacocks which I thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast again 'full English breakfast' was amazing and superfast. There were 3 waitress staff on so no trying to wave down a member of the breakfast staff for a refill of coffee as I so often experience in bigger hotels. I must say that apart from the wedding we will also bare Norden House in mind for when we want a peaceful break away in the purbecks.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    22
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Have just come back from 2 nights at Norden House and I couldn't fault it. From the welcome to leaving, the host, Martin ( I think) couldn't do enough. the room was super, well equipped, lovely ein suite, great bed, all in all perfect. The breakfast though is something else. It's the full works, plus fried bread ( on request ). I didn't eat again untill mid afternoon! Overall as good as I could have expected and I will be back to pay it another visit.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

A large group of friends took over this lovely B&B to celebrate the New Year. The rooms were spacious, very clean and extremely well appointed, with en-suite facilities.
The owner was extremely helpful, providing us with useful local information and also put a fridge at our disposal for the chilling of our new year libations!
The people in Dorset generally were extremely helpful and welcoming wherever we went; and we did manage to visit quite a few of the local pubs! Had we been aware beforehand we may well have joined the townspeople of Swanage in fancy dress for the celebrations. It was all very festive and entertaining! Fantastic place, thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMPridham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Found this little gem of a place on Late rooms, From the moment we walked through the door we we're made to feel welcome, staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Food was outstanding and a high standard of cleanliness through out. excellent value for money. Definitely will be going back there.

Les & Dee

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Norden House is not bad, but really not worth the money. There's just nothing particularly good to say. It is a clean enough, perfunctory place to stay in a very pretty part of the country. The rooms could do with some updating. Dodgy old shower, cardboardy duvet and pillows, cheapest bit of latherless soap going ..... It's all a bit tired and lacking atmosphere. For the price, and i don't mind paying a lot more in fact for something special, it's simply bland and disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UiUiUiUi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NordenHouseTeam, Manager at Norden House, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your response. we are deeply sorry that you did not find Norden House to your liking and that you did not engage with any member of our team at the time of your stay to make us aware of any issues. we would like to find out when you actually stayed and what room you stayed in. we do our best at Norden House to make sure everyone has a pleasant stay and we would like to discuss your stay in a bit more detail with ourselves. we would appreciate it if you could contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stumbled on this place by chance when looking for a venue for a family get-together. It didn't disappoint. Run by a lovely couple for whom nothing is too much trouble, and well-supported by very obliging and helpful staff, we wanted for nothing. Good food, great hospitality and lovely surroundings close to lots of places of interest and an easy walk to the nearby steam railway station at Norden.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 3 have dual aspect and look out over the lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We arrived on Friday and checked in via the shop. The welcome was friendly and professional. We found a lovely spot on the top field - flat with lots of space between the tents. Some friends had decided last week to join us but had been told that the campsite was full. Whilst is was a shame for us, actually it was wonderful to note that they were not like other campsites that will keep cramming people in.

The field had beautiful views of the hills. There are two shower / toilet blocks. The ones nearest the top field were always clean and never busy. These were more basic but still ok. The ones nearer the main entrance were fantastic for a campsite. The showers were hot and powerful. They were busier that the other block but well worth the wait. We also used the family room to give our little one a bath and this was very appreciated.

On site there is a food hut that sells great breakfast rolls in the morning (locally sourced food) and in the evening home made takeaway food of a high standard.

When we arrived on the Friday there was another shack selling hog roast and roast lamb - what a wonderful treat after putting up the tent.

We had dinner at the B&B and the food was superb. This was a highlight of the trip as our little one walked back in the dark with her torch.

Being a farm there are lots of animals for the children to see, pet and feed.

Even though the site was full, it was not too busy and was lovely and quiet at night. It helps that the type of people that stay here are respectful families.

Having stayed at Herston on a previous trip (appalling, appalling, appalling) this site has restored our faith in camping. Wonderful.

We will be back, this is what campsites should all be like.

Room Tip: Top field has beautiful views and is lovely and flat though further away from the main services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corfe Castle hotels
0.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
938 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Scott Arms
The Scott Arms
#7 of 10 in Corfe Castle
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Corfe Castle
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodyhyde Campsite
Woodyhyde Campsite
#3 of 4 in Corfe Castle
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norden House

Property: Norden House
Address: Norden House On the A351, 1 Mile From Corfe Castle | Norden Farm, Wareham, Corfe Castle BH20 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Corfe Castle
Hotel Class:4 star — Norden House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norden House is a Georgian Farm House newly refurbished into a beautiful self-catering letting house to comfortably sleep fourteen, and set within its own grounds overlooking the ruins of Corfe Castle in Dorset. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norden House Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing