We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knaveswell Farm
Nearby Hotels
Mortons House Hotel(Corfe Castle)
US$242
US$234
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bankes Arms Hotel(Corfe Castle)(Great Value!)
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knoll House Hotel(Studland Bay)
US$171
US$166
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pig on the Beach(Studland Bay)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
35
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscollecting eggswood fired stoveplenty of spacejopigscalvestentsfeedingscrapsbedsswanagewalksluxury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We came back from a midweek stay at Knaveswell yesterday and had the best time ever. So much so that the children have already started a jar to save for another trip. We took our children - 9yrs, 7 yrs and 21 months and both sets of Grandparents plus auntie and uncle came too, making us 3 tents in total. The location is superb (next time we are planning a week's trip as we still had so much we want to see in the local area - the model village and Lulworth cove are great if you have children), Paul and Jo are lovely, very welcoming and helpful and our older two boys had a great time grooming the shetland ponies with Issy. None of us wanted to leave - even the boys said they wanted to stay forever, and from two lads who love games consoles and TV, that is high praise indeed. Our youngest ran around the whole time, watching the chickens, playing in the sandpit and just generally getting grubby and loved it when we bathed him in a big plastic tub by candle light in front of the wood burning stove, in fact if there'd been room I would have joined him!. The children got to feed the lambs, calves, pigs and chickens and our middle son was thrilled when his patience waiting by the chicken coop paid off and he was rewarded with a freshly laid egg for his tea.The tents are fab, the beds are soooooooooooo comfy, everything was really well thought out. Relaxing, great value for money, just superb, in fact so wonderful that I almost didn't write this review as part of me wants to keep it all a secret !

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Barnesbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Have stayed at a few featherdowns - the children and the adults all love it. The kids are fully occupied all the time so it is very relaxing. The only down side with this feather down is the wood chip around the tents. It doesn't matter once the kids have got past the crawling stage. We took a 5 year old and a 8 month old. The little one was absolutley filthy the whole time - beyond normal farm dirt.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
4  Thank Mina18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

MYself wife and three small sons spent a midweek brak at Knaveswell farm last September childrens ages four and a half, 2 and a half and six months and walking.
We had the very best time and cant recomend this sort of holidasy highly enough. Our children loved every minute including bathing in a bucket in front of the wood burner. the peace and quiet of it all is great and really slows down your pace of life for a few days. If you can convince other freinds with families to go to the same featerdown farm with you for camp fire and wood oven evening its even better setling down with a hunk of local cheddar and some local cider. my only advice would be to take a mosquito net if you are worried about the odd spider. apart from that it was fault less. The kids loved feeding the animals and watching the cows milked with local sights to see and beaches to visit its just great.

check out the featherdown farm days web site for a glimse of whats on offer, may look a little pricey but honestly worth every penny

go on give it a try.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank blueboing101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Great experience for all the family, i wont repeat what others have said so i will try to give you tips and the few negative points to help you.
1: you cant arrive before 4pm,and you have to wheel barrow your things to the tent
2: you also pick up your bed linen on arrival and have to make the beds(this is abit of a pain as we had to make at least 3 trips with the wheel barrows and unpack as well and the kids were getting hungry etc)And you have to strip all the beds at the end of the holiday and take the linen back upto the farm (more wheel barrow trips!)
3:you have to light the stove which takes about an hour to get really warm(longer to cook on)
4:make sure you order a stew for the first night (we didnt and wished we had)
5:there are showers but its just a porto loo shower block ,no electric power to it or sinks to wash face and teeth
6:There was only 4 candals in our tent and no more supplied so bring your own(also bring tea lights and matches and a mirror)
7:The honesty shop is ok but more expensive then the supermarket,it does do fresh bread though.
8:if you have a small travel bbq bring it (they charge £5 to hire theirs)
These are all minor points really and if they changed them would make the holiday even better.The experience is great ,kids had a ball(didnt come to bed untill 11pm every night)
there are two feilds with tents in ,we were in the second which had 4 tents in it which was great we had our own chickens which the kids loved.we all had an amazing time and are going to book for a week next summer(and i hate camping!! so it must be good)

Hopefully my tips will help so there wont be any surprises! dont be put off it is a great family holiday,happy camping!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank daisyduke33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We all know that children just love camping - the freedom, the fresh air, the new friends and the informality. Unfortunately I lost interst sometime in my late twenties - once I discovered ensuite bathrooms. But this is camping with a diffierence. The difference being you dont have to give up the comforts of home - namely a comfortable double bed and space to sit and eat -even when its raining - which it inevitably does from time to time in Dorset. That said this isnt the cheapest campsite in the country - but it is the most pleasant that I have ever stayed at.

On top of the facilities, younger campers can help out at calf feeding time or check whether the site's hens have laid enough eggs for breakfast. With personal coaching from Jo its not surprising that kids develop a personal passion for animals and their environment. We had a great time and would say this is just ideal for families with kids aged from 5 to 15 - or adults who want to play too.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank firstimer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews