We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant breakfasts”
Review of Alford House B&B

Alford House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corfe Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alford House B&B
Ranked #6 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Lovely bed and breakfast - Susie is very hospitable from the moment of making the booking to when you check out!
We stayed in the smaller room towards the back of the house which was cosy, comfy, clean nicely decorated and just what we wanted!
Breakfast was fab - a huge range including a very tasty full english (we chose scrambled eggs and highly recommend!) which Susie cooks to perfection - she is very good at making sure you eat plenty of breakfast so you are set for the day!
There is also a large range of maps, books and DVDs which you can borrow from the breakfast room.
It is only a short walk into the town centre of Corfe Castle - either through the common or along the main street, where there are a few nice pubs.
Corfe Castle is in an ideal location if you want to visit any of the Jurassic Coast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19jules76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

A nice B&B and Susie clearly goes to a lot of trouble to trouble to accommodate the individual needs of her guests. Both the welcome cup-of-tea and the fresh milk for later were very much appreciated.

Corfe Castle itself was very busy when we stayed - well it is a very attractive place and it was a Bank Holiday so that's not too surprising - but it did mean there was a bit of traffic noise in our room. (And strangely some noise from the water heater.)

But still, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

A small B&B in a large imposing and good looking stone house.Nicely furnished breakfast room/lounge with lots of books and maps of the area. I had a really nice cosy en-suite bedroom at the rear of the property. Comfortable bed allowed an excellent nights sleep.Very good breakfast. Nothing too much trouble for Susie, the owner. Excellent pub serving very good food close by.

Room Tip: Room at the back is smaller (but not small) than that at the front but is probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicestershireYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Not much to add to previous travellers reviews. We asked for a quiet room and were given the one at the back. Only complaint was that the bed was rather hard. i appreciate this is a personal thing and you can't please everyone.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Lovely b&b had all the necessary essentials for good 3 day stay within easy reach of everything
nothing too much ttouble for Susie.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noneedforspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed for two nights with my boyfriend. We had the small room at the back. It was cosy and very warm, with enough space for a short break. The room was immaculate and Susie was a lovely host. Yummy breakfast, with plenty of choice and it was nice to chat to her about the local area. There is a large selection on books, maps and some DVDs available to borrow, which is a great touch. The TV was small, but we didn't go there to watch the television all day! Finally, it was lovely to walk over the common to get into the village instead of down the road.

Corfe Castle is a fantastic village too - I would highly recommend Cleale's of Corfe for all manner of commodities and gifts.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, go for the small room at the back, but for a more spacious room the one over-look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obrien_madelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Alford House is situated on the edge of Corfe Castle but within a short stroll of all the village amenities. There is ample off street parking. One of the attractions of the property is that guests have their own entrance and can come and go at will. There are three letting bedrooms and a guest dining /sitting room with lots of books and DVDs. We were very comfortable for our 3 night stay in the rear bedroom overlooking the garden. It is sometimes difficult to get wifi in old stone properties but we had no problems. The breakfast was excellent and it was nice to be served fresh friut salad and home made jams.

Susie Mitchell was a very welcoming host who provided much helpful information about local attractions. We have no hestiation in recommending this B & B.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corfe Castle hotels
0.3 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Corfe Castle
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Scott Arms
The Scott Arms
#10 of 10 in Corfe Castle
122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Woodyhyde Campsite
Woodyhyde Campsite
#3 of 4 in Corfe Castle
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alford House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alford House B&B

Address: 120 122 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alford House Bed and Breakfast is a family run B&B situated in the picturesque village of Corfe Castle. The village is central to the Isle of Purbeck, an ideal location from which to explore the many nearby places of interest, including: the sandy beaches at Studland and Swanage, Wareham, Lulworth Cove, Durdle Door and the Jurassic Coast (a UNESCO World Heritage Site). Alford House dates back to the 17th Century and, until the mid 1980s, the property was a local grocery store known as Driscoll's. Alford House was refurbished by ourselves, and we now live in one part of the house with a separate area for B&B. For guests there is private, off-road parking and your own private entrance into the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alford House B&B Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing