We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Alford House B&B

Alford House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corfe Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alford House B&B
Ranked #6 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We have just returned from 3 nights at Alford House. The B&B is situated in a great location. A couple of good pubs to eat locally. Sue was an excellent host, couldn't do enough for you to make your stay welcome. The only down side was the size of the Kimmerage room, we would recommend you stay in the larger Dancing Ledge room at the front of the property. Breakfasts were good with cereal, yoghurt, fruit and full English Breakfast. We would certainly return should we visit the area again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshirelass010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

we spent two nights at alford house it is well situated to walk into corfe village only 5 mins.
our room ( the kimeridge) was very brihgt and clean with ensuite shower room.exellent host serving a very good Breakfast to start the day. there are a few nice pubs close by to eat the greyhound in the square. and the new inn at church knowel .if you are looking for a b&b in this area with loads of walking closeby look no further.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysfourtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Suzie, even though she was not home, gave us easy access to B&B which was very helpful. If you visit try to walk over the Commons around the back of the B&B to the town - very pretty little walk. Recently renovated but maintaining the original character. Very clean. DVD player in room, which DVDs that can be borrowed to watch - a nice touch. Nice helpful folder in room on local attractions and eateries and shops. Close to town & Corfe Castle. Breakfast was nice - good selection of fruits, cereals, yoghurts and option of cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We have just returned from a weekend stay at a 'Bed & Breakfast' called Alford House in Corfe Castle, Dorset, England. We had a highly memorable trip, and had a hugely enjoyable stay in what is a very comfortable and well located B&B. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome and we were also impressed with the high quality accommodation and very tasty breakfasts! Sue Mitchell, the properietor, is very efficient and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for her. Corfe Castle is well worth a visit and is, in fact, a very picturesque village, and there's lots to do and explore locally. If you're looking for a great weekend away or to spend a few days in this pretty part of England, then I doubt you'd find a better place to stay than this. We'll certainly be going back to Corfe Castle and especially to Alford House.

  • Liked — Recently refurbished and very comfortable bedrooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cairns747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.3 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
918 reviews
3.6 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
4.5 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
907 reviews
6.6 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.3 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alford House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alford House B&B

Property: Alford House B&B
Address: 120 122 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alford House Bed and Breakfast is a family run B&B situated in the picturesque village of Corfe Castle. The village is central to the Isle of Purbeck, an ideal location from which to explore the many nearby places of interest, including: the sandy beaches at Studland and Swanage, Wareham, Lulworth Cove, Durdle Door and the Jurassic Coast (a UNESCO World Heritage Site). Alford House dates back to the 17th Century and, until the mid 1980s, the property was a local grocery store known as Driscoll's. Alford House was refurbished by ourselves, and we now live in one part of the house with a separate area for B&B. For guests there is private, off-road parking and your own private entrance into the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alford House B&B Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing