We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice B and B ”
Review of Olivers - CLOSED

Olivers
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Olivers is proud to be open once again under new management since June 2013. Serving high quality, Fairtrade coffee and food made with fresh, locally sourced ingredients. Our menu will certainy leave you asking... "What will I have next time?" We hope to see you soon for a coffee, some cake and a chat!
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really nice B and B ”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights at Olivers basically because of trip advisor reviews. Very pleasantly surprised! Lovely room , very welcoming and helpful hosts and the best full English ever! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Albion1968gaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the review too. Kas does like to make sure no-one leaves hungry from the breakfast table really. Glad you liked us. See you again hopefully. Thanks again Leigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    20
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
highcliffe
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Probably the best cream tea in the land”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

For many years, my wife and I used to travel to Simonsbath (North Devon) as a particular restaurant there served up excellent Cream Teas.

Olivers at Corfe are the first restaurant that we have found which better the Simonsbath ones.

The scones at Olivers are excellent. Their very large size is matched by both their taste and texture, and accompanied by generous helpings of jam and, most importantly, clotted cream.

Olivers is a very short walk from the centre of the village, but if you want an excellent cream tea, then I recommend you to go there

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrysview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
So very glad you found us and that we ticked all the right boxes on the scones for you. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Davinia will be absolutely chuffed to bits with the praise for her skills. Thank you. Leigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Just had cream teas, service and food were perfect and good value. Generous amount of clotted cream and jam, the scone was warm and homemade, and plenty of tea.

The decor is nice and everything was clean.

Would definitely come back.

Helpful?
Thank crossen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Many Thanks for writing a review for us. Davinia will be glad you liked the scones - she makes them using her Mums own recipe and with the right quality ingredients and her experience, can't be beaten really ( that's my view anyway - I guess I am slightly biased though!) Thank you again for taking the time to write a review for us. regards leigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I hate coleslaw but I ate every last bit of the Oliver's version. Unusual paninis (I had apple, manchego and some delicious chutney), honesty priced. Would come back like a shot.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Olivers for us. Glad you liked the paninis, we do try and look for combinations that are slightly different but work together somehow. Thanks again. Leigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent B&b”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this excellent b&b, and enjoyed the hospitality of Paul and Leigh. The Cromwell room we were given was beautifully clean and the breakfasts great, what more could we ask for? Friendly and helpful advice was given when needed. Corfe Castle is certainly a lovely spot to visit too and Olivers handily positioned.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyonsjulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
You are very kind and thank you for writing a review about Olivers for us. Really glad you enjoyed your stay and the village too. Regards Leigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olivers also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing