We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olivers made our day...”
Review of Olivers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olivers
Ranked #1 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just a quick note to say thank you; My family and I wandered out of Corfe Castle and went in to a couple of the Coffee shops near the entrance, which were all packed... However a teeny stroll up the road was well worth it and made our day.

We just stopped in for lunch, but the guy behind the bar was really polite and friendly, exceptionally helpful (including saving us from a near death experience with a butterfly), and the food was fantastic, and brilliantly priced.

Kids food was perfect for them, and our Panini's were delicious. Coffee, Cold Drinks, AND Cake later... we all walked away with smiles.

Many Thanks to Olivers for brightening our day; we were very happy we found you! x

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllaPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

You are very kind and we are glad you found us too! Glad to know the service and the food hit the right spot and I know Matt will be chuffed to bits with the praise. It's really nice to hear it directly from the customer, so Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

This Guest House is slap bang in the middle of Corfe Castle village, minutes to local pubs, shops and the castle. We stayed for two very enjoyable nights, The rooms are spotless and have everything you would need for a relaxing break. Leigh went out of her way to ensure that our stay was perfect. The separate entrance by the side of the tea rooms makes coming and going very easy, especially if coming in late at night. Breakfast is served in the tea rooms before they open to the public and was excellent, no requests were too much trouble. Would certainly recommend to anyone looking for a good value, comfortable place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you - I really can't express enough my appreciation for you in taking the time to write a review for us. So glad you found our place up to standard and that you had the kind of break you were looking for. Many Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have just come back from a week in Dorset, obviously staying at Olivers.
We have stayed at a few b&bs in Corfe and a lot more around the country, Olivers is hands down the best. It is far more than a standard b&b, it is hotel quality.
Firstly, the b&b accommodation has a separate entrance to the side of the cafe, through a covered courtyard and up some steps. Outside the b&b rooms is a decked area with tables and chairs where you can sit, we used it a couple of evenings to sit and have a drink.
Next in through a main door to a lovely hallway where two of the rooms are, Charles 1 and Bingham. There is a fridge in the hallway for customer use, which is very helpful. A selection of books and dvds to borrow.
Upstairs are the other two rooms Bankes and Cromwell.
We stayed in Bingham, a lovely big airy room. This room can be a twin but the zip and link beds can be put together to make a superking, The bed was very comfortable. The furniture in the room is good quality. Lots of hanging space, ironing board, decent size TV. Good size shower room. They leave added extras in the rooms that make it much more hotel quality. A bottle of mineral water on each bedside cabinet. A box of tissues, little mint chocolates and hand wash and shower gel in the bathroom. It was lovely having the all the privacy of a hotel and all the personal touch of a b&b. Finally, the food. The breakfasts were superb and dont miss the cafe. They serve tasty lunches that are totally different to anything else in the village.
Reading this you would think I was being paid to write this review, its just that Olivers is Simply the best.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter. One room has a window in the bathroom, ask Leigh when booking. The biggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artdeco27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Your review made me smile all over my face after a very long and warm day in the Coffee house. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at Olivers and for letting us know we are going in the right direction. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We visited the lovely scenic village of Corfe in Dorset for a week-end stay in late July 2013 and booked Olivers for our B&B requirements.



On arrival we were greeted by the owners Leigh and Paul. Our reception by them was warm and cordial and Paul took our bags up to our top floor room – “Cromwell”. Olivers had the look and feel of a premises that had only just been completely refurbished - the decor was tasteful and unblemished. General cleanliness of the whole establishment was of a very high standard. There were also small extras such as tea/coffee and hot chocolate, bottled water and chocolates in our room, replenished every day.



Breakfast was a credit to Leigh & Paul with a good selection cereals, juices, jams and spreads and, yoghourts. These were all before you could, in addition, choose from the cooked breakfast menu that offered 4 or 5 selections. We chose “The Full English” breakfast and that set us up handsomely for the day. Indeed we didn’t feel hungry until early evening.



Throughout our short stay, Leigh, Paul and their staff were solicitous of our needs & forthcoming with recommendations and guidance. Corfe castle was stunning with it’s in-castle displays and events and just a couple of minutes walk from Olivers.



The local steam train station, also a few minutes walk away, was a boon. Not only a trip down memory lane but we could leave our car in the village when we wanted to visit Swanage. Trains were every hour we think.



Overall Corfe and the surrounding area was most enjoyable. Somewhere we intend to visit again and when we do the only place to stay will be Olivers where we know the welcome will be just as friendly and welcoming as the first time!



Many thanks once again Leigh and Paul.

Regards

Libby & Barry

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Hello, thank you for the review of Olivers and for the village too. We are really lucky to have such a beautiful place to live and appreciate your compliments on our home very much. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Olivers as well. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Leigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights and will definitely be going back. The room was exceptional and had everything you would expect and more! (Tv, ironing facilities, tea/coffee in room, plenty of room for clothes, wifi). They even leave little chocolates with your water by the side of the bed which is a nice touch! It's a short walk from Corfe and so perfectly placed. It doesn't have dedicated parking unfortunately but there is a very large car park not far away which is relatively cheap (£5 all day and free if you only want to park there over night). Leigh (the owner/manager?) is very friendly (but noticeably very busy). Breakfast was first class - great choice, well presented and good quality. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Hello and thank you for the write up on Olivers. I really appreciate the time and thoughts that have gone into the review. It's so helpful to us to know where we are doing things right and where we need to improve. Many thanks. Leigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I were looking to book a B&B for a wedding which was taking place near Corfe Castle. Leigh was very helpful when booking via email and we made a reservation for Friday and Saturday night. However, Leigh soon realised that she had double booked one of the rooms on the Saturday night - she couldn't apologise enough. Leigh went well beyond what could reasonably be expected in such a situation and arranged accommodation for us at a nearby alternative location for the Saturday, even taking our bags there after breakfast on Saturday morning! Speaking of breakfast, the full English is one of the best I have ever had at a B&B, delicious bacon, tasty sausage and the scrambled egg with a touch of cream was very moorish. The room was very comfortable, we had a great night's sleep and it looked as if all of the rooms had been recently refurbished. Thanks again Leigh, we had a great time - I would definitely recommend Olivers to anyone looking for a place to stay in Corfe Castle.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cromwell which was perfect - as long as you can handle a steepish staircase!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for the generous review (considering the mess up!) I appreciate very much the time taken and you were very gracious with your feedback. I hope the wedding was everything the bride hoped for and the weather held off until after the photos! I hope the room at the hotel met expectations too. Thank you very much for the review. Leigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

New owners since our last visit to Corfe we had lunch which consisted of beef open sandwich and open dorset crab sandwich both were well presented and freshly made coffee was as best we have had anywhere well worth a visit as service was excellent well done really enjoyed our visit.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Hello and Thank you. I appreciate very much any customers who give feedback on how we are doing, particularly when the team have given great service, they quite often go on to trip advisor to see the reviews for themselves so will be talking about this one by tomorrow, it makes their efforts mean something. Thank you again Leigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.1 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
963 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
953 reviews
4.5 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
473 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.2 mi away
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Corfe Castle
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivers

Address: 5 West Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Price Range: £105 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olivers 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 4 delightful and tastefully decorated bedrooms that will also satisfy those who enjoy a decent shower with their modern en-suite facilities. Our guests can access the B & B via their own door (we live next door so you get to come and go as you please!) We serve breakfast that includes everything from fresh seasonal fruit to a traditional full cooked fry-up (only we grill it and won't fry anything unless you ask us to!). We also offer a range of options for those who have alternative dietary needs or preferences. Our double fronted Purbeck stone building, which dates back to 1833 sits in the heart of the village just off the main square and has all the charm and beauty you would expect of a traditional village location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Olivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivers Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing