We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay”
Review of Olivers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olivers
Ranked #1 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have just returned from our second excellent stay at Olivers. We were there for new years eve when the village is lit up and everyone gathers in the square for midnight.
Leigh and Paul at Olivers as usual thought of everything to make our stay comfortable. They went out of their way to put in place something I had mentioned at our last stay. We were totally shocked that they had remembered and found the time to implement it at such a busy time of year.
We cant fault them or Olivers, the staff, the rooms, the food and all the little extras make this B&B a cut above the rest.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artdeco27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi. Thank you for the review, it's easy to give good service with guests like you two. See you soon I hope. Take care. Leigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
160
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We booked all 4 rooms for the weekend when we had a family get together. This worked really well as we had 5 young children between us and didn't want to worry about inconveniencing other guests.

We were provided with a cot and linen which was one less thing to pack. Every morning our rooms were cleaned with new bottles of water and towels left. One morning after a traumatic night with our unwell baby her dirty grow bag and PJs were cleaned for us unexpectedly. This was beyond the call of duty but very much appreciated.

Breakfast was brilliant with a wide selection making for the perfect start to the day. We didn't stop for lunch but the coffee shop looked great too.

We will definitely stay again and can only send our thanks to Leigh and Paul for helping make a successful weekend.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSEXPLOITS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Oliver's, it is very much appreciated. You were very welcome to the extra washing service, having 5 children and 5 grandkids between us we understand completely how small stuff matters especially when you aren't in your own home with a sick baby. Glad you had a great stay with all your family. Thanks again for the review. leigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Just spent a lovely two nights at Oliver's. The room was lovely, very quiet, we both slept like logs. The breakfast was great, fresh fruit, cereal and lovely cooked breakfast. The owners were helpful, friendly and relaxed, we couldn't have asked for more.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank riddlerkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hello and Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Oliver's, glad you had a nice time and we really appreciate the feedback. leigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A busy week, congested motorways, dark lanes and a satnav that got lost - we were saved by Sharon!
Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, a breath taking view to wake up to and an amazing breakfast.
A Wiltshire girl who holidayed in Dorset I thought I knew it all - but not Corfe Castle, Studland Bay or Portland. This a wonderful area and a special place.
Oh, and try the New Inn.
We will return as soon as possible. Thank you Leigh and Paul, enjoy the good life

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello and thank you for your review.
We appreciate very much the time taken to give us feedback.
I will pass on your thanks to Sharon who did a sterling job in our absence and I'm glad we got back before you left. We thoroughly enjoyed the New Inn and we were so pleased to be able to share your some of your anniversary celebrations with you. We look forward to you coming back again whenever you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I think possibly expectations were raised by everyone's fab stays but I feel we got a more average experience.

Maybe this is because the owners were away but we didn't realise this when booking. Sharon looked after us - she was only doing it temporarily so no complaints about her personally under circumstances but just a so so stay for us.

We enjoyed lunch- separate review- but breakfast on day 1 nowhere near. Was expecting a slightly more interesting breakfast than offered as also run cafe.Husband had full English but didn't like the sausage quality at all and left quite a bit of the breakfast.It would have been nice to have choice of egg ( not just fried) even though less traditional. Poached eggs that I ordered
were fine- tasted better than looked! Juice wasn't great and could have done with more fruit on table as wasn't replenished.On day 2 asked for something off normal menu- filled croissants- as didn't like breakfast menu. Sharon let us have the filled croissants instead at no extra charge which was good for us or we would have had no breakfast.

Our room was not cleaned and we had made no request for it not to be.apparently the spare keys could not be found but there was no note under the door to explain this and no real efforts to clean it later. We think it should have been done and it was a bad surprise to come back to the room as we had left it.

Wifi was very patchy and often unavailable in room. It was ok sometimes in cafe. We needed it to sort things out and so went elsewhere to use their wifi which wasn't convenient.

Parking an issue as all 1 hour except a few places which was always full or a car park down an unlit road a short wall from the b&b. not a long walk but inconvenient especially if you forget to bring a torch! I was led to believe before booking that in November this was not an issue and we could park outside but this was full.

All in all this was underwhelming and I think we probably had a lesser experience due to owner being away. I felt we did not get what we should have received.I guess if I had realised that I would have stayed elsewhere as based stay on great reviews.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbournep2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and I am sorry that we didn't offer you our usual standard of service. There are certainly some learning points for us to take forward, although the menu does state scrambled and poached eggs too, it will be very easy for us in the future to ask peoples preference rather than wait for them to ask for scrambled or poached on their traditional cooked breakfast. I have also contacted the council regarding your complaint of the unlit road to the village car park but again we can advise people during the winter season and I have visited B & Q to purchase a few little torches for people to borrow. The parking is an issue and to be honest it is a bit of a trade off being at the castle end of the village as there is plenty of parking at the far end of the village away from the castle. I was very concerned to learn that your room had not been tidied and your en-suite cleaned as the standard of cleanliness is something we pride ourselves on and is definitely something that will not ever happen again to anyone else. Please accept my sincere apologies for this and for the so-so stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, Herts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay at Olivers during half term week. My husband, myself and our 6yr old daughter stayed in Bankes room on the top floor. The room was lovely and clean with beautiful furnishings and even though my daughter slept on a guest bed, there was still plenty of room for us to move about the room! Breakfasts were fab, so too the lovely homemade cake in the coffee shop downstairs.

The B&B is situated right in the village, so once parked there is no need to use the car. We loved the model village, castle, steam train to Swanage and of course the local pubs. It was a lovely break and we would go back tomorrow without a doubt! Thank you Leigh and Paul for a great stay!

Room Tip: Bankes was a lovely large room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollykaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

popped into c/castle last week end and had lunch and a coffee @ Olivers ... excellent ! clean,tidy and with the owners and there staff very friendly and HAPPY [nice to see]

didn't stop over but even from poole / bournemouth area it would be a nice break away
you dont have too travel miles !!! [maybe next time ]

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARY O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighatOlivers, Owner at Olivers, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us, so glad you enjoyed Olivers and I hope to see you back soon. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.1 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
938 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
930 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,169 reviews
8.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
459 reviews
4.9 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivers

Property: Olivers
Address: 5 West Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Olivers 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 4 delightful and tastefully decorated bedrooms that will also satisfy those who enjoy a decent shower with their modern en-suite facilities. Our guests can access the B & B via their own door (we live next door so you get to come and go as you please!) We serve breakfast that includes everything from fresh seasonal fruit to a traditional full cooked fry-up (only we grill it and won't fry anything unless you ask us to!). We also offer a range of options for those who have alternative dietary needs or preferences. Our double fronted Purbeck stone building, which dates back to 1833 sits in the heart of the village just off the main square and has all the charm and beauty you would expect of a traditional village location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Olivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivers Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing