We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly until they forget about you”
Review of The Scott Arms

The Scott Arms
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Corfe Castle
Cuisines: Caribbean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A great pub in an amazing location. Food and drink delicious with a Caribbean BBQ all summer.
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lovely looking pub, with amazing views.

Food was pretty standard but good value.

Staff need to be a little more attentive - I thought they where spread a bit thin and as a result service was not slick.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetFoodandWine, Owner at The Scott Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear mikebishop66

Thank you for taking the time to write you review. We have many new staff, around 20, starting in stages for the summer season so have noted your comments on service.

Best regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 573 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a quick lunch; expecting it to be busy we were pleasantly surprised by the way everyone was spread out.
Although not a huge choice we ordered baguettes which arrived very quickly. Very tasty.

Thank Foz480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetFoodandWine, Owner at The Scott Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Foz480

Thank you for your review, great to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Best regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

First and last time on visiting this pub for food. Went on a Sunday, arrived at 2.30 pm, OK didn't expect any roasts left, so not that worried. Ordered different meals; a prawn cocktail, tomato and basil penne and a "special" jerk chicken (which was a chicken leg.., with a syrup sauce and spice). Waited 40 mins for what was a joke. The penne pasta was cold - delivered in a hot dish, but tasteless. She did ask why we didn't say anything, they could have heated it up, but after 40 mins for the first lot, what would it have been for the second? The Jerk chicken was so small, certainly not worth the money. It was supposed to come with peas and rice. Instead of peas we got coleslaw - which was more tasty than the penne pasta.
When the waitress asked if everything was OK, we said we have certainly had better at the Wetherspoon pubs. She obviously didn't think we were serious and we continued saying everything that was wrong - her face then stopped grinning. On leaving she told us that one of the bars was closed, but we were welcome to go into the other bar which was still serving drinks. We politely told her we were leaving then and there.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Laceyswey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Over the years we have been to the SCOTT ARMS many times,the great times of the eighties when you struggled to get in,old pub charm,candlelit a huge selection of proper DORSET meals and a well stocked bar of Dorset ales.The 90's when times it was in different hands and all was shockingly bad which seemed to run into the early 2000 on.
We thought we would try again on a recent short break,as always the place is stunning on the outside the views breathtaking .For a pub of this size the bar area is small,no charm and more like a branded cheap chain with a very poor showing of available beers.
With only 3 specials on the board and a very poor menu ie not too much choice,opted for the Scampi which when it arrived was very dry and all came from lots of packets.
We also had a steak as a treat, but at nearly £19.00 for hard overcooked oven chips half a tomato,6 slices of mushroom and nothing else was we thought a mickey take,come on SCOTT ARMS wake up on your food!!!!!! You have a wonderful pub a fantastic area for great produce and ales and you need a serious wake-up call.
Will come back for the view but not for the food.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank kim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

decided to find this pub and have a coffee in garden with our dog on way to Swanage as we wanted to look at the view.I went in to order and asked for 2 "hot"[I did say this word several times} cappachino coffees..Price £5.90."they better be good for that price I laughingly joked".The large cup was full but the coffee was mediochre and had no froth and was not piping hot.My impression of this place was that it was shabby and uncaring.The car park also left something to be desired as it was rough and unmade up stoney ground.We did enjoy the splendid view of Corfe Castle though as did all the lady artists also taking advantage of the garden.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank CATH n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetFoodandWine, Owner at The Scott Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear CATH n

I was surprised to read your review as our coffee is one of the aspects of the business we have spent a lot of time and effort on to make sure it is the best we can offer. Reads of Sherborne roast the finest coffe beans to order, we grind the beans to order fresh for each cup and have a state of the art espresso machine bought at great expense.

I can only assume it was a work experience employee that day who had not paid attention to their training. If you are ever passing this way again please stop by as I would like to make you a cappuccino myself which will be well worth the money, view thrown in for free.

Best regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scott Arms also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Church Knowle, Dorset
 

Been to The Scott Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing