We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in every category - highly recommended!!”
Review of The Scott Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Scott Arms
Ranked #8 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every category - highly recommended!!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

OK its a pub with a restaurant with two guest rooms. The pub were friendly and the staff thoroughly welcoming on our arrival. The pub selection of beers and ciders is impressive and the food menu to die for - a huge choice.

Our room was a large double (Swyre Head), king size bed, very good ensuite , light airy and clean - very good.

The meal was difficult. I could have had any one of the dozen or so specials without even touching starters, puddings and the printed menu. My pork medallions were exquisite my partner was enchanted with the sea bream, all perfectly cooked and served. All the staff thoroughly helpful, friendly and polite. Plenty of wine to choose from we went for the Pinot Grigio a good price for a restaurant.

Sadly no room for starters or pudding. There was also the Jamaican kitchen in the garden serving traditional Caribbean food which looked and smelled fantastic.

Breakfast was up to the highest standards in keeping with the evening meal with local produce.

It was a Friday night in August - the pub was busy the restaurant by 8 pm was nearly full but this did not affect from the high standards of food and staff alike. Neither did we have to wait an excessive time to be served, a relaxed meal for two.

I really can't understand the poor comments of others previously - everything we had there was perfect.

Room Tip: Only two rooms similar in size take either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevehutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    44
    14
    10
    11
See reviews for
30
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
366 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

we recently stayed in a cottage in Kingston so ate in the Scott arms on a couple of nights. Very friendly, and the food was very good. This part of Dorset is not the cheapest, but the quality of the ingredients used is clear. The burger we had on one night was a little disappointing in terms of just being the burger with some cheese, and not "loaded" with salad/ tomato.... but it was tasty. Go for the steaks, or pork medallions.... it's worth it. Oh and the view of Corfe Castle..... divine!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
366 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

we recently atyaed in a cottage in Kingston so ate in the Scott arms on a couple of nights. Very friendly, and the food was very good. This part of Dorset is not the cheapest, but the quality of the ingredients used is clear. The burger we had on one night was a little disappointing in term sof just being the burger with some cheese, and not "loaded" with salad/ tomato.... but it was tasty. Go or the steaks, or pork medallions.... it's worth it. Oh and the view of Corfe Castle..... divine!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Had a fantastic meal overlooking Corfe Castle. Fantastic. Staff member who dealt with us was fantastic

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Superships1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stunning location, woefully bad food and service. Expensive for very poor quality food and even worse,the staff were uninterested in our reaction to very poor food

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kewboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetFoodandWine, Owner at The Scott Arms, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
My apologies that your visit to The Scott Arms did not live up to your expectations. We have had an extremely busy half term week without sufficient staff to cope with the sheer number of visitors to Purbeck that we cater for every day. We strive hard to offer a varied menu with something to suit the wide range of customers we attract, with service that makes your meal as relaxing as possible. With the excellent weather and school holiday period we were inundated and again I can only apologise for your disappointment on this occasion and hope that you will return in less hectic times to appreciate what we have to offer.

We are never uninterested and welcome all constructive comments.

Simon Coppack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corfe Castle hotels

Southampton, Hampshire.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Nice looking place in a great location....but we were wondering why we could get a table here and nowhere else. We found out later.
The food was unoriginal but the kind of thing that's easy to do wel; it's also really easy to be really nice to your customers to make them fell like they might want to come back.
The service wasn't bad, just not very good. We had to ask for napkins for example and for the chutney which I would have expected to be in a cheese and chutney sandwich already!

Anyway all that is bye the bye, as the real problem here is the fact that one of us had to spend the night hugging the toilet after eating a baked potatoe with beans and cheese! How you get that simple dish so badly wrong is byond me, I guess the beans were old, and/or left in an opened can for a while.....not good, not recommended.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetFoodandWine, Owner at The Scott Arms, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
We have been in contact with the person concerned and are awaiting further information. We always take these incidents extremely seriously.

It is unfortunate that you have chosen to write a review making unsubstantiated accusations that could be very harmful to our reputation before we have fully investigated the matter.

The day in question was the busiest day of the year so far when we served in excess of 300 people without any other problem. Yes service may have been a bit frayed and we apologise for that and ask for understanding when we have to serve such a large number of people on holiday weekends. Between 3 and 6 we only serve a limited menu of baguettes, salads and baked potatoes as we have to prepare for the evening service. This has a more varied choice, for example Swanage Crab Linguine, fantastic Black Gold Aberdeen Angus Steaks, Sea Bass, Sea Bream and Lobster Salad, as well as the traditional pub classics. Or you could try the authentic Jamaican BBQ where we serve Jerk Chicken, Jerk Pork, Curry Mutton, Grilled Lobster or Grilled King Prawns which you will find nowhere else. I very much hope you will return again to experience what The Scott Arms has to offer.

Simon Coppack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, U.K.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We visited this pub which is beautifully positioned looking put over Corfe and it's castle after a mornings walk to Houns Tout. We ordered coffee from a barmaid who appeared totally disinterested in our custom. It took 15 minutes to arrive and when it did the tray of four cups of coffee was dumped unceremonially on the table and left for us to hand to each other and without a murmur from the waiter. The coffee was good but if you are lucky enough to own and run a pub in such a setting you really should train your staff to smile, be welcoming and provide the bare minimum of polite service.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
919 reviews
4.6 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,447 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scott Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scott Arms

Property: The Scott Arms
Address: West Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scott Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Scott Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scott Arms Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing