We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the Dorset countryside!”
Review of West Ower B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corfe Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Ower B&B
Ranked #6 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gem in the Dorset countryside!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

From the West Ower website my wife and I chose the Garden Room. This gave us direct access from the comfortable double room to the garden, which captivated my wife's interest as a keen gardener. The variety of plants and flowers was impressive and the whole area benefited from the attention of David and Gillian. Through their assistance our short stay of 2 nights was enhanced as they both had an excellent knowledge of the Isle of Purbeck and their willingness to spend the time after breakfast discussing our day ahead was really appreciated.
The said breakfast provided an excellent start to the day! Such a menu has to be sampled to fully appreciate the comments of other travellers on the website.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiraethBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I cannot fault the service provided. Great location, superb twin accommodation with ensuite bathroom. I stayed one night with my brother to walk on a Saturday and Gillian was simply a brilliant host (and cook!) Breakfast still being discussed since we returned home - the best we've ever had. Great value for money, would've paid more! If you need a base in the Isle of Purbeck stop looking and book this!

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed with any of the three rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartatrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Gill and David greet you with a warm welcome you to their home and fascinating garden full of interesting plants.
Gill does a superb spread for breakfast with quality ingredients. This sets you up for the day ahead. Westower is set in a tranquil position along the narrow country lanes of Purbeck. A perfect starting point for walking. Just a few miles from Corfe Castle, Swanage or a number of pretty Dorset villages.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable with little touches that make you feel at home and relaxed straight away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just the place for a quiet weekend and so easy to get to Swanage, Corfe and Studland. Gill and David were excellent hosts and breakfast would feed you for the day. A lovely garden to wander around with a stunning collection of Iris varieties and great for bird watching.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybabewiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Set in the beautiful and peaceful Purbeck countryside close to Corfe Castle, Gill and David Gould provide a comfortable and welcoming family B&B in a purpose built extension. It offers a high standard of accommodation, excellent breakfasts and a very friendly service. Two acres of lovely garden that will appeal to any visitor and makes the stay a real treat for any gardening enthusiast. Located in the centre of the Isle of Purbeck there is easy access to Swanage, Wareham & Poole, Corfe, Lulworth and Studland Bay and the wealth of beautiful countryside in between. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_B503822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

could not fault this wonderful place - comfortable bed, plenty of hot water, lovely room, private patio, the most fantastic garden which we were welcomed to wander in, great breakfast with all you could want, our lovely hostess even provided rolls for lunch! David & Gill were so kind & friendly & welcoming. The area is fabulous with a huge variety of scenery and places to visit almost from the doorstep. we cant wait to return.

Room Tip: all appeared great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The ambiance here is wonderful. Gill and David (such nice people) were ready and waiting to welcome us to their home West Ower, close to Corfe Castle and well away from the madding crowd. The only sound is the bird song. Our bedroom was light, airy, tastefully decorated, comfortable. The breakfasts: incredible variety of fruits, muesli, cereal, yogurts, an array of warmed rolls and brioche, toast...the list is endless. And that's without even mentioning the traditional full English breakfast if you can handle it. I couldn't, but it looked great. In the nearly two acres of gardens we looked at Gill and David's beautiful creations over the last 20 years. Gardeners and non-gardeners alike will love it. We spent time during our 4-day break in nearby Swanage having travelled there on the steam railway from Corfe; in Wareham, where we took a boat to Poole Harbour; Lulworth Cove; and the jewel in the crown as far as I was concerned: Studland's Middle Beach with its ancient beach huts snuggling in the woodlands.

Room Tip: We would have loved the Garden Room that opens on to the garden but another lucky couple got it befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
1.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
9.9 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Corfe Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kingston Country Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Ower B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Ower B&B

Property: West Ower B&B
Address: West Ower Woolgarston, Corfe Castle BH20 5JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to West Ower B&B perfectly located in the middle of the Isle of Purbeck with easy access to both Corfe Castle and Swanage. This large and attractive house is nestled in wonderful rural scenery only two miles from the historic and picturesque village of Corfe Castle. Both Corfe Castle and Swanage can be reached using the Steam Train from Harmans Cross Station (next to Harmans Cross Village hall) which is only a pleasant 15 minute walk away along country lanes. The B&B itself is is set within two acres of beautiful rambling gardens, where membership of the RHS has assisted in the development of an extensive collection of interesting plants, amongst which one can find a variety of unusual ducks, chickens and geese. Set amongst fields and woodland, the garden is an ideal habitat for an array of wildlife and we have been operating a moth trap for a National recording scheme for many years. The wide variety of birds and animals attracted to the garden gives a great taster for the delights to be found in the surrounding area.All accommodation is located within an extension to the main building, allowing for easy access through a separate front door. There are three en-suite rooms to choose from: The Garden Room A spacious room with a comfy double bed and large shower room. French Doors open onto a secluded garden patio over-looking a pond. The Gallery Room A light and airy double room with a bathroom that includes a shower. Windows on three sides provide great views of the gardens and the Purbeck Hills. The Twin Room Two single beds in a bright south-facing room with a bathroom including shower. The views across the valley to distant hills are wonderful. All rooms have a television and guests are provided with tea and coffee making facilities ... and even a little welcoming tipple of sherry! Breakfasts are served in the large, bright dining room, where doors open onto a verandah over-looking the garden and providing good views of the well-visited bird feeders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Ower B&B Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing