We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West Ower B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corfe Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Ower B&B
Ranked #6 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Reading
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed with Gill and David a couple of weeks ago for my girlfriends birthday. Great location "away from it all" which does mean you have to get the car out for an evening out but a small price to pay for such peace and quiet. We had the garden room which is very spacious (much bigger than some we have stayed in) and has it's own patio doors opening onto the owners fabulous garden which is clearly a passion. Plenty of wildlife, particularly birds to see. The full English breakfast is freshly prepared and very tasty. The fresh fruit was a real bonus too and really set us up for a days walking.

Thanks to Gill and David for being so welcoming and helpful - we loved the area so hopefully we'll be back one day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandKarenReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Perhaps we have been particularly spoilt in previous short breaks, however, our room was a little disappointing, maybe because we stayed in the Gallery Room? Upon entering the room, we were shocked that the bathroom door had a virtually clear window offering minimal privacy when using the toilet. Neither myself or my husband are tall, but we struggled to move around the room due to the pitched ceiling. There was no storage for hanging clothes aside from four hangers suspended from a bracket on the wall. The tea tray was particularly basic and the coffee sachets were all out of date. This is also the only B&B we have stayed in where there was no cooked breakfast option, we were not asked how we would like our eggs, just presented with a full English fried breakfast. On the plus side the fresh fruit/yoghurt breads and pastries were a welcome start to the day. David and Gillian are a lovely couple and have the most beautiful garden, well worth a walk around. The B&B is very clean, perfect for exploring Purbeck and in a very peaceful location. Please be aware that both wifi and mobile phone signals are non-existent so be prepared for no contact with family at home whilst at this accommodation.

Room Tip: Choose The Garden Room for the patio area looking out onto the beautiful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at West Ower. We stayed in the garden room which has lovely views. Room was spacious with good facilities - tea and coffee, fresh milk, sherry and lovely toiletries. Bed very comfortable!

Breakfast is great - delicious, lots of choice and good portions! Kept us going all day.


Gillian and David were very welcoming and we will certainly be staying again in the near future. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

first class many thanks. Breakfast was fantastic. Our Australian friends were most impressed.
Strange that I have to provide 200 characters when I've said it all. The family are off to Australia for a well desrved break hope they enjoyed it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Excellent place to stay....peaceful and quiet. Comfortable rooms and a very nice breakfast. Close to Corfe Castle and Durdle Door, yet far enough away to escape the crowds. The b&b sits in beautiful grounds and you can wander rewound the gardens. Tea and coffee provided with biscuits and even a spot of sherry !

Room Tip: The garden room has patio doors onto the terrace and into the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorsetsue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the garden room which has its own terrace and access to the garden. Although the weather was not brilliant we still managed tea and sandwiches on the terrace! Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the magnificent gardens and surrounding countryside. A delicious breakfast each morning which was more than enough to keep us going through the day. The room itself very comfortable and clean with ample supply of teabags, coffee etc. We were made to feel most welcome and the location is good for many of the attractions nearby. Would definitely go back.Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiltssue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

West Ower is just as you would imagine it - a lovely quiet setting in the countryside a few miles from both Swanage and Corfe castle with a stunning big garden, great breakfasts with lots of fresh fruits and most of all the superb friendly hosts Gillian and David. Whether you like walking, sightseeing, idling in the garden or want to enjoy Swanage while staying in the countryside, this is the B&B for you and the value you get for your money is unbeatable.
Jan and Julia

Room Tip: The Garden Room is where we stayed and would recommend to anyone. You have access to the dining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanSedlacek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
1.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
9.9 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Corfe Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.5 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kingston Country Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Ower B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Ower B&B

Property: West Ower B&B
Address: West Ower Woolgarston, Corfe Castle BH20 5JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to West Ower B&B perfectly located in the middle of the Isle of Purbeck with easy access to both Corfe Castle and Swanage. This large and attractive house is nestled in wonderful rural scenery only two miles from the historic and picturesque village of Corfe Castle. Both Corfe Castle and Swanage can be reached using the Steam Train from Harmans Cross Station (next to Harmans Cross Village hall) which is only a pleasant 15 minute walk away along country lanes. The B&B itself is is set within two acres of beautiful rambling gardens, where membership of the RHS has assisted in the development of an extensive collection of interesting plants, amongst which one can find a variety of unusual ducks, chickens and geese. Set amongst fields and woodland, the garden is an ideal habitat for an array of wildlife and we have been operating a moth trap for a National recording scheme for many years. The wide variety of birds and animals attracted to the garden gives a great taster for the delights to be found in the surrounding area.All accommodation is located within an extension to the main building, allowing for easy access through a separate front door. There are three en-suite rooms to choose from: The Garden Room A spacious room with a comfy double bed and large shower room. French Doors open onto a secluded garden patio over-looking a pond. The Gallery Room A light and airy double room with a bathroom that includes a shower. Windows on three sides provide great views of the gardens and the Purbeck Hills. The Twin Room Two single beds in a bright south-facing room with a bathroom including shower. The views across the valley to distant hills are wonderful. All rooms have a television and guests are provided with tea and coffee making facilities ... and even a little welcoming tipple of sherry! Breakfasts are served in the large, bright dining room, where doors open onto a verandah over-looking the garden and providing good views of the well-visited bird feeders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Ower B&B Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing