We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corfe Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Challow Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from a delightful two night stay at Challow Farm House! The Farm House is situated a short walk away from Corfe Castle in a quiet secluded location. As we approached the property along the driveway, we were very privileged to see a deer grazing by the side of the gate. This beautiful creature allowed us to quietly take several photographs before darting into the nearby woodland!

We received a warm welcome by Kate and after escorting us to our lovely room (above the barn), we were invited back into the house for Afternoon Tea. The Garden Sitting Room is light and airy. An eclectic fusion of subtle shades of colour, rustic textures and soft candlelight makes it a relaxing and calming environment. Our tea was served along with a large slice of Kate's delicious homemade Victoria sponge - the portion being as tall as one of "Old Harry Rocks!"

We found our room and en-suite shower facility tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. The layout of the room and country style furnishings far exceeded our expectations! We had all our "creature comforts" - a small sofa, flat screen TV with DVD - (including a selection of dvd's to watch), magazines and tea and coffee making facilities! The bed was exceptionally comfortable with quality bed linen that ensured a peaceful sleep! The shower was lovely and powerful and there was a range of Molton Brown and other luxury skin and hair products! Our view from the room looked across towards the garden and a steep field where cattle were grazing!

Kate's delicious homemade breakfasts were another delight to be savoured! We were served in the breakfast room (outdoors when the weather permits.) On display was a selection of a beautifully presented platter of fresh fruit, Greek yoghurt, homemade granola, Dorset cereals and fruit juices. The menu was varied and the choices consisted of a full English breakfast, smoked kipper or haddock,French toast, pancakes each followed by toast etc! Kate will tailor for specific dietary requirements.

Thank you Kate for making our stay so irresistible and wonderful. As a proprietor and hostess Kate has a gentle, unobtrusive approach, yet is able to anticipate very well the needs of her guests. We loved Kate's "way of being", her charming bed and breakfast accommodation and the surrounding area so much that we could not resist the temptation to return next July to experience it all over again!.

Sue and Jon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Is there a more perfectly located, beautifully furnished and thoughtfully managed bed and breakfast than at Challow Farm House?

It is the attention to detail and the superb hospitality that shines through at this very special place.

From the welcoming slice of Victoria Sponge cake, so big and so delicate and fluffy that it defies belief, to the bedroom (East) in which more thought has been given than any 5* hotel we have previously stayed in.

The breakfast that Kate conjured up was a masterpiece of tastes, textures and colours.

The grounds and buildings that have been created with hard work, imagination and vision come together with a standard of hospitality in this most beautiful part of England, to answer the original question - there is no other place like Kate and Mark's Challow Farm House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Brilliant stay. Beautiful setting, subtly stylish design, locally-sourced food, friendly hosts. Great for walkers, readers, history-lovers. A level of style, service, food.. and bath products that possibly surpasses that of some five-star hotels! Thanks Kate and Mark.

Room Tip: The Barn particularly nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oursoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have just had a excellent weekend break in Corfe Castle, our stay at Challow Farm House B&B was delightful the room was spotlessly clean with lots of nice added touches. ,Breakfast was excellent with plenty of home made jams, fresh fruit .We were made very welcome an all in all we had a pleasant and peaceful stay, Thank You

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the Castle which was very nice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susansteveWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Kate and Mark have just everything absolutely right. Their lovely, peaceful farmhouse and barn lie close by the imposing ruins of the castle and just steps away from the village. The pretty garden, planted with fruit trees, flowering pots and interesting shrubs, has quiet and tucked away seating for guests. Hens, lambs and the occasional deer can be seen beyond the gate. If the setting is idyllic, the interior of the farmhouse is just as attractive. Our bedroom (in the main house) was spotlessly clean, calm and somehow gave the impression of more space than we actually had. There were two comfortable chairs, a very comfortable kingsize bed with beautiful bed linen and gorgeous plump pillows, with excellent bedside lights that you could actually read by! (So often the lighting in B&Bs can be too dim.) Every last detail has been thought of: there's a thermos of chilled, iced water tucked away in the cupboard and a bottle of fresh tap water for using when boiling water for tea or coffee. Little kilner-type jars enclose tea bags and coffee for maximum freshness, and Kate left a small thermos of chilled milk for us every day. Nothing has been forgotten - there's a small tin of freshly baked home-made shortbread alongside the tea and coffee; in the luxurious bathroom (great shower and large bath) the lighting is excellent and there's a large free-standing two-sided mirror as well as a wall mirror. There are lovely generous soaps, shampoos, etc, plus classy room spray (when do you ever see this?). As a guest, you realise from the very beginning that your maximum comfort and pleasure is what matters to our hosts. So of course Kate's breakfast menu offers a multitude of choices. The spacious breakfast room is light and sunny with a view of the garden. On sunny days, breakfast is served at tables in the garden.The breakfast buffet offers more than enough for anyone, but Kate's excellent cooking is too much to resist. The cooked options are wonderful and our coffee was excellent (and we are fussy coffee drinkers!). The Porters offer guests a very comfortable and light 'garden' sitting room, as well as offering secluded outside space for sitting or lounging. Kate was full of helpful suggestions about where we would enjoy to eat, and offered to book tables for us wherever we chose. There are good places to eat in Corfe itself, and in many villages around. Kate's also full of ideas about walks and drives and absolutely anything you may want to know. We will definitely be going back, and may see if we can book a room in the barn next time. Fellow guests told us that the rooms there were lovely, too, but our room in the house will be hard to beat! I think Kate called it the North room. If you want somewhere that is 5* luxury, with superb cooking, and exceptionally friendly hosts who make you feel relaxed and at home, but in a discreet, gentle way, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at Challow Farm B&B in April this year for four nights. The room was delightful with a lovely view of the garden and very well appointed with plenty of room to relax. Breakfasts were exceptionally good and the hosts most welcoming and helpful. The location was very central for the various walking paths in the district - the walk along the coastal path out from Worth Matravers was spectacular. Wonderful views could also be had from the path from Corfe Castle (right across the road from Challow Farm) to Swannage. Cannot recommend more highly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I was a solo traveler for a week in August. This b and b is truly excellent. The gardens are gorgeous filled with flowers, apple trees and many hidden places to sit and relax. After spending a wonderful night nestled under a down comfortable comforter( in the most comfortable bed I may add!) you awake to the sounds of birds singing, the gentle sounds of the pond waterfall and the occasional sound of sheep or cows. Breakfast is served in a bright sunny dining room with all kinds of choices including homemade muesli( to which I am now addicted!) and fruit from the garden to typical full English. Kate and Mark were very kind and helpful. They even offered to drive me back to the bus station on my trip home. The Fox and also the Greyhound were great pubs for food and Pimms and there is an amazing bakery in the center of town. The steam train was fun to ride especially for children and the location is excellent for walking or traveling to nearby sights. All made for an amazing visit to England!

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the barn rooms. It has french doors that opened to the garden which allow you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.1 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
963 reviews
4.6 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
383 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Challow Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Challow Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Challow Farm Sandy Hill Lane, Corfe Castle, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Hotel Class:4 star — Challow Farm House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Challow Farm House Bed And Breakfast Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing