We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected combination of tradition and excellent modern fine dining”

Mortons House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Uk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unexpected combination of tradition and excellent modern fine dining”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Staying locally we wanted a 'posh meal' and booked in without knowing what to expect.
We were shown to the pre-dinner lounge where a few couples were already enjoying drinks - everyone else was definitely in the 'older' bracket (much older). Nothing wrong in that and everyone seemed quite happy and jovial but it gave us the impression that we were in for a rather traditional, perhaps old-fashioned, dinner.
We were wrong - the establishment has managed to combine elegance and very traditional ambience with modern, contemporary, excellent fine dining.
We could not fault the food, service, the ambience or the company (the nearby older couple were lovely to our two toddlers and their lack of fine dining skills).
We will definitely return on our next trip to Dorset.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RP247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    50
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wedding Breakfast”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had our daughters wedding reception here on Friday 25th July, 2014. The hotel staff ensured that everything ran to the timetable. Drinks on arrival were served promptly, the food was exquisite, served by helpful waiting staff, nothing was too much trouble for them. The two young children in the party were served with as much care as the adults. The reception staff were most helpful. Morton's is an excellent venue in a great location.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casterbridge692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cream tea”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Called in for a cream tea expecting to be ripped off, actually it was cheaper than the National trust cafe, and much better. Lovely staff that served us outside in a lovely eating area. Three different cream teas to suit your appetite .

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndf67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cream Tea in historic setting”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A lovely courtyard to enjoy a beautifully served Cream Tea. Delicious scones with jam and clotted cream - delicious. Morton Hall is very old, but beautifully renovated and central if you are visiting Corfe in Dorset

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliee240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Morning coffee”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Travelling from the Midlands to Dorset, 2013 we arranged to visit Corffe Castle, and noticed the Manor House. We had morning Coffee and biscuits, the coffee and biscuits was lovely but the service was first class and nothing was too much trouble. No guessing where we stopped for Coffee this year in our way down to dorset, and again everything was first class.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank midlandsmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mortons House Restaurant also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Mortons House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing