We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Short Break”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We took advantage of the Summer Break offer and spent a very pleasant few days at the hotel. Although the decor in our room was a little tired the room itself was fine with all the facilities you would expect. The restaurant lived up to its AA rating with excellent food and service to match.
We will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    222
    99
    33
    12
See reviews for
177
540
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Although the rooms felt like we were staying with elderly relatives they were in keeping with the style of the place! They were clean and well laid out. We ate in the bar and the food was delicious and the estate wine a triumph. Would recommend for a Dorset location or even a meal.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshire_sprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked for our 4 directors to have a 2 day retreat at the hotel. They had use of a room for 2 full days plus overnight accomodation, including lunch and all the office supplies (flip charts etc) we could need.
We had the choice to have dinner too, but went for a restaurant nearby instead (nothing to do with the hotel just wanted a change of scenery!)
We made all the arrangements by email and the reception staff were great, very quick and easy to interact with and we managed to make everything work perfectly. The directors couldn't help but sing the hotels praises when they returned, they had everything they needed and more. The food was excellent and one director even said she hadn't eaten that much in a long time (just because it was all so nice!)

It was a very reasonable price and was much cheaper than quite a few venues that specialise in this kind of event. The area is lovely and there are such stunning and inspirational places to work in.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelwhiteland87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here on the 27th and 28th of August 2011, a couple of days after we got married in Bicester. We were looking for a couple of days away (a "minimoon") as our Honeymoon is not until November.

The hotel is ideally situated and is very pleasing on the eye. Rooms were clean and tidy and well equiped and the service was absolutely first class. The food was beyond our expectations and the overall experience was exceptional.

We liked to think of this hotel as one of those hidden gems from yesteryear. You know what I mean, welcoming, unrushed, relaxing, good food and good value.

We got all that and more and we will definitely be going back, probably later this year. Thanks to all the staff who were extemely welcoming and helpful and top marks to the chef!

There is no spa so no comment there but everything we asked for from room service was prompt and served with a smile.

See you soon!! Rich and Lisa.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richielisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed here for one night, on Bank Holiday Monday, as wedding guests. The hotel itself is sympathetically presented and in an excellent location for exploring Corfe and the Purbecks - there is lots of tourist info available in the hotel. There is also plenty of parking.

The staff are so welcoming - on reception, at the bar, the restaurant, and generally whenever you pass them. Genuine though - not over the top "have a nice day" stylee!

We were all looked after extremely well - the wedding meal was excellent quality, and so I imagine that the main restaurant would also be very good. I had a very large and perfectly cooked salmon fillet and my husband had roast beef which was all eaten! The staff knew who was having what and did a good job of keeping wine topped up as well.

We checked into our room - and I'm afraid were rather disappointed. For £110 a night - even on a bank holiday - it wasn't up to much. We were in room 4. The bed wasn't a full sized double, the bathroom, whilst immaculate, was somewhat dated, and the TV looked like something I had in my bedroom in 1990! I suspect other rooms may be better though, as, overall, it is a lovely hotel. I think some probably have castle views.

Breakfast was table service, a good choice of quality hot breakfasts, and self-service fruits and cereals, and preserves. The hot breakfasts were more quality than quantity, which we prefer anyway, and there are plenty of cereals etc and toast if you like a big brekkie!

Overall, we had a good stay, just the room that let it down.

Room Tip: Don't have room 4! Ask for a room at the back as the road can get very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Excellent food, nothing too much trouble for the staff and very friendly.
Great location for the castle and steam train
Lovely fire in the winter

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clayander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is a lovely place with big rooms, but it could do with some new bathroom fittings. In our room, the toilet didn't flush properly and the entire shower fixture fell off the wall when I was taking a bath.

The staff were very friendly and the breakfast (cooked to order) was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mightyspurs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
912 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,149 reviews
3.4 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Property: Mortons House Hotel
Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing