We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, great food but very hard bed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mortons House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great food but very hard bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Lovely charming hotel with lots of original features, including a lovely lounge with a large open wood fire. The food in the restaurant was great and good value at £30 if paid in advance but there were alot of supplements for the items we liked. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the town and Corfe Castle and easy driving distance of the coast. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help. Our only disappointment was the bed - exceptionally hard. We kept waking up to turn over and 2 nights was enough my back could stand. If looking for a good pub nearby then try The Castle Inn rather than the Greyhound (unless you like dogs) or The Banks Arms (pretty outside but not in).

Room Tip: If you want a four poster bed then check in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    208
    95
    32
    11
See reviews for
169
513
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We had our wedding in the hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff and service were excellent, catering to our every need and ensuring that our wedding was just as we wanted. The food in the evening was lovely and numerous guests commented on the high quality of the dinner. Thanks for helping make our day so special.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

The friendliness and ambiance of this hotel would be hard to beat, with a comfortable lounge and a big log fire. We took advantage of the dinner, wine and cream tea offer, which was good, and stayed an extra two nights, making four altogether. The food and drink were excellent, if a little pricey. The situation of the hotel is perfect, being right in the town, yet with a large car park. The setting is inspiring, with the ruins of Corfe Castle dominating everything. We visited Bournemouth and Poole via the Sandbanks Ferry, Swanage, Lulworth, and many other locations, as there is so much to see within 15 to 20 miles around. Our bedroom at the hotel was pleasant - we had twin beds, though one was much more comfotable than the other. The hotel was quiet during the night (which so many are not!) and the service throughout was good. We both hit our heads quite hard during the stay on the dormer roof of the bedroom (some warning or protective padding would be useful) and my wife had to change the pillow liner on her bed as it was old and a bit odorous. But these are minor comments and we would go back again to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We decided to take advantage of the two night special escape deal and we were so glad we did! We had such a wonderful stay and we can't wait to go back! The staff were friendly, attentive and went over and above for us!!! The food was out of this world and the restaurant romantic and stylish! One very very small criticism was our room had no view and the decor slightly dated with carpet in the bathroom! However, this did not interfere with our overall enjoyment of our time spent at Mortons House and cannot recommend the hotel highly enough! We will being going back again and again!!! A true find!!! One word 'PERFECT'!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

If its peace and quiet coupled with unobtrusive comfort and staff who really care about their patrons that you're after, then look no further! Mortons is a little gem set in the shadow of the imposing ruin of Corfe Castle. Tucked away behind stone walls on the road out to Swanage, it offers the perfect base to explore the delightful Isle of Purbeck. Our room was cosy and comfortable, with a nice sized bathroom. Tea and coffee-making facilities were provided with a top-up, if needed, on the landing! The lounge was oak-panelled, with an ingle nook fireplace, and deep comfy sofas! The restaurant was delighful with french windows that open onto the courtyard, and a top-class menu, offering a good selection of meat and fish, plus mouth-watering puds! The lasting memory we took away however, was the friendliness and courtessy of the staff. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. No one was ever too busy to help, and there was always a smile and a cheery greeting to be had. We were offered the chance to ask for any dish we liked, which the chef would cook to order, given 24 hours notice, and the lady on reception took my shirt away personally to have it cleaned after an accident wit a blueberry pudding! Such courtessy is rare these days, and we felt so comfortable it was a wrench to leave! Our only criticism would be the alarmingly limited selection of channels on the TV in our room! For the 21st century that was a shock. However, this is merely being picky for a hotel that we would happily recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Planning a romantic weekend we decided to splash out & stay somewhere luxurious. The hotel exterior and indeed the downstairs was just what we were looking for. Staff were wonderful on arrival. Then we saw the room. We were in the attic room which at £180 a night in my opinion was only worth £60. It was a very basic B&B room, I've stayed in nicer Travelodge rooms & their beds are certainly more comfortable. I was so disappointed and shocked that they could charge so much for a rubbish room. There were beams & a view of Corfe Castle out of the velux window but even so, a real shame. We booked out after a rubbish nights sleep in the naff bed. I have heard the food is wonderful but I couldn't get out of there quick enough.

Room Tip: Don't go for the attic room - steep stairs which may be unsuitable. And the room is naff. Alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarabella899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Your comments are much appreciated ..... the good news is that the Loft room is being totally refurbished in the next couple of weeks. It is a popular room due to its quirkiness and oulook. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We had a very pleasant stay at Mortons House Hotel taking advantage of their 3 nights for price of two offer. Although the decor looks tired, the friendly approach of the staff made the stay enjoyable. The fire in the lounge gave the hotel a cosy feel.
We were put in the attic room 7, which had a small adjoining sitting room. However, both of these rooms were cold, but after mentioning this a couple of times the heating was fixed for our third night. Some concerns about the fire escape though and the fire instructions in the room weren't filled out. However, we worked out an escape route out via the bathroom window should the need arise. Less able people may have some difficulties not only with this but the steepness of the stairs accessing this room.
The food in the restaurant was a little on the expensive side but the bar menu cheaper, plus there are plenty of alternative places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Don't go for room 7 in the attic. The stairs to the room are steep and could cause a problem in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
8.6 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
6.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Property: Mortons House Hotel
Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing