We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveller rating
636
257
110
45
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
257
110
45
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotellog fireelizabethan roomthe main hotelold buildingpre dinner drinksbeautiful buildingfood was amazingafternoon teacream teafirst classwaiting staffwet roomsitting roomhigh standardboth nightsscones
Filter
Updating list...
752 - 757 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Had a fantastic few days at Mortons between Christmas and New Years. Food and service was fantastic,hotel very good and in a supurb location. Only 1 critique is the rooms are slightly dated. Otherwise great

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobias d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We spent a very enjoyable New Year's break at Morton's House Hotel in Corfe Castle village. It's more comfortable than luxurious (don't expect a large room) but the service is friendly and attentive without being fussy. The restaurant is unusually good for a hotel of its class. Whilst justifying the epithet of 'fine dining', its menu - using fresh, mostly local ingredients - is comfortingly unadventurous with a matching wine list that emphasizes good new world wines and will please all but the most exacting guests. The cooking is well executed and presented and the service is exceptionally well managed. The breakfast was perfect. We especially liked the porridge, the homemade bread, the kippers and the poached eggs on muffins. The building is of significant historical interest and the homely decor and furnishings complement this to some extent albeit with a touch of modernism. The delightful Oak Room lounge with its real fire is well stocked with magazines and newspapers and is an ideal place for a cream tea or hot toddy. There are some great walks to be had in the area and the castle and steam train add to the historical ambience of the delightful village. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Our room in the loft to the south of house was fairly small with barely adequate clothing-, luggage-, bathroom- and sitting-space but it was quite clean and largely quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garganey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Just back form my sisters wedding at Moretons House Hotel. It was the perfect wedding venue, the ambience, staff and food could not have been better. Fabulous day and stay over for two nights. Very very highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft room for families with a view of corfe castle - couldn't have been any better!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelN71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Although we have been to Mortons many times this was our first Christmas. I can only say that we have booked again for next year already. This is the most beautiful small hotel with suberb food, excellent friendly staff, a very comfortable atmosphere and a beautiful open log fire. The bedrooms each have their own character and are exquisitly clean and comfortable. Some have views of the castle and the steam train running from Corfe to Swanage. A big 'thank-you' to Ted, Bev and all the staff - we have made new friends and all hope to meet up again next year - but we'll be back before then.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are delightful.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel18Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed at Mortons over Christmas and had a really lovely stay. The hotel itself is a charming Elizabethan country house, complete with oak-panelled sitting room and fireplace. The rooms were unfussy, well-looked after and clean. The owners and all staff could not be more friendly and helpful, and this created a very pleasant, unpretentious atmosphere. Their chef was also excellent and we ate very well indeed. Finally, the Dorset village of Corfe Castle, complete with steam railway and Norman castle, can't be bettered.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews