We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We had the most fantastic wedding day anyone can hope for here on December 23rd 2012. The venue is a wonderful place with great facilities and atmosphere that just lifted the whole day to that extra level. The staff could not have been better and the day ran better than clockwork. The food and the wine were excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryGPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

OK, so we got married here in November 2012.

I don't know where to start and I could keep this really simple just by saying that everything was perfect, but this place deserves so much more than that.

The food was to die for. The venue was a perfect wedding venue, due to a number of reasons: Mainly the number of rooms downstairs that meant we had a large area for dining, a lovely oak-room for the service (we got married in front of a roaring fire!), the bar and its main-room and also another room that we laid on some entertainment. People could come and go as they pleased which meant that all of our guests were comfortable all day and nobody was really forced into doing anything they didn't want to do - if they wanted to relax, there was a room that catered and vice-versa.

The staff were all very polite, but being a family-run business, I also felt that you also got that personal level of sincerity that you never find in the larger hotels and that they genuinely cared for the well-being of their guests. The owner washed & ironed my shirt on the morning of the wedding, and that was not because I asked her for her help, it was because she approached me and offered!

During our three night stay, we were recommended good local places to visit and other restaurants in town, again adding to the overall experience of our stay at Mortons House.

So not only was everything perfect about the venue and the food etc, but it was Bev, who oversaw everything that really made our wedding such a success.

We left there VERY VERY happy!!

The fact that you're even reading this suggests you are interested in staying there, so please get booked ASAP and don't miss out on what this fantastic hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uknownsoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here on the New Years 2 night special, and it was indeed special.
Our room, No 2, was comfortable, a large sleigh bed took up a lot of the room, but we had a lovely window seat with views out across the purbecks, and large stone fireplace to add that olde world charm. The bathroom was on the small side, but adequate.
The ambience of the hotel is just right, the oak room with it's log fire is comfortable and the dining room has a lovely feel to it.
The food is excellent and the New Years gala dinner with it's 7 courses very well presented & delicious. My partner is a vegetarian & they made changes to the menu to ensure his requirements were met, he informed me the duck egg main was about one for the best meals he had ever had.
Credit really needs to go to ALL the staff, who are friendly, professional, and go out of their way to make sure everything is to your satisfaction. The attention to detail is second to none & the pre-dinner drinks & dinner run like clockwork.
We had a fantastic New Years eve going down to Corfe Village square for midnight & then back to the hotel for the complimentary champagne, and socialising with the staff & other guests. All the on duty staff joined us & were great company until 4am, luckily we could have a lie in next morning, but the staff were all up & about for 9am apparently, with smiles on their faces.
Ted & his team run a fabulous hotel, in a beautiful setting.
There is plenty to do round & about, the steam train ride to Swanage great fun & on New Year's Day when the sun shone a walk around the castle was a perfect way to recover from the champagne & New Year jollity.
We will be returning to Morton's House again soon to enjoy their excellent food once more.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room No 2 was lovely, I had read reviews before booking, so had requested a decent room & th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DorsetLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We booked day of arrival after a list minute trip to Corfe Castle. We were so happy we stayed here. Rooms were charming and spacious. Staff were so wonderful! Breakfast was nice following morning but the scrambled eggs were a little sketchy but EVERYTHING else at breakfast was delicious (it's EARLY beware and only for 1 hour). Overall we enjoyed our stay as did the other couple that stayed the same night. WE ate at at the Castle Inn instead of hotel restaurant and it was SOO nice! Go for it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LandJNYUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here for the New Year celebrations and enjoyed it so much that we extended our visit.
The hotel is in a good location, quiet and picturesque and in the heart of Corfe. The bedroom was beautifully decorated with a large and comfortable bed, a good en suite bathroom and I was delighted to finally stay in a hotel that provides enough drawer space for its' guests, something that most hotels seem to overlook.
Dinner was excellent, particularly on New Years' Eve, although as the menu didn't change during the rest of our stay I could imagine that I might have found it rather limited had we stayed longer than the four days we did stay. On the plus side the chefs do offer to cook any dish of your own choice given 24 hours notice. Breakfast was always excellent.
The oak panelled lounge was spacious and comfortable with a roaring log fire, although I did find the lighting rather poor for reading by.
The owners were very welcoming and the staff were outstanding, always attentive and always with a smile.
I shall recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back of the hotel so I couldn't comment about any of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed here for New Year. This was our third stay and the food on all occasions has been fantastic. Some of the bedrooms are quirky - ours had a wardrobe in the bathroom, although this is described as a separate dressing room. Our bedroom was huge with ample room to place a wardrobe however.
The New Year package is good, very low key, no entertainment in the hotel but people gather in the village at midnight for drinks and fireworks. This suited us perfectly and we received a welcome glass of champagne on our return to the hotel. The staem train runs to Swangae on New Years Day enabling us to travel there and walk along the seafront wihout using our car. Brilliant.

If you want a stylish break with excellent food this is the place to go - but sadly, the 2 night package only included coffee after the meal on the first night. On the second night it was an "extra" as were quite a few items on the menu. After paying over £700 this seemed rather mean.

Room Tip: It is a very old building - be prepared for creaking pipes and floorboards. It's all part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troutins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Had a fantastic few days at Mortons between Christmas and New Years. Food and service was fantastic,hotel very good and in a supurb location. Only 1 critique is the rooms are slightly dated. Otherwise great

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobias d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.4 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
292 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
970 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,234 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range: £105 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing