We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
west hill uk
2 reviews
“The Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We went to Morton House Hotel For my Husbonds 40th birthday. WE had a fantastic time .Staff was super, smiley, helpful and added to our experience Thank you . Food was delicious and very well presented . The Hotel was clean it was a real pleasure .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katja s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
So pleased to read that you had a perfect weekend with us for this special birthday celebration. Do come back and see us again soon! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    227
    99
    36
    12
See reviews for
181
555
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had our Golden Weddinrg Anniversary Lunch at the Mortons House hotel and it proved to be
the height of our celebrations.The food was superb and the attention given by the staff was excellent. Add to this a very pleasant patio area and an ample parking area makes this an ideal venue for a family occasion and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorset t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was super to hear that you had really enjoyed your special lunch. Look forward to seeing you again at some point. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Driving through a rainy Corfe we stopped at Mortons Hotel and went in for a drink. The receptionist suggested a cream tea, what a delightful idea, we said yes. Served in a beautiful lounge, a plate of scones, clotted cream, jam and other assorted cakes arrived with a pot of tea for two. It took us back twenty years, really nice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opolopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Our return visit to Mortons House Hotel, after more than 10 years provided an enjoyable few days relaxation with really friendly, helpful staff and pleasant surroundings (real people not the "have a good day" treatment). The restaurant was first class and deserving of its 2 AA rosettes with excellent ingredients prepared, cooked and presented in some creative dishes. A good selection of wine and drinks at reasonable hotel prices. Breakfast prepared to order and a very enjoyable start to the day. We had asked about gluten free food on booking and staff were ready primed on our arrival - a really professional start to our stay. Old world panelled lounge and bar provided easy relaxation on our visit. Plenty of parking does make life that bit easier. Rooms are variable and I see some adverse comments in reviews - ours was spacious, well equipped but a little dark since it looked out on the back of the building but this was eclipsed by the quality of everything else about our stay (and our use of our room was mainly for sleeping). We have no hesitation in recommending for a stay in Dorset

Room Tip: Ensure you ask about room facilities and aspect if these are important to you as they do vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Last minute booking for just one night to visit an area of the south we'd never been to.
From booking to departure, lovely and helpful staff.
The location is fantastic, right next to a beautiful steam railway, a real must.
Safe and plentiful parking at the hotel a real plus for the village.
Breaksfast choice was great but we stuck to cereal as full from the cream team the night before.
My only quibble was the mattress, it was so hard but we are used to memory foam these days. If we were staying any longer I would have mentioned it, and on checkout they said there are toppers or would have swapped it.
As a one off treat, and the good deal I got, the price was acceptable. But the full tarriff I feel is a bit steep for the present climate.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for our 20th wedding anniversary. Arrived around 4 pm after visiting the local sites of Durdle Door and Corfe Castle. We'd booked room 11 purely for the views and previous reviews and it was lovely. Very spacious. Great view of castle from bathroom and the station from the bedroom. Would mention that there is no bath mat in the bath so it can get quite slippery. Bed was very comfortable. Freshened up and went to the local pubs for a drink before dinner. Arrived back and was shown to the oak room and given a menu to peruse. Then a lady appeared with two glasses of champagne for our anniversary. We wasn't expecting that at all. My hubby had mentioned during conversation on checking in the purpose of our stay so I guess that's why we got them. A lovely touch. Dinner was lovely. Very well presented too. Then after dessert another plate arrived with some small delights with happy anniversary written on the side in chocolate. Another nice touch. Overall a little pricey but the hotel is in a great location and the food is very good too. Would definitely recommend for that special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joby_lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife and I took our elderly parents (86,88 and 92) for 2 nights. Dacomb rooms brilliantly equipped with easy access, plenty of space in the rooms and a well designed bathroom for those who need a bit more help. Food was great with a cracking cooked breakfast using local produce and home made bread. Most importantly all the team were friendly and helpful and made the trip a real pleasure!! Thoroughly recommend the hotel and the area where there is plenty to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
930 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#4 of 6 in Swanage
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
5.7 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,480 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Property: Mortons House Hotel
Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing