We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with accessible rooms and excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I took my 91 year old mother to the hotel for a relaxing break and we both thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay. The accommodation was perfect for her limited mobility and the gardens and grounds were tranquil and peaceful. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent - good menu choices both at breakfast and in the evening. Excellent location for short visits to many areas of natural beauty. We would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms with accessible bathrooms are a short distance from the main hotel but are easily accessed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

We really enjoyed our short stay in Corfe
The staff provided very attentive service and all is of a high standard throughout
Food and hotel surroundings were a delightful experience
The only problem we encountered was the room window wouldn't close and couldn't be fixed- all part of the charm of the old building! We would certainly visit again
The nearby Purbeck Way was one ofthe best walks I have done in years

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We look forward to returning some time. We stayed 2 nights on 16 & 17 July. It is very elegant place to stay with friendly and helpful staff. The food was excellent, starting with the best cream teas we can remember having. We dined in on the second night and were delighted with the quality of the food served and the menu choices. Breakfasts had full marks as well. We were in room 15, which was fine in this hot weather, but next time around we would probably look for a room with more natural light. One minor criticism - the water flow from the shower was weak.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the food! We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Do keep any eye on our website for some great offers. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for a short break. The building itself is a grand old house and although the decor is not to my taste, it enhanced the building. The food was excellent and all of the staff were welcoming, helpful and smiley. It was extremely hot during our stay and although the room was not air conditioned the night time temperature was no more unbearable than it would have been at home - probably because the windows opened properly.. Sitting out on the Terrace with good food, good wine in such lovely surroundings was an ideal way to unwind.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

We do appreciate your lovely feedback and we're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Do keep any eye on our website for some great offers if you're planning a return visit. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Lovely interesting building set in a quintessentially English village - the perfect place to relax. From the moment we walked in, we were welcomed and treated as special by the owner and every member of his staff. Our room was quite spacious and fine for a four day break, albeit that wardrobe space was somewhat restricted and the shower had less pressure than we are used to. Eating was a joy and, although the menu doesn't change, they offer, given notice, to cook what you want. There was plenty to choose from and it was brilliantly appetising and cooked and presented to a most pleasingly high standard. Service was excellent and thoughtful, but never too formal.
This is an ideal base for Corfe Castle, Swanage, the Studland beaches and the Arne nature reserve and they certainly haven't seen the last of us!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeHill43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

We're very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your lovely comments on to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Arriving in Corfe Castle town is like stepping back in time.
Morton's helps with the entire experience. Friendly, happy and helpful with great food.
Ronel was exceptionally friendly as was the young Austrslian lady. It really is the team that make the stay happy and exciting.
Great stay. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGI6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

We're very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass on your lovely comments to our Restaurant Manager and Assistant Restaurant Manager who you made reference to. Do come back and see us again soon! Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This hotel relies heavily on it's location, which is great! Corfe Castle is brilliant. I booked the hotel online and received an email asking if I wanted a double or twin beds. As I was going for my husband's birthday I asked for a double. The room I got was across the car park in a new build. It’s purpose built for the disabled. It could have been done better in my opinion. There was only a tiny window except for the door which had a giant window and a curtain setup (which was awkward to say the least). It was warm when I was there and the room was very hot. Barely slept. And the double bed was two twins pushed together. The shower only had a curtain which meant everywhere got very wet. I’m a nurse and know that this isn’t the best solution for the disabled. But I suppose they’ve tried.
I stayed for two nights with breakfast included. The staff is young and inexperienced. First morning at breakfast was terrible, second, with different staff was much better. I didn’t eat dinner at the restaurant.
Very family friendly. There were plenty of babies and children about.
I was offered a paper in the morning but it wasn’t delivered to the room, but instead was in the reception which I never experienced before.
The receptionist was lovely, giving lots of advice. Beautiful location. Worth going only for that.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the main building if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missvroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Our disabled accommodation is very well received with many guests requiring our accessible accommodation, returning time and time again. We're often praised for our efforts in meeting the needs of disabled guests. Your comments will certainly be taken on board. Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
953 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
250 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
383 reviews
3.4 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range: £116 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing