We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Hotel & Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Hotel & Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had one night here to celebrate our wedding anniversary - the whole experience was made extra special for us by the attention to detail by all at Mortons House Hotel (especially the restaurant staff ) The room was lovely and full of character and charm and our only regret was we only stayed for one night! The meal in the restaurant was faultless and the food was of excellent quality, complimented by the attentive waitresses - nothing was too much trouble and we would reccomend Mortons House to anyone who appreciates quality and style.

Room Tip: The Elizabethan room is expensive but worth it for a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycouple500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    215
    97
    32
    11
See reviews for
173
526
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I took my 91 year old mother to the hotel for a relaxing break and we both thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay. The accommodation was perfect for her limited mobility and the gardens and grounds were tranquil and peaceful. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent - good menu choices both at breakfast and in the evening. Excellent location for short visits to many areas of natural beauty. We would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms with accessible bathrooms are a short distance from the main hotel but are easily accessed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We really enjoyed our short stay in Corfe
The staff provided very attentive service and all is of a high standard throughout
Food and hotel surroundings were a delightful experience
The only problem we encountered was the room window wouldn't close and couldn't be fixed- all part of the charm of the old building! We would certainly visit again
The nearby Purbeck Way was one ofthe best walks I have done in years

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We look forward to returning some time. We stayed 2 nights on 16 & 17 July. It is very elegant place to stay with friendly and helpful staff. The food was excellent, starting with the best cream teas we can remember having. We dined in on the second night and were delighted with the quality of the food served and the menu choices. Breakfasts had full marks as well. We were in room 15, which was fine in this hot weather, but next time around we would probably look for a room with more natural light. One minor criticism - the water flow from the shower was weak.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the food! We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Do keep any eye on our website for some great offers. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for a short break. The building itself is a grand old house and although the decor is not to my taste, it enhanced the building. The food was excellent and all of the staff were welcoming, helpful and smiley. It was extremely hot during our stay and although the room was not air conditioned the night time temperature was no more unbearable than it would have been at home - probably because the windows opened properly.. Sitting out on the Terrace with good food, good wine in such lovely surroundings was an ideal way to unwind.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
We do appreciate your lovely feedback and we're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Do keep any eye on our website for some great offers if you're planning a return visit. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Lovely interesting building set in a quintessentially English village - the perfect place to relax. From the moment we walked in, we were welcomed and treated as special by the owner and every member of his staff. Our room was quite spacious and fine for a four day break, albeit that wardrobe space was somewhat restricted and the shower had less pressure than we are used to. Eating was a joy and, although the menu doesn't change, they offer, given notice, to cook what you want. There was plenty to choose from and it was brilliantly appetising and cooked and presented to a most pleasingly high standard. Service was excellent and thoughtful, but never too formal.
This is an ideal base for Corfe Castle, Swanage, the Studland beaches and the Arne nature reserve and they certainly haven't seen the last of us!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHill43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
We're very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your lovely comments on to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Arriving in Corfe Castle town is like stepping back in time.
Morton's helps with the entire experience. Friendly, happy and helpful with great food.
Ronel was exceptionally friendly as was the young Austrslian lady. It really is the team that make the stay happy and exciting.
Great stay. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGI6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
We're very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass on your lovely comments to our Restaurant Manager and Assistant Restaurant Manager who you made reference to. Do come back and see us again soon! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
3.4 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Property: Mortons House Hotel
Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing