We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Fabulous Wedding November 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mortons House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Fabulous Wedding November 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have just got married at Morton's House. The whole experience from meeting Bev to the actual day went superbly. The organisation, the staff, the food were all superb. All our guests commented on what a memorable day it was and certainly will be for us for a long time to come. The staff were amazing and good fun with it. I would recommend exclusive use as it meant we could just relax for the whole day throughout the hotel. My husband and I shall certainly be returning to celebrate our Anniversary next year! Faultless and in a beautiful setting!!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JO R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you both so much for your lovely words! It was a pleasure being involved from start to finish and I look forward to seeing you both again on your anniversary if not before! With my best wishes, Bev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    207
    94
    32
    11
See reviews for
169
512
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was a lovely stay in a wonderful Hotel...the rooms was so lovely and spacious with the view of Corfe Castle ...surrounding area is lovely for walks and a must to see Corfe Castle and a short trip to Swanage if you have time

Room Tip: I am sure any room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suesfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
So pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and also for taking the time to leave your comments. Look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We've used Mortons House for over 20 years but this stay was extra special. Some new blood behind the desk, in the lounges and dining room brought a new sense of fun and connectivity with my 18 guests and wife. Laughter abounded: meals superb: service quite excellent. Well done girls!

Room Tip: Try for Purbeck Suite - away from the main house and boasts a small sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sploger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
It was once again, lovely to welcome our annual shooting to party to Mortons House. Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed on to the staff. Looking forward to the next one!
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Mortons House Hotel and we would like to thank the staff for making us feel so very happy and we cannot wait to come back again. The food was lovely and the location was excellent, everyone was so friendly,a sheer pleasure.

Thank you so very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comment on this site. It is much appreciated by all of us. See you again soon hopefully! best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at Mortons House Hotel along with half of our guests for our wedding in Corfe/Swanage for 3 days 26 - 28th September 2013.

We originally considered Mortons for our wedding venue, but due to our guest numbers wasn't practical.

Beverley was fantastic at co-ordinating our stay and making sure every detail was in place. We were in regular contact during the preparations for our wedding to ensure we and our guests had a pleasurable stay and nothing was too much trouble in the lead up to our wedding, many an email was exchanged and face to face meetings on our visits down to Dorset proved very useful including local wedding supplier recommendations.

On arrival we had a warm welcome and was very well looked after throughout our stay including a quick turnaround on housekeeping to make sure we had the bridal suite for wedding preps on the morning of the wedding, and 3 members of staff helping me and the bridesmaids to move all of our luggage from the Purbeck suite to the Elizabethan Suite.

All staff were really helpful and friendly from reception staff to bar staff to dinner and breakfast staff - absolutely faultless.

All of the staff efforts made our wedding weekend even more perfect, so truly want to thank you all for your efforts to ensure we were all kept smiling! I can't tell you what a difference it made!

Would recommend anyone to stay here especially for a big event and requiring help with the coordination as they are exceptional at it! We will certainly be back for our anniversary's for many years to come!

We stayed in the Purbeck suite and Elizabethan suite and found both rooms spotlessly clean and comfortable. We especially loved the luxury of the Elizabethan suite but would expect nothing less from a honeymoon suite!

We were also informed by our guests that the disabled facilities were excellent.

We are so pleased that Mortons House became such a big part of our Wedding

Thanks to Bev and all at Mortons for a pleasant and memorable stay!

Room Tip: Elizabethan Suite - fabulous honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a delight having you and the family staying with us during you wedding celebrations. Wishing you both lots of luck and happiness. Best regards, Bev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We enjoyed a three night break at Mortons house in October and were impressed with the high level of service throughout. We also needed a relaxing bit of 'time out' and were not disappointed - cosy overall ambience, log fire, no visible televisions in public areas, no hassle with room cleaning etc. Importantly, for someone with FODMAP dietary requirements, all meals were easy to discuss and fine tune the details from a great menu. Seafood - scallops, monk fish and crab was particularly excellent.

Only down side was the poor sound insulation in the walls of the rooms in the annex. Fortunately when we stayed, all guests retired at about the same time so noise was not a major issue, but we couldn't help overhearing a conversation from the room opposite as we dropped off! Ironic that it is the newer part of the building which lets it down.

And so many great walks around Swannage, Corfe Castle and of course the Steam Train. We will return next time we need batteries re-charging!

Room Tip: Avoid the annex which has minimal sound insulation between rooms and corridors etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brog721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I booked a room at Mortons House for one night, last Friday 25th October and I felt I should write how disappointed we were with the hotel. On arrival everything looked fine, however the wallpaper in our room was peeling, the bathroom was very dated - the grouting was yellow or mouldy black, the shower pressure terrible and if one bathed instead of trying to use the awful shower, coldwater from the shower head dripped on your head. The small things that one would expect from a boutique hotel were missing, no slippers, no water glasses in the bathroom, only one packet of two biscuits on the tea tray. And, as the weather wasn't great being just prior to the well advertised gales and storm we shut the windows at night. However the windows didn't fit the frames so they rattled all night in the wind and the draughts made the door to the room rattle. The bed was unbelievably hard and extremely uncomfortable. The breakfast was excellent, although as serving finished at 9.30am, a little early for a weekend morning, we felt rushed (no time for cereal before the cooked breakfast was served). All in all it was overpriced for what we received - I felt I would have paid £80 but no more for what we received.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Smith1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
8.6 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
6.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Property: Mortons House Hotel
Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing