We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very good stay”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We (husband, grown up daughter and myself) attended a christening reception at the hotel and stayed overnight. Service was friendly and our rooms were excellent, spacious and comfortable. Although the weather was awful the grounds looked as if they would be a good place to sit on a better day. We had dinner in the evening, with guests. A comprehensive menu which pleased us all but my daughter and I felt the burger overcooked and the chips not hot enough. Having said that we will return as Corfe is a lovely little town in a beautiful part of the country.

Room Tip: room 9 has a sitting room and is well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mullen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    227
    99
    36
    12
See reviews for
181
554
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I had a three night stay in October. We had stayed here before and enjoyed both stays. One vast improvement was the restaurant menu. The quality of the food was excellent on both occasions but now the menu is more varied and changes daily.
The room are very well supplied with all needs and room 11 especially having two windows can view the Swanage steam railway from both windows and the castle from the window in the bathroom.
The staff are both efficient and friendly. Every need and request is catered for.
We had great value for money and I expect we will return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

After having eaten at the restaurant a couple of times for special occaisions, I had always found the staff attentive, polite and friendly without going over the top - so I booked the special offer room for a night including a Christmas menu as a pre Christmas r and r.
We were looked after from arrival to departure with the care and attention that you would expect but very seldom receive from larger establishments. Our room was of good size and had a fantastic view of the hills. The food, even though a special reduced cost Christmas menu was every bit as good as the a la carte menu outside of the Christmas period. The hotel was by no means full - and I can only think that perhaps a little advertising would not go amiss..

Room Tip: If a couple - ask for a four poster, always try to get a castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susantreadwell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Front Office Manager at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our offer to stay overnight when dining off our Christmas menu. Do come back and see us again soon, but in the meantime, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

If you are looking for a friendly, warm and cosy hotel with a large log fire and cosy chairs in the living room this is the place for you! This was our second visit and we enjoyed it as much as the first.

Set in the beautiful village of Corfe and walking distance of the castle it boasts a wonderful location.

We spent an afternoon browsing around the quaint shops of Swanage and stopped for a coffee overlooking the sea.

The dinner we received was excellent, definitely to be recommended.

A wonderful stay, a real retreat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Front Office Manager at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We were pleased to read that you felt totally relaxed during your stay, in our cosy ambience! Do come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Great location close to the quaint village of Corfe with views of the castle as well! elegant decor recently refurbished attention to detail by the staff is very good a sign the owners are on top of things!!

A little pricy but all in all no complaints a worth while stay in a great setting

Room Tip: ask for the room with distinct view of the castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toursbytristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was a treat booking and first impressions were very good. Corfe Castle is a stunning village, Mortons House is a beautiful building with real atmosphere, the staff were friendly and welcoming and our room was large and smart. However, the shower over our bath dripped constantly (and given the rust at the base of the shower-head had bee doing so for some time) to the extent that we had to lie it in the bath. The tea and coffee selection in the room was very limited - in similar priced places we have stayed recently there have been a selection of different teas, coffees and fresh milk in a flask, not UHT. The biggest negative however, was given that the restaurant is "acclaimed" I would expect more than one vegetarian choice, and not to have the same singular choice both nights. It is all very well to say the chef will make anything we want - we are on a holiday we do not want to be involved in designing the menu we want to rest. On the up side the Eton Mess dessert was truly stunning and TheGreyhound Inn in the village provided an excellent venue for the second nights meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goose1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was our third visit to Mortons House: We arrived & the car park was packed, we were expecting a great festive atmosphere. What has happened? This used to be a destination place for Sunday lunch for people from Poole & surrounding areas! The restaurant was empty, just 3 couples including us for Christmas lunch!
Gone are the nice starched white linen table cloths & napkins, replaced with "pub tables" Restaurant failed to impress not only us but the other couple too.
I can't fault the staff, service or quality of the meal, however there it stops! This used to be an "event" Christmas Lunch at Mortons what a disappointment!
So whilst I understand the owners are away practising their "downhill skills" sadly their hotel is going the same way! The large wedding & the guest jumping in the fish pond from the previous evening testament to where they are now setting their sights!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraylingDorsetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
930 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#4 of 6 in Swanage
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,169 reviews
5.7 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,480 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Property: Mortons House Hotel
Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing