We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winter Break”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a most comfortable and restful Sunday night at the hotel after taking advantage one of the few sunny days of late January this year, walking part of the coast path around Worth Matravers. The hotel reception and waiting staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and very attentive without being intrusive. We ate in, and enjoyed a well prepared, delicious and lovingly presented 3 course meal. Our waitress suggested the wine and we were well pleased. The room was spacious, quiet and the bed comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was generous and set us up well for the day. All in all a most pleasant experience. We will book again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meldsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    218
    97
    32
    11
See reviews for
174
532
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have just returned from my dear friends wedding which was held at Mortons House Hotel. The wedding was beautiful and the day was fantastic. I only stayed over night at the hotel but from the beginning of my stay to the end was perfect. The staff are so friendly and very welcoming and go above and beyond to make your stay the best. The rooms are amazing, so clean and the decore is just beautiful. Food is great. I would recommend this Mortons Hotel for any occasion, it is full of charm.
Rachel Smith

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welkbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I enjoyed three relaxing nights here in a very wet January. While our exploring of the Isle of Purbeck was limited by the awful weather this was compensated for my relaxing in front of the log fire in a large and welcoming lounge and then enjoying three delicious dinners.

The food was truly outstanding in quality (dinner and breakfast too). We felt we'd eaten really well without over doing it - e.g. the breakfast is a sensible plate-full,carefully prepared, rather than piled high to binge on - as in many English hotels!

Their January half price offer gave us really good value too!

The staff are welcoming without being over-bearing. We went home really refreshed and hope to visit Mortons House again, perhaps in better weather!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfhlawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for two nights at Mortons House and found it absolutely delightful. Owner/staff were very friendly and welcoming; the location, with views of the Castle is superb; the room was very comfortable; the food was superb; the paneled lounge with the log fire was ideal for the time of year.

A really lovely break.

We would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

we spent the most amazing weekend in this lovely friendly hotel. We didn't book as it was a spur of the moment getaway for my birthday. We ended up with a twin room which was clean and very beautiful. The staff were lovely and the food superb. The place was quiet and welcoming and we will definitely be back in the summer to book the four poster and stay longer.

Room Tip: book in advance just in case there isn't a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunrisearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have just spent two days celebrating our wedding anniversary at Mortons House Hotel. it was a real treat, everyone was so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing and beautifully presented although I would have liked to see a few more lighter options for the starters, such as fruit.
We did nearly get smoked out when the fire in the lounge came down the chimney (without much of an apology) but this was a minor detail. We loved our stay and the surrounding area. We shall be back again.

Room Tip: Room 2 was splendid with lovely views although I believe there are even better ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

8 of us met at Mortons House Hotel yesterday coming from Oxfordshire and Berkshire we have met for the past 4 years but yesterdays lunch was only average as Sunday lunches go. The hotel was empty and only two other tables had lunch. The waitress who took our order had no sense of humour what so ever and needs to do a customer care course. The other waitresses who served lunch were polite but had a strange manner of vocabularly ie here you go then. Perhaps its a Corfe Castle language that we are not used to........ My starter was not as described and appeared with 3 small pieces of brie on a bed of leaves with a dressing no fig. However the range of breads were lovely and the hockham terrine looked really good. We thought it would be hot brie in a fig with a dressing. The Roast Beef was nice and the desserts ok the pistashio ice cream was a bit weird..... We've had better Sunday lunches although the hotel was lovely and the area stunning in view of Corfe Castle...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
3.4 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Property: Mortons House Hotel
Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing