We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My partner and I had a great one night stay at Mortons House Hotel, mid-April. We arrived earlier than anticipated, but were able to get in to our room to leave luggage and then go down for Sunday lunch, which was lovely - a real treat to have a great lunch and then not have to drive anywhere after! As others have said, the staff were, without exception excellent, and our room was also really comfortable. Can't think of anything even slightly negative about our stay, and we will certainly hope to visit again later in the year once all the summer tourists have been and gone. Should think it will be a lovely hotel in the depths of winter!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregsGirlDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Called in for lunch on Easter Day and had the roast beef " bar meal " . It was the best cooked beef I have ever had in very pleasant surroundings . If you are visiting Corfe make sure you have your lunch here

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DavidRogers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Hotel was very comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and made you feel really welcome. I spent one cold morning reading in the wood paneled lounge drinking tea by the fire and it was very relaxing. Would go back again any time, winter or summer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gem880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a very comfortable one-night stay at Morton's House Hotel. The bed was firm but really comfortable (we always take our own feather pillows), and breakfast was very nice with a good selection of alternatives if you get fed up with Full English! It would have been nice to have a comfy chair or two in the room, rather than sitting on the bed, but I am nit-picking now! Probably paying for the location as I felt it was a little overpriced.

Corfe Castle is a very quaint village with some very pretty ancient buildings. We enjoyed a lovely peaceful walk on the downs.

Room Tip: Our room was in the annex, so was peaceful and away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Have eaten here a few times and the service has been faultless, the food has been first class along with beer and wine. Well worth a visit. The car parking is easy with a spacious car park. while you are in the area have a walk around Corfe. Will be back in 2014

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doddflier640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A short stay for two nights, my wife, I and our two little children really enjoyed our stay. Service was impeccable, food excellent and the atmosphere was great. Location makes easy to go everywhere of interest. The weather was not great but this will give us the opportunity to come back to see more of the area and try the steam train. We will come back, hopefully soon

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly rather than booking online!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments which I will pass on to the staff. Let's hope the weather's better the next time you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a most attractive hotel, set just a short distance from the centre of Corfe Castle and on the busy through road to Swanage. Staff are friendly and helpful. We had room 12, set at the rear of the hotel and overlooking the car park and countryside beyond - a good room and very peaceful, which I suspect the ones facing the road at the front, are not. The downside is that you only get one tiny piece of soap in the bathroom and have to use large bottles of shampoo and shower gel in the bath/shower - this hotel should supply a basket of toiletries for the room rate they charge; this is cheap, even airport hotels do better that this and charge a lot less.
This leads me on to the food. We were on the hotel's 3 night "Food Lovers Break", costing £600 for the two of us. This would imply that there is something special about the menu, but this is not so. It's a perfectly reasonable menu, although a little boring, but what makes it really poor is that the menu never changes - not even any nightly specials. It's not easy chosing something different every night for 3 nights and I ended up having one main course twice. Then there's breakfast - the English one consists of your choice of egg (not eggs), a sausage, a rasher of bacon, small tomato and some mushrooms. What's wrong with adding some hash browns, fried bread, baked beans etc? This breakfast was really disapointing and mean, but, to be fair, we did try the scrambled egg with smoked salmon on our last day and this was really delicious - we wished we'd had this every day.
We previousy stayed in this hotel 7 years ago and found the food poor then, which is why we've not been back until now. It's a pity, because it could be so much better and, at there prices, so it should be.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mortons1, Owner at Mortons House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

I'm sorry to read that you didn't enjoy our food lover's break. This package has actually proved very popular with our guests as there is a significant saving on our usual DBB tariff. As the season becomes busier, there will certainly be 'specials' on our evening menu, however our current menu is extensive and offers plenty of choice for a 3 day break. None the less, your comments have been noted and passed to the head chef. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.4 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
288 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
968 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,232 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range: £105 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing