We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disabled Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

As my wife and I are both disabled finding somewhere to stay is quite a task. We found the Morton's House Hotel last year and returned this year because everything and everyone was so great. The room had an En-Suite Bathroom which had a level access shower. The wash basin could be set to a level that suited the wife as she uses an electric wheelchair.
The staff could not do enough for us making our stay very pleasurable. Because we needed easy access to the table in the Dinning Room a table was reserved for us. The food is excellent.
The only slight "down" was access to Reception. A push button for opening the door with a motorized door opener/closer would be very helpful. We did suggest it, so hopefully they may take up the idea.
We will be returning there again.

Room Tip: The Disable Access rooms are 18 to 21. Rooms 18 & 21 get more natural light than 19 & 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We took the trip down for my wife's 29th birthday to revisit where she and her family used to stay when she was young. We looked at lots of hotels and B&B's and finally landed on Mortons House and we were not disappointed. The hotel was great! Really traditional but still luxurious. The food was amazing as well. Great steaks!

Everything about our stay was brilliant. A real countryside, dorset experience. It's in a great location with lots to go and see around the area and only a short drive from Poole and Lulworth Cove. The town of Corfe Castle itself is a perfect little place to stay with great pubs and very friendly locals.

The staff at Mortons House were exceptional, from front desk to the waiting staff to housekeeping. We really got looked after. When I booked it I told them it was my wife's birthday and asked where i could get flowers and chocs from and they sorted everything out for me and had it ready in the room on the day of my wife's birthday as a surprise. Absolutely brilliant! Although I'm taking the credit. ;)

I can't thank them enough for everything they did for us and how friendly they were. Thank you Mortons House for a trip we will never forget.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent 2 nights here on a Spring Break. The hotel and rooms were very comfortable and the staff made us feel very welcome without being "over attentive". Dinner on one night was included and it proved an excellent choice, we were even had a dessert which was a first for us. Usually the choice is all gooey chocolate and not much else but this hotel's choice was amazing - we could have selected each one. To sit with a cup of tea by the roaring log fire in the lounge was a lovely treat especially after a long boggy walk and if the weather had been sunny I'm sure the garden would have been a real pleasure too. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Having visited Mortons House Hotel on a small number of occasions in the past as a ‘diner’ we were given the opportunity to stay overnight to join in the celebrations of a family wedding – we are so glad that we did!
You could not ask for a more delightful setting for your special day. Granted the sun was shining which always helps with the family photos but I have to say come rain or shine Mortons House is just perfect. You have the old stone building oozing character, friendly staff, exquisite food and hosts who personally ensure that the big day goes off without a hitch – nothing is too much trouble. Our bedroom had views of the Castle, which even on a rainy day would be a sight to behold and we fortunately had the sun.
The wedding reception took place in the old wood paneled lounge then we moved onto the terrace for Champagne, Pimms and canapés. The food was superb (a special mention for the beef), the service professional but not intrusive, you can actually enjoy your meal without having someone over your shoulder for the 3 courses.
The success of the day must be credited to Mortons House and its staff/owners for ensuring that someone’s special day is just that, very special. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough whether it be your big day, a weekend away, a summer holiday or a winter walking break, I am sure that you will be well looked after!
This was a treat for us and I’m sure that our family will remember this special day for many years to come. We will be back for sure, Sunday lunch next, if only to sample that beef again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Spent two nights here with friends on a 'Food lovers break' which was most enjoyable. The staff, without exception, were extremely welcoming, helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Food was very good quality and excellently presented with the only downside being that the menu does not change nightly which would limit choice on longer stays.The room whilst well equipped was slightly tired but decor overall fits with the country house style of the hotel. The shower in the bathroom had low water pressure but was adequate.
The village of Corfe Castle is delightful and we would recommend this hotel and the village for a short stay in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tregtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Had a weekend here for a wedding and it was absolutely marvellous. The food and service is fantastic, and the rooms are lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel, particularly for the staff. Quite pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: Room 1 for something a bit special, but they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BraddersBurgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were invited to the wedding of a friends' son at Swanage in Dorset. Good hotels in that area are surprisingly rare on the ground, and our researches told us that Mortons House Hotel at Corfe Castle was by some way the best for miles around. We decided to make the trip into a long weekend, and refresh our memory of this area, which I knew extremely well from when I was working.
The hotel is situated wonderfully, just off the square at Corfe Castle, which must be one of the most iconic villages in the whole of England, with the ruins of the castle towering over everything, and the heritage railway chugging along just at the back of the hotel. The fabric of the hotel is almost in the idyllic bracket. However, do not expect every modern convenience, it's just not that sort of hotel. In some ways it is like going back in time, but I want to stress that this observation is in no way a criticism. We were in Bedroom 3, which was fine, a king size bed, no room for an easy chair but there was a window seat. The only real point we would complain about in the room was in the bathroom, where the shower was simply not good enough for a hotel of this standard. That would probably put us off returning, because it is such a basic requirement for us. The bathroom was compact, but that need not be a downside; it was just that the fitting of a power shower would have transformed our view of the hotel.
The staff were without exception very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were as good as any hotel we have been in for quite a long time and I am including ritzy 5 star establishments here. Breakfast was definitely a high spot for us. Dinner was also good and warranted their two AA rosettes.
With just a little more thought and investment, this hotel could be one of the best in the South-West.

Room Tip: Probably not important in this hotel, but research anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FORRES33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.4 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
314 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
414 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
993 reviews
8.6 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range: £107 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing