We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz style 'Afternoon Tea Wedding Reception'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mortons House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Corfe Castle, Dorset
1 review
“Ritz style 'Afternoon Tea Wedding Reception'”
Reviewed 22 December 2009

We decided to marry after many years together and having more mature family and friends decided on a Ritz style Afternoon Tea Reception (after previosly taking tea at The Ritz). Mortons House Hotel is in a perfect village location, with the back drop of Corfe Castle and brimming over with character and history. It is tastefully decorated in keeping with the character, but extremely comfortable and cosy, a lovely balance. The chefs are to be congratulated on stepping into the unkown with our Afternoon Tea request, as they completely surpassed our wildest dreams and produced the most fantastic array of finger sandwiches, scones, jam and cream, and the most beautiful and delicious cakes and pastries to finish off, all meticulously served by very polite and efficient waiting staff. We stayed the night in the hotel, in the Elizabethan room (Honeymoon suite), a beautiful room with four poster bed, again beautifully furnished with everything you would need, lovely and warm on one of the coldest days of the year. Breakfast is relaxed, and again beautifully presented and served. All the staff are to be recommended for their polite and efficient manner, in what is a a fantastic hotel with class. We would also like to thank Beverly Clayton (Front of House Manager) for making our special day, more special than we could have imagined and for such smooth running reception.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomboandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    227
    99
    36
    12
See reviews for
181
554
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Corfe Castle charming, hotel well positioned, management attentive to our needs, staff friendly and helpful, food stunning. All the wedding guests commented extremely positively about the day's events and the bride & groom were delighted.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BournemouthDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

we stayed in the Elizabethan room, which had a four-poster bed and jacuzzi bath.
The room was pleasant and very spacious.
The hotel itself was beautifully furnished and decorated, also was very cozy.
The staff were wonderful and vey helpful.
The food was first class. We had a meal at river cottage the night before, but this far surpassed there food.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amelia640xford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purbeck
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

This is a very special place to my husband and I - we had our first few nights of marriage here in 1999, and celebrated our first wedding anniversary here too. We lived in London at the time, but have since moved to the next village, just 6 minutes drive away and we STILL pay to stay at Mortons for special occasions! That alone has to be testimony to it's loveliness. We just celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary with dinner and an over-night stay in the Elizabethan suite. The service and quality of staff is excellent - it is expensive, comparable to a big London hotel, but you pay for the overall experience of the location, building and service. And we consider it to be well worth it!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happynottotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We had a single night stay recently inclusive of dinner, bed & breakfast. The hotel is situated in the centre of the pretty village of Corfe a short walk from the castle. The staff were very welcoming on arrival, even giving a quick tour of the hotel before showing us to our room. The room however was a bit of a disappointment for the price. Located in the old part of the hotel it was quite small, with fading wallpaper and a small TV with just four channels. The prices on the room service menu were more reminiscent of a 5 star hotel in London e.g. a sandwich cost £9. The evening meal was of a good standard if a little pretentious with the ceremonial lifting of the domes. The desserts though were excellent. Breakfast followed a similar theme - high quality ingredients presented as if they were trying a little too hard - postage stamp sized toast, a single sausage and one slice of bacon. Overall I had expected more for the price.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasma7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We took over the hotel for 3 days for a wedding and rated it as a great success. The owners and staff were helpful and efficient with planning and very impressive during the stay. The hotel itself has great character and is well located in the beautiful town of Corfe Castle.
The food had good choice and was of a higher quality than we were expecting - the hotel seems to have a real pride in its culinary fare.
The rooms were individual in character and perfectly fine - if there was any criticism at all it would be the beds in a few cases didn't quite match up to the comfort levels expected. That said, we were in the Elizabethan suite - no complaints there!
All said - definitely worth a stay if you're in the area, good value for the quality you receive.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fulhamswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

A lovely hotel in an idyllic setting, but while the staff were unfailingly welcoming and friendly, the room was dowdy (dark decor, second-rate furniture with knobs missing from drawers) and the unvarying but pretentious menu a disappointment. For example, carrot and coriander soup was far too rich, and had what appeared to be a pile of grated cooked carrot in the middle, which added nothing apart from (possibly) a talking point. The bowl of fruit on the landing was a nice touch, but was not replenished during our two-day stay. Over all, the hotel was not worthy of its expensive tarrif

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JemimaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
930 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#4 of 6 in Swanage
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,169 reviews
5.7 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,480 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortons House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortons House Hotel

Property: Mortons House Hotel
Address: 49 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mortons House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old Elizabethan manor located in pretty Corfe Castle in Dorset. 21 Character en-suite rooms and an award-winning restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated close to the beaches at Studland, Swanage and Lulworth with numerous walks along the Jurassic Coast on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Mortons House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mortons Hotel Corfe Castle
Mortons Corfe Castle
Mortons House Hotel Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing