We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute Perfection!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wissett Cottage

Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Living room - alternative view.
Master bedroom. Comfortable king-sized bed with good quality bed linen provided.
The dining room - another corner in which to relax
The sunny, south-facing aspect to the cottage edged with country garden plants and flowers.
Cosy nights in front of the wood burner. Some logs for your first fire are provided.
Relax in the pretty courtyard garden.
Cottage front - showing the thatched 'wing' extending to the rear.
The garage and drive provide parking for 2 cars
View over Worbarrow Tout from Flowers Barrow on the SW Coastal path - stunning walking country!
There's always a peaceful spot to be found on one of the area's fine, sandy beaches.
Climbing out of the village , the castle is a focal point in the scenery for miles around.
Beautiful views from Corfe Common.
A lovely play park to help entertain our younger guests is to be found within 1 minute's walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
YoAndLeig...
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection!”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at Wissett Cottage (21 Dec to 28 Dec). Our Christmas Holiday could not have been better. Such a lovely surprise to find a welcome basket filled with Christmas goodies. The Christmas decorations and tree made this a special home away from home for us to enjoy. Wissett Cottage is a gem. All of the modern amenities with historical charm. The rooms are spacious, the bed in the master was very comfortable and attention to detail was terrific.  For a week long vacation it's very helpful to find a closet full of hangers that allow you to hang your clothes rather than living out of your suitcase. If you choose to cook on your holiday, as we did, the kitchen was very well appointed and had all of the items necessary to cook any meal. Any questions we might've had about the cottage and the operation of appliances etc were answered in a book provided by the owners.  Finally, having our own parking on the property was a real plus.

The cottage Is located a short 5 minute walk in to the center of the village where you'll find pubs, the village store, village bakery and the castle.  We have been to Corfe Castle / Dorset many times over the past few years and this stay was truly the most memorable. We would highly recommend Wissett Cottage and will definitely check availability the next time we find ourselves in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne C
2 reviews
“Superb Cottage & Location”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Wonderful Cottage in the Picturesque Village of Corfe Castle. Could not wish for better Self-catering accommodation. Large ,comfortable, welcoming, thatched cottage in the heart of the village, walking distance of Pubs, Shops & beautiful countryside walks. Bus stops outside & Steam train station just minutes away from front door!! We love it & will be returning again soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage with brilliant location”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A home from home cottage that truly had everything (and more) we needed for a comfortable stay. The cottage was very clean and tidy with a handy book informing us of useful information on the area and peoples recommendations. Location is amazing and we will miss strolling around corfe and looking up at the castle on the hill. Never have before have we stayed in a tourist attraction with lots of people commenting on how picturesque the cottage is.

Highly recommend Wissett cottage to anyone wishing to stay in Dorset.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizziemor...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning cottage, great location.”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We can tell you about how wonderful Wissett Cottage is, but we almost want to keep that to ourselves, as with all really great experiences that you hope will not become over subscribed!

The cottage is spacious, well equipped, we were able to stay cool on the hotter days but also had the chance of a log fire on one cooler night. Great local shop and bakery just down the road. All very child friendly but I would stay here even if I didn't have kids because the cottage is laid out to a high standard and the local pubs are just 5 minutes walk away. Great location for walkers and beach lovers alike - both minutes drive away. We really look forward to returning next Summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Owners are extremely well organised, provide great information on the property and location, very fast response to any query.
Liked least: Having to come home !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhrm46
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“absolutely gorgeous!”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I am in agreement with previous 5 star reviews and it's hard to make any different comments! We felt right at home at the gorgeous and well equipped Wissett Cottage in the lovely village of Corfe Castle. It exceeded our expectations in pretty much every way. Relaxing ambiance, very well equipped and peaceful, despite its proximity to the Swanage - Wareham road. Despite being light sleepers, the comfort ensured good sleeps. The owner Kate was a joy to deal with. Thoroughly recommended. We have already booked for 2017!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie G
Crowborough
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Picturesque Cottage”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This 400 year old cottage is one of the best examples of a quintessential picturesque English cottage of the kind that you would expect to find in a village such as Corfe. It is extremely spacious, but at the same time remarkably cosy. It is also beautifully maintained and has every modern convenience you could ever require from a holiday cottage. I liked the comfortable bed, the kitchen is lovely and the dining room and lounge are superb. In addition, the location is fantastic being so close to the village centre. It is also a few hundred yards walk to a nice pub The Castle Inn which serves good food. We had a lovely stay at Wissett Cottage and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend It. The owner Kate is also a delight to deal with and ensures everything runs smoothly from start to finish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry L
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern Amenities in 17th century coziness”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Kate was wonderful to deal with from the start. Extremely informative and when we got to the cottage it exceeded our expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness
Liked least: No towels
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing