We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect relaxing break”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was our first stay at Ammonite B&B and it will definitely not be our last. Perfect location away from the hubbub of the centre of Corfe Castle but close enough to be able to walk into the village to explore the shops & pubs or to walk out into the stunning countryside. Yvonne gave us a very warm welcome and made us feel at home. Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast every morning with lots to choose from including fresh fruit to a full english (which was amazing - definitely set you up for the day). There's everything you need from chilled milk & water, tea & coffee making facilities and even homemade marmalades & jams every morning. We look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tompip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
131
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

To say that this was my sixth holiday at Mr and Mrs Hendes' Ammonite (formerly "Westerway") says all about my entire delight and satisfaction during each and every visit.
Every aspect of the experience is excellent, from the warm welcome, the clean and comfortable accommodation to the wide choice and high standard of breakfast provided by Mrs Hendes.
Mrs Hendes (Yvonne) is a local lady, very knowledgeable of the surrounding area and always able and willing to give her advice.
As a solo visitor, I am always made to feel at ease and at home in a family atmosphere. I would recommend Ammonite to anyone planning a bed and breakfast stay in the area

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrod_gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Another great stay a this lovely B & B, made to feel like old friends returning rather than guests. The breakfast is a delight, lovely fresh bread from the local shop. Yvonne is very friendly and very helpful, giving you advice on what's on and where. Rooms ( we have stayed in all 3) very clean and comfortable. Use of garden is nice to sit and have a coffee. Rolls from local baker not to be missed. When you've finished your holiday reading,please drop off your old books to the Fox P/H as he raises money for the lifeboats. Looking forward to next year Jim & Carol.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the garden has balcony doors you can open, and has a small table and 2 chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Yvonne received us with a warm welcome. We had room with excellent view. Very clean, with homely touches everywhere. Tea and coffee making facilities ( fresh milk in fridge downstairs) Breakfast of your choice from fruit to full english. Would recommend to anybody. Local shops and eating houses, pubs and hotels. Within easy distance Corfe Castle Monkey World, Lulworth Cove, Weymouth and wareham.

Room Tip: Room at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! We enjoyed Ammonite very much. It is well located on scenic West Street within a short walk into the centre of the village. It also has good and safe parking. In fact, we could not think of a better location to stay in Corfe Castle. The B&B itself is very comfortable and the breakfast has a range of delicious options. We stayed in the South room overlooking the garden and had plenty of space. We especially enjoyed the shower. Yvonne took very good care of us. She made us feel welcome and set up a separate bed for our almost 7-year old son. She also gave us great insights into the area. As a result our visit to Dorset was eye opening and memorable. Yvonne left nothing to chance. It is no surprise as she has been running this B&B for over 10 years. We would love to come again.

Mr and Mrs P.
Henley-on-Thames

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed at Ammonite for a couple of nights in the North room. We were made to feel very welcome, with advice on what to do and see, as well as tea and coffee facilities in the room (with fresh milk in the fridge downstairs). The breakfasts were huge, with plenty of choice, and cooked to a good standard. The location is great - within walking distance of the centre of Corfe Castle, but very quiet, ensuring a good night's sleep. A top class B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My four-night stay was most enjoyable. I walked in Purbeck during the day (using the train to return from Swanage on one day) and ate well in the village pubs each evening. Yvonne's warm and genuine welcome made me feel very much at home. My twin room wasn't huge but had all I needed and the private bathroom, across the landing, had a good shower over the bath. Fresh milk is available in the communal fridge in the hall. Breakfasts were really delicious and included fresh fruit, a big choice of cooked dishes (ordered the night before) and copious tea or coffee. In my room, the only sounds were birdsong and the occasional hoot from the steam locomotive. I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.3 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
938 reviews
4.7 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,169 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olivers
Olivers
#1 of 10 in Corfe Castle
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammonite Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammonite Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ammonite Bed & Breakfast
Address: 88 West Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5HE, England (Formerly Westaway Bed & Breakfast)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ammonite Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammonite Bed and Breakfast is situated within the historic villlage of Corfe Castle, centrally located within the beautiful Isle of Purbeck and only a stones throw from the World Heritage site of the Jurassic coastline. We are only a two minute walk from the village centre, 'the square', from which all local ammenities are available, from tea rooms, restuarants and pubs, to stunning walks over the Purbeck hills or a visit into Corfe Castle itself.Ammonite Bed and Breakfast has a four star accommodation rating and offers three beautiful rooms, comprising of two double en-suites and a twin room with private bathroom. All rooms offer T.V., tea and coffee making facilities and a comfortable nights sleep.The superbly cooked breakfast, cooked upon a traditional Aga using locally sourced produce, is taken in the dining area which offers stunning views of the surrounding Purbeck hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Ammonite Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammonite Bed & Breakfast Corfe Castle, Isle Of Purbeck, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing